We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff - Terrible Wifi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Miramar Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Ranked #190 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great Staff - Terrible Wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I know that may sound like a strange title but it sums up the hotel. The staff were SO friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Attentive, polite, respectful but fun. For the staff alone I would return. Location is a mixed bag for me. Stunning in the fact that it's up high and has great views across the harbour and city and we had a sea facing room with huge balcony and lovely grounds, although they are frequented by anyone who cares to wander around as they are also a walk through for people visiting the cable car and taking in the views. The problems is access to and from the town. There is a bus (No 50) that runs up to the hotel but we couldn't find it. There are Taxis (hugely expensive and rude drivers) or a long steep walk either up the sea front steps or the steep main road. Either way it's a walk and not a walk for the faint hearted (literally). BUT - in the day there is a furnicular railway from the Metro (which is brilliant) which runs up the hillside and then it's a down hill walk back to the hotel. The only two real options are walking or Taxi's. The hotel is really well designed and beautifully decorated, especially the bar area. The restaurant is very good, not cheap (120 Euros for 2 with wine etc) and again the staff are very friendly, if a little slow. The room was lovely, well furnished, decent TV with loads of chanels BUT.... This is a 5* hotel - No Coffee or Tea making facilities in the room - The 'modern' way seems to put the bath, loo, shower etc in the room behind a curtain - fine, I guess, but trying to have a bath and read next to the bed with the wife watching TV - Using the Loo which is again off the main room, behind a frosted glass door which doesn't close fully - same for the shower...not really ideal - and the glass doors scrape on the floor when you open then (not good in the night), no extract fans working in either the loo or shower and as for the Wifi - useless. I run my own company and when I go away 'I NEED THE INTERNET' it is hugely important to me. So hit and miss everywhere in the hotel that I just couldn't return with it like this. It seemed best in the restaurant strangely! NOT GOOD ENOUGH Mirimar. I love my coffee in the morning and the lack of facilities in the room is not acceptable as you are then forced to get ripped off in the bar at 4 Euros for a Nespresso Capsual Americano - eeeeeeeeeek that's a rip. Done once and then Coffee and Breakfast taken 100yds away at the Cable Car Cafe. That's my rant over with but if you, like me, are in business, you need the internet connection to work all day, every day and work well - this is 2012!

As for Barcelona - Loved it but Too Expensive in the tourist areas. Tapas in a Spanish Tapas Chain - £75 for 2 - ouch. Beware - extra charges everywhere - a 15 Euro taxi ride jumped to 18 as soon as we stopped - extras! Fancy sitting outside to eat or drink (where else would you sit) an extra 15% + Service charge. Pick Pockets - Watch out for them - keep everything in front pockets. The Metro is amazing good though - get either a day or week pass or, as we were only there for a short time, a 10 journey ticket which worked out at about 90p per journey. If you do manage to get away from the tourist areas then there are some fantastic restuarants and great value. We were recomended one by a waiter at our hotel, one she lives near and uses all the time. It is really worth a visit, the food, staff, atmosphere, everything, just fantastic and at a great price - Bottle of Cava 7.90 Euros - huge meal for 2 with Cava - 45 Euros - now that's more like it. It's called - Can Recasens - at Rambla Del Poblenov, 102. You Must Go.
The Zoo was good as was the harbour tour. Shopping is good too. To sum up - The Miramar needs to shape up a bit, keep that staff but think of the value a little more - Barcelona - Great - Expensive but go out of the tourist traps and it's great. BTW - Do the tour of the Friexent Cava Factory with Julia Tours - Very Good

Room Tip: Sea View is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kipims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Director de Recepción at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Mr/Mrs Kipims

First of all i would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the hotel. Comments like yours are inspiring for all the members of our team and stimulate us to improve the services every day.

As for the wifi I would like to apologize for the inconveniences with the connection. You can be assured that we already solved the quality of the signal so if you decide to come back to the hotel this is not going to be a problem

Thanking you again for your time and comments particularly about our staff, knowing that the internet connection is solved, we look forward to welcoming you on your next stay in Barcelona


Paula Forero
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    251
    69
    47
    55
See reviews for
124
524
23
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I booked this as a gift for my sister on her honeymoon, it was made quite clear to the hotel at the time of the booking that this was a gift for the newly weds and that we would be footing the bill and to try and make it extra special for the couple. On arrival they were not given the room they were promised, they were also promised loads of extras like rose petal bath, etc, - their room did not even have a bath...!! They were also approached for payment several times throughout the trip even although it was clearly stated throughout several conversations with the hotel staff by us not to do this. They also commented on the general manner of the staff within the hotel as being rude and customer service not the best...after their return from honeymoon, I have contacted the hotel several times wanting an explanation, stating my complaint, and have had no feedback from them whatsoever...given the fact we paid just under £1000 for a four night break, and were promised so much...I think it is a downright disgrace that we have never even been so much as emailed an apology!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Director de Recepción at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Mrs Emmatoye

Please accept my most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences with your reservation and with the stay. You can be assured that I am following up on each of your
comments in order to enhance the quality of our hotel services.
I would appreciate if you give me the opportunity to contact you directly to discuss what happened. It would be helpful if you could send me an email to pforero@hotelmiramarbarcelona.com.
Thank you for your time and comments, I look forward to hearing from you soon

Paula Forero
Front Desk Manager
pforero@hotelmiramarbarcelona.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Mira (Spanish for Look) Mar (Sea) It does not get any better to take in the beauty of that is the city of Barcelona and the Mediterranean , while standing on you hotel balcony. Only a 5 minute cab ride from the city center this 5 star hotel offers a perfect staff, very calm atmosphere and modern rooms with balconies. The outside patio is relaxing in the afternoon for lunch or evening for drinks. The breakfast buffet is simple but elegant. Worth the splurge for this 5 star hotel compared to others in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericsweden_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights before our med cruise. The location of the hotel may not be for everyone as it's quite far from all the touristy areas, restaurants, and shoppings, but we certainly enjoyed it. The view of the city from the back of the hotel is wonderful. you get to see the entire Barcelona by just standing there. The hotel room are quite big, there is no separate bathroom area, bedroom and bathroom are only separate by a curtain. The design of the room certainly looks great, but the details are not perfect. Shower room door could not be closed and the sofa in the sitting area was a bit wore. Overall, a good hotel room for short stay and sleep.

If you want to tour the city, take one of the tour buses, they have a stop right next to the hotel, which acted as your transportation to and from the city for the day, of course, it also takes you to the rest of the barcelona.

The cost of the taxi from airport is around 30 euros and 15-20 euros will take you to the cruise terminal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

A bit of a mixed bag. The rooms were booked well in advance via booking .com. We did arrive earler than intended using the excellent serice of pre booked Holiday Taxis for both sides of the journey from the airport strongly recommend this as pre charge of £61 between four people was reasonable and efficient. It does state rooms are not available until 15:00 hours however both rooms were not ready until after this time. My room was 408 i didnt complain about it but realy 5* should have inspections glass was cracked in balcony window, ceilings in shoer room and bathroom were discoloured by flooding from above with paintwork hanging down in bathroom. The toilet door was hanging loose and made a right racket when closing ( I fixed it myself) Problems with air con blowing only hot air. The hotel staff were all friendly sheets and towels were changed regularly. Friends room had none of these problems. Location meant it was hard to walk overcome by using Barcelona pass (recommended) no 50 takes you right to Espanya place. Unstuck on Thurday due to natonal strike. Even with these faults woild recommend hotel for the peace and tranquility esaping from city noise and pollution. garden view isnt that bad either. Dint eatb in because of budget

Room Tip: Get the Barcellona pass use the free entrance or discount tickets. Underground in centre saved our l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gypsy60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
#164 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Gran Hotel La Florida
#174 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
#39 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#120 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar Barcelona

Property: Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Address: Plaza Carlos Ibanez 3, 08038 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,380 - ₹ 25,680
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Miramar Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Miramar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing