We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Nearby Hotels
US$ 218
US$ 200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 141
US$ 118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 205
US$ 186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 215
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barcelo Sants(Barcelona)
US$ 186
US$ 176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
NH Barcelona Entenza(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$ 128
US$ 125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 227
US$ 202
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
US$ 504
US$ 465
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,207)
Filter reviews
2,207 results
Traveller rating
1,280
804
92
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,280
804
92
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgothic quartercathedral squarerooftop poolgreat locationfree walking tourside streetbarri goticgood sizequiet streetshort walkmodern hotella ramblaexcellent hotelwould definitely stay here againcentral locationtea and coffeeel born
Filter
Updating list...
1,258 - 1,263 of 2,207 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

WOW! So happy we stayed here. Lovely Hotel. Probably the best staff and customer service I have ever encountered in a hotel in Europe... and I have stayed in my fair share.

It looks just as it appears in the photos; A genuine 4 star, quality hotel - modern, clean, outstanding customer service and right in the heart of the Roman City walls. The Cathedral square is outside the door - literally! They say first impressions count and when Oriol at reception greeted us, (me, my husband and our two daughters 15 and 12yrs), we knew we had chosen the right hotel. He was wonderful throughout our stay, as were Natalia, Sergio and Pedro who looked after all our needs and millions of questions about the city and sights. They are never too busy to help. We were even given four hotel bicycles to ride around the city - free of charge, brilliant experience! On them we managed to cycle all along the harbour front and beach.

We had breakfast included in the rate, (I was very glad of this as at 18.50 euros each that would have been very expensive for the 4 of us). It was a really hearty meal with all the usual offerings as well as cooked options, cake and cava! The children loved the baskets of fresh pastries and we loved the restaurant manager David's, recommendation of Catalonian ham on tomato spread bread. Plus Marco made the BEST cappucinos! Freshly squeezed OJ, in true Spanish style, is brought to you as soon as you enter the restaurant.

The Hotel is in a pedestrian zone - bliss!. La Ramblas is a 2 min walk, as is the famous market and theatre. Metro the same. Great high street shopping if you walk towards the Placa Catalunya. Wonderful walks in the ancient city and only 10mins max to the water front. We even walked from here to Palau Guell* and La Padrera. *Of all the Gaudi creations/museums we saw this was our favourite, informative and sympathetically done. Be prepared to spend though, as each entry to the museums and galleries is about 40/50 euros per family of 4 and there is loads to see!

My only crticism of the hotel would be that the music played on the terrace goes on very late into the night and I could hear it in our room. Ask for rooms on the road side to avoid it. (very quiet side street). Plus the pool was unheated so unless it is the height of the summer you really can't swim in it, freezing. I have since heard from a friend this is usual in Spanish Hotels - so be warned!

I choose the hotel the via Airmiles (now Avivos) site.

Have a great stay and give all the staff a hug from us. We miss being pampered in true 4 star style!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel was a great find. The rooms were spacious for Europe and well decorated as well as clean. The front desk was very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The location couldn't be beat. You are very close to Las Rambla and quite a few sites. The area is great to walk around and find some fabulous shops and restaurants. It's located on a quiet side street, so it wasn't too noisy. My main complaint is that our room seemed to be next to the cleaning area and the cleaning crew were quite noisy in the morning. I also would have liked an american news station such as CNN, but there were a few English speaking news channels, so it was fine. Lastly, it was a little pricey, but it was during the Madrid/Barcelona game, so that could be why. Overall it was a great trip and I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRBKLYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is the perfect hotel for visiting Barcelona for a weekend
We found the location perfect and were able to get to all the attractions very easy, the pool on the roof is a great extra.
Maps and information was given to us on arrival and it was only a short walk from where the airport shuttle drops you off.
The rooms were spotless and even though we asked for a smoking room, there was no smell of stale smoke. The reception staff were very helpful and even printed our boarding passes and gave me an adapter for my hair dryer as I forgot to pack one.
Shopping is right on the door step also and a fantastic variety of places to eat right ourside too.
I am planning another visit to Barcelona this year and I will be re-visiting this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arsenal1_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked in to the Hotel Barcelona Catedral after an enquiry for one of their wheelchair accessible rooms/bathrooms. The room was clean and quite spacious with a large comfortable bed. Sadly there was no flip down seat and shower in the bathroom, which would have been easier rather than a bath without hand rails. Though the location was ideal and could not be faulted, we felt the breakfast was really bad, especially for the price. Its a good hotel in a good part of town and just 5 mins walk from the Airport Bus stop, but for the price we paid we thought it was just far too expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tallgirl1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, General Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We are sorry if your stay at our hotel was not 100% satisfactory.

We would like to apologize, because we do have one person of the staff new at reception and we did not train that person properly regarding the procedure for guests with special needs. Yes we do have flip down seats for guests that require it. This is our fault and we did immediately correct.

Regarding rates, ... you came in a very high period season. Barcelona was fully, fully booked. The rate that was applied to you was 30% under our rack rate. You paid 245 eur for a triple room, VAT included, in 4* Hotel downtown.

Thank you for your time and positive comments. And we can ensure you we work to be always better than last time.

Receive our best regards from Barcelona.

Anna Castan
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were quite impressed with our stay at the Hotel Barcelona Catedral. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is quite posh looking. Our room contained two beds, and it was decorated in a modern and fun fashion. For example, we had lollypops waiting for us on our pillows instead of the usual chocolates at night. Additionally, the room contained a safe, toiletries, and a hair dryer. The free wi fi in the room was also greatly appreciated.

Location-wise, the hotel was very close to Las Ramblas and the Cathedral. Thankfully, the hotel was on a side street, which we found to be quite quiet and peaceful compared to these areas. The hop on/hop off busses were nearby - we thought this bus was a necessity given the huge size of Barcelona and the distance between the main attractions and sights. We went back and forth regarding whether we should stay in another area (the Eixample, etc.) or stay closer to Las Ramblas. I am happy with the choice that we made.

The only negative is that the hotel was incredibly expensive compared to our other stays in Spain. Of course, we picked the one weekend when Barcelona was playing Madrid for football, so perhaps that led to the high room prices. I can't say that we received a room that was comparable to the money we spent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B.G._Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews