We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Catalonia Ramblas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Ramblas
Ranked #144 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I loved this hotel! its location is perfect and my room was clean and comfortable

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiveli1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 695 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

All told I've probably spent 6 months in hotels across Europe. This is probably the nicest I've ever stayed in during all of that time.

I will clarify that statement to say that I've stayed in some cheapo hotels and some nice business traveler hotels, but not "luxury" hotels.

Clean, well staffed and a great location. I would definitely stay here again if I were traveling to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muadib1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel was an odd mixture of great - but really great and worse than awful. Catalonia Ramblas is a very modern and clean hotel. It's situation was perfect within walking distance to everything. The room was very very big and lovely big beds and parquet floors. We overlooked the pool so we never heard a hint of traffic. The beds were very big and easy to move. Breakfast was extensive with lots of fresh fruits, delicious pastries, good cappuccino etc etc. The dining room staff was very friendly and obliging. Free Wifi was welcomed change to usually high costs in hotels.

But, unfortunately we had problems with the bath room. There was a very bad stench of sewer in the toilet. When I brought this to their attention on the first morning, they explained that when it rains in Barcelona, there is a sewer problem. OK, as we say "[--] Happens" Anyway we spent very little time in the room. There is also a large door between the toilette area and the bedroom, so the odor didn't permeate to our area at night.
The other problem was the shower. There was no way we could adjust the water. Either it was scalding hot or freezing cold. All this without touching the faucettes. Showers were a nightmare. My room mate was in tears.
They offered to change rooms, but when we checked, they were all the same problem with the water temperature.
Usually, I am not the one to complain, but our experience in the hotel was definitely soured by the toilet and shower.
We went to the manager and as compensation, they allowed us late check out free of charge and also didn't charge for the dinner we had one night. I must say they were very forth coming.
Other small problems we had was the hairdryer. The covering always fell off, exposing the wires. The bed sagged, causing one to slip to the side. There was virtually no place to put clothes apart from the hanging closet. I had to remove the coffee/tea shelf and leave things there.
But, I wouldn't go back without assurance that the problems I mentioned were fixed. When I read Trip advisor, this was a re-occurring comment by other travelers.
The 4th floor was mentioned as problematic.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiracheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Spent 3 nights in the hotel. Clean, big room, great bathroom, great beds, Good free wifi. The location is perfect, very central in good area. Very easy to find and close to airport bus. Unfortunately, the gym and spa is opening very late and therefore I didn't try. Did not try breakfast/restaurant. Plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby. Did have problems with hot water but it was dealt with immediately.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianneBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Hotel was a little expensive, but I don't want it to seem negative. Location was brill very close to everything great bus shuttle service to and from airport. Breakfast was amazing great choice. Rooms were clean and a good size although a little noisy I wouldn't say they were sound proof, photos on website are a true reflection of the hotel. Staff at reception were helpful. Internet not good connection in some rooms but available in lobby area. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyreesummerof69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#141 of 519 in Barcelona
1,588 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#39 of 519 in Barcelona
1,436 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 519 in Barcelona
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#14 of 519 in Barcelona
594 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#124 of 519 in Barcelona
1,840 reviews
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
#197 of 519 in Barcelona
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Ramblas

Address: Carrer de Pelai, 28, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#75 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 8,425 - ₹ 31,821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Ramblas 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its privileged location right in the middle of the city enables guests to enjoy the city's sights while being conveniently near its shopping centre. Whether one visits the Gothic Quarter, follows the Gaudi Modernist route, strolls down the Ramblas, goes shopping on the city's Paseo de Gracia... the heart of Barcelona throbs with life next to the new Catalonia Ramblas hotel. The Hotel offers a Spa and relaxation area with exclusive services and treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Catalonia Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Ramblas Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing