We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal L' Antic Espai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal L' Antic Espai
Ranked #52 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Interesting and friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is overall an excellent hotel for the price. It is well located, just off the main square but far enough from the hordes of tourists on la Rambla. The hotel is full of character, lovely building, and interesting anique style furniture. The place is clean and one the whole the staff were very friendly. They let me leave my bag there for the day when I was leaving.

The main negative was I had a single room that was tiny and did not have a window; no hot water early in the morning and the TV did not work (not that it mattered). The breakfast is not worth paying for. However when you compare it to many other places it is great. However when you take into consideration the price, location and character then they are not big issues to be honest.

I hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: get one with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tell-it-as-it-is47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    210
    50
    22
    17
See reviews for
85
420
161
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

This hotel (or perhaps pensione is a better description) has much to recommend and much to be wary about. I chose it based on TA reviews which were pretty accurate, if not over enthusiastic. The location is perfect- very central for walking virtually anywhere at any time, or using taxis, or public transportation. We stayed in room 107- a double with the shared terrace. It was very quiet (which was very important to me) and the double bed (not queen-size) was excellent. The room itself was tiny, and the outer room which made it into a "suite" was quite tiny. The huge armoire replaced any closet, but the 4 little draws and almost out of reach single rod made unpacking a challenge. I don't know how they took photos that made the room look so large. The staff is as helpful and accommodating as can be. Sergio and Muhammed were intelligent, friendly, and helpful hosts- but not always on location. A cell phone was provided if you needed them. The bathroom was fine for us, but we are small. I don't think a large person would fit in the shower.
We tried breakfast twice. Basically I just wanted coffee- and lots of it. But, the coffee did not agree with my usually cast iron stomach and I reacted badly both times. We skipped breakfast and happily bought cappucinos at an Italian cafe a short distance up the street. The entire interior is non-smoking, but smoking, unfortunately, is permitted on the terrace. If your sliding door is open, the smoke and smell could come into your room. Closing the door however, was just fine. Relaxing and reading on the interior terrace was otherwise lovely. Wifi is free, and a computer in the entry parlor was always available, including ability to print.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, consider the terrace room. E-mails back and forth helped me choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mona_was_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgolpe, Propietario at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thanks a lot to let us know your opinion but we also take our time to explain what we think about it.
The category from our little gem is something that our big service offer gives us. I never so a pension with some service we offer: From Hitting, Air Conditioning, Medical assistance, Pick up Service and other that you can check in our Web Page. Sorry we are a little Boutique Hotel and it’s the category our customers give us.
We never said that our beds are queen size. That is nothing we advertize. I don´t know from where you got that information.
About the room sizes. We are in Europe. Here the room sizes are smaller than in other part of the world. Our decoration with antic furniture takes also a lot of space. We change space for decoration. Our pictures are made with normal Camera, not with one professional that made this kind of visual effects.
If you have stomach problems that are not our fault, our coffee will be drunk every day for many customers around the world. We never had problem with it.
In a public place you always need to take care what others do. If somebody is smoking outside where is the problem to close the door and show tolerance?
Best regards.
Abel Estévez González.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Hostal L'Antic Espai - Gran Via de las Corts Catalans 660
A lot of what I read about this place seemed to match up with the reviews I had read on TripAdvisor (TA), but I cannot say I would return here if I could get a room at the nearby Hostal Girona. 
I'll start with the positives, it is in a great location just at the bottom of Eixample near the Ramblas, Barri Gotic and Born and also not too far from the Sagrada Familia. You are surrounded by Metro stops and it is very accessible. 
I absolutely loved the finger print entry system, very Mission Impossible. On arriving Sergio on the front desk was pleasant and welcoming, providing me with a map, showing me my room, the terrace etc, all good. 
My room was 108 near the front desk and main door which did prove to be a problem as you hear everyone passing by and the main door slamming at all times of the day and night, ask for a room further away if you can. The room itself was very cramped, but the room sizes were mentioned in TA so no qualms there, although I wouldn't  of wanted to share such a small space. The bathroom was again small and as my synonym alludes I am a larger bloke and I found that I only just, just, fitted in the shower, but again sort of expected if not to such a sardine like extent.
As soon as I arrived I pointed out that the air con in my room was not working, Sergio promised to look at it and when I returned that evening there was a propellor fan in there, which took the edge off the heat, sort of. Sergio explained that he would get it looked at in the morning. This didn't happen and until I had to leave and pay Sergio was not in evidence, I found this a bit annoying and would have hated to share my cell with anyone with no air con to cool it down.
I did get breakfast thrown in with the room, it wasn't really worth it, soggy toast and a dried out croissant, which is a shame as it looked nice.
I am sorry to say I found this place to be somewhat of a let down but I could see why others may have had a much better experience.
Tips, this is up three steep flights of stairs, no lift,  do not have room 108, ensure your air con works and get breakfast out in Barcelona, its lovely :)

Room Tip: Avoid ones near the reception / front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phatbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgolpe, Propietario at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
I would like to answer your opinion and said thanks to let us know how your experience was in our place.
First about the room size: Of course it’s a small room. As you book, it’s an interior single room. For more space you should pay more money. Europe size is not the same as, for example, American size. Our décor take also a lot space because is Antique furniture.
It’s correct; the air conditioning was out of order. For sure we did everything to solve the problem. Some time things happened and we need to wait till is resolves. Now it’s working perfectly. Sorry for that inconvenience. We offer you a discount because of it. Sorry that you think Sergio was nervous but of course with this kind of problem in our business who will be not nervous.
About our breakfast: We have three different breakfast, from the very small (Spanish breakfast) till the very big one (Continental Breakfast). If you choose the Spanish one, of course, you have not butter and Marmalade to put in to the croissant. But this is your choice.
Sorry about your bad experience but next time ask for a suite room and the continental breakfast. Of course, for it think you need to have a better budget.
Greetings,
Abel Estévez González.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

At first glance, L'Antic Espai is like stepping into a museum. Chandeliers, furniture, and figurines abound. It's almost dazzling.

All those antiques should have made me uncomfortable---but the reality is--they didn't. This facility was comfortable and approachable. [I wouldn't take small children there, but teens--even slightly clumsy ones--aren't a problem.]

Our room was very pleasant and opened through sliding glass doors onto a lovely patio. We had a private bath. Wifi was nice, although it occasionally dropped. We had a nice continental breakfast.

The service is the best thing about this boutique hotel. Sergio handled our luggage, answered our questions, and arranged transportation to the airport. I couldn't have asked for a more gracious host. [He recommended a tapas restaurant that proved to be one of the best meals of our trip.]

The location is perfect. We were near stores, restaurants, banks, and Gaudi architecture.

I will make three cautionary notes. 1) One of the neighbors is really loud. She banged dishes and argued with a man for a long time. Fortunately, they calmed down by 2200. I had the sliding glass door open, so maybe I wouldn't have heard this with it closed. 2) If you are the type of tourist who likes a freezing-cold room in the summer, be prepared for comfortably cool instead. 3) You have to climb a set of stairs to reach L'Antic Espai. If you need an elevator, you may wish to consider another choice. [Sergio carried all of our luggage up for us, so that is not an issue.]

I loved this place. I would highly recommend it. And the next time I visit Barcelona, I will definitely make reservations here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eliza_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

The review here is partially based on expectations and I might have made the mistake of expecting a hotel (rather than Hostal). This is more of a B&B. It's ranked a 2 star which makes sense. Had I known or understood that I might not have booked it. Wasn't a place to spend much time - felt a bit confining, fortunately we were out most of the time. That being said the staff was very friendly and helpful when they were there. Location is great. Appreciated the airport drop off service. Probably wouldn't stay again but I can see it being a good fit for others. Note: there are 27 steps to get up to reception, so if stairs aren't your thing you might want to skip it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgolpe, Propietario at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Please to contribute with your opinion and we proceed to answer your critics.
I do not know about the stars, what were your expectations and you relied upon to assess them. Surely not much 5 star hotels have some facilities as some we have. Example: personalized medical care. In case necessary, which has no extra cost, free Wi-Fi and others what you can check on our website. What give hotel category are the service and not the stars that hang on the door. At the same time we have no more stars because we are not interested because it makes our product more expensive. Do want to pay more?
As for the place itself, I consider it a matter of taste. Most of our customers love L 'Antic Espai and others do not. If you like antiques will love the place, otherwise you will feel, perhaps, overwhelmed. It's something that need to consider when you make the reservation.
Many thanks.
Regards,
Abel Gonzalez Estevez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#2 of 325 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Eixample
Retrome Barcelona
Retrome Barcelona
#36 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#44 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#50 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Girona
Hostal Girona
#46 of 325 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Eixample
La Casa Gran B&B
La Casa Gran B&B
#24 of 325 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Property: Hostal L' Antic Espai
Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,462 - ₹ 10,744
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal l Antic Espai Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing