We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked for Honeymoon....service was shocking!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Ranked #170 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Booked for Honeymoon....service was shocking!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I booked this as a gift for my sister on her honeymoon, it was made quite clear to the hotel at the time of the booking that this was a gift for the newly weds and that we would be footing the bill and to try and make it extra special for the couple. On arrival they were not given the room they were promised, they were also promised loads of extras like rose petal bath, etc, - their room did not even have a bath...!! They were also approached for payment several times throughout the trip even although it was clearly stated throughout several conversations with the hotel staff by us not to do this. They also commented on the general manner of the staff within the hotel as being rude and customer service not the best...after their return from honeymoon, I have contacted the hotel several times wanting an explanation, stating my complaint, and have had no feedback from them whatsoever...given the fact we paid just under £1000 for a four night break, and were promised so much...I think it is a downright disgrace that we have never even been so much as emailed an apology!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0telMiramar, Director de Recepción at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Mrs Emmatoye

Please accept my most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences with your reservation and with the stay. You can be assured that I am following up on each of your
comments in order to enhance the quality of our hotel services.
I would appreciate if you give me the opportunity to contact you directly to discuss what happened. It would be helpful if you could send me an email to pforero@hotelmiramarbarcelona.com.
Thank you for your time and comments, I look forward to hearing from you soon

Paula Forero
Front Desk Manager
pforero@hotelmiramarbarcelona.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    261
    71
    48
    56
See reviews for
128
541
24
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Mira (Spanish for Look) Mar (Sea) It does not get any better to take in the beauty of that is the city of Barcelona and the Mediterranean , while standing on you hotel balcony. Only a 5 minute cab ride from the city center this 5 star hotel offers a perfect staff, very calm atmosphere and modern rooms with balconies. The outside patio is relaxing in the afternoon for lunch or evening for drinks. The breakfast buffet is simple but elegant. Worth the splurge for this 5 star hotel compared to others in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericsweden_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights before our med cruise. The location of the hotel may not be for everyone as it's quite far from all the touristy areas, restaurants, and shoppings, but we certainly enjoyed it. The view of the city from the back of the hotel is wonderful. you get to see the entire Barcelona by just standing there. The hotel room are quite big, there is no separate bathroom area, bedroom and bathroom are only separate by a curtain. The design of the room certainly looks great, but the details are not perfect. Shower room door could not be closed and the sofa in the sitting area was a bit wore. Overall, a good hotel room for short stay and sleep.

If you want to tour the city, take one of the tour buses, they have a stop right next to the hotel, which acted as your transportation to and from the city for the day, of course, it also takes you to the rest of the barcelona.

The cost of the taxi from airport is around 30 euros and 15-20 euros will take you to the cruise terminal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

A bit of a mixed bag. The rooms were booked well in advance via booking .com. We did arrive earler than intended using the excellent serice of pre booked Holiday Taxis for both sides of the journey from the airport strongly recommend this as pre charge of £61 between four people was reasonable and efficient. It does state rooms are not available until 15:00 hours however both rooms were not ready until after this time. My room was 408 i didnt complain about it but realy 5* should have inspections glass was cracked in balcony window, ceilings in shoer room and bathroom were discoloured by flooding from above with paintwork hanging down in bathroom. The toilet door was hanging loose and made a right racket when closing ( I fixed it myself) Problems with air con blowing only hot air. The hotel staff were all friendly sheets and towels were changed regularly. Friends room had none of these problems. Location meant it was hard to walk overcome by using Barcelona pass (recommended) no 50 takes you right to Espanya place. Unstuck on Thurday due to natonal strike. Even with these faults woild recommend hotel for the peace and tranquility esaping from city noise and pollution. garden view isnt that bad either. Dint eatb in because of budget

Room Tip: Get the Barcellona pass use the free entrance or discount tickets. Underground in centre saved our l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gypsy60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed in suite and premier room with seaview
Nice big room with private terrace and beautifull view. Room service was good.
Staff very helpfull and friendly, changing my room for a more quite room was not a problem.
Nice big bathroom with separate bath and shower, the bath salts were only available in the suite not in premier rooms.
Getting there by walking can be a bit difficult since the hotels on a mountain, but since taxi is relative cheap this should not be a problem

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eurostars Grand Marina Hotel
#187 of 513 in Barcelona
2,197 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 513 in Barcelona
2,314 reviews
Gran Hotel La Florida
#204 of 513 in Barcelona
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
4,437 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 513 in Barcelona
1,771 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#58 of 513 in Barcelona
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar Barcelona

Property: Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Address: Plaza Carlos Ibanez 3, 08038 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,122 - ₹ 32,461
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Miramar Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Miramar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing