We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #48 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great base for a short break”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A friendly, clean and comfortable hotel in a great location. Easy to get to on foot (with minimal luggage) from airport bus Catalunya Square and minutes walk from Ribera district
with its lovely shops, restaurants and cafes. Would have liked more choice on the breakfast buffet but that was the only downside. Visited in April, so a bit too early in the year to make use of the rooftop pool, but I'm sure that really comes into its own in the summer months.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    707
    79
    13
    13
See reviews for
355
1,037
44
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

WOW! So happy we stayed here. Lovely Hotel. Probably the best staff and customer service I have ever encountered in a hotel in Europe... and I have stayed in my fair share.

It looks just as it appears in the photos; A genuine 4 star, quality hotel - modern, clean, outstanding customer service and right in the heart of the Roman City walls. The Cathedral square is outside the door - literally! They say first impressions count and when Oriol at reception greeted us, (me, my husband and our two daughters 15 and 12yrs), we knew we had chosen the right hotel. He was wonderful throughout our stay, as were Natalia, Sergio and Pedro who looked after all our needs and millions of questions about the city and sights. They are never too busy to help. We were even given four hotel bicycles to ride around the city - free of charge, brilliant experience! On them we managed to cycle all along the harbour front and beach.

We had breakfast included in the rate, (I was very glad of this as at 18.50 euros each that would have been very expensive for the 4 of us). It was a really hearty meal with all the usual offerings as well as cooked options, cake and cava! The children loved the baskets of fresh pastries and we loved the restaurant manager David's, recommendation of Catalonian ham on tomato spread bread. Plus Marco made the BEST cappucinos! Freshly squeezed OJ, in true Spanish style, is brought to you as soon as you enter the restaurant.

The Hotel is in a pedestrian zone - bliss!. La Ramblas is a 2 min walk, as is the famous market and theatre. Metro the same. Great high street shopping if you walk towards the Placa Catalunya. Wonderful walks in the ancient city and only 10mins max to the water front. We even walked from here to Palau Guell* and La Padrera. *Of all the Gaudi creations/museums we saw this was our favourite, informative and sympathetically done. Be prepared to spend though, as each entry to the museums and galleries is about 40/50 euros per family of 4 and there is loads to see!

My only crticism of the hotel would be that the music played on the terrace goes on very late into the night and I could hear it in our room. Ask for rooms on the road side to avoid it. (very quiet side street). Plus the pool was unheated so unless it is the height of the summer you really can't swim in it, freezing. I have since heard from a friend this is usual in Spanish Hotels - so be warned!

I choose the hotel the via Airmiles (now Avivos) site.

Have a great stay and give all the staff a hug from us. We miss being pampered in true 4 star style!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel was a great find. The rooms were spacious for Europe and well decorated as well as clean. The front desk was very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The location couldn't be beat. You are very close to Las Rambla and quite a few sites. The area is great to walk around and find some fabulous shops and restaurants. It's located on a quiet side street, so it wasn't too noisy. My main complaint is that our room seemed to be next to the cleaning area and the cleaning crew were quite noisy in the morning. I also would have liked an american news station such as CNN, but there were a few English speaking news channels, so it was fine. Lastly, it was a little pricey, but it was during the Madrid/Barcelona game, so that could be why. Overall it was a great trip and I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRBKLYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is the perfect hotel for visiting Barcelona for a weekend
We found the location perfect and were able to get to all the attractions very easy, the pool on the roof is a great extra.
Maps and information was given to us on arrival and it was only a short walk from where the airport shuttle drops you off.
The rooms were spotless and even though we asked for a smoking room, there was no smell of stale smoke. The reception staff were very helpful and even printed our boarding passes and gave me an adapter for my hair dryer as I forgot to pack one.
Shopping is right on the door step also and a fantastic variety of places to eat right ourside too.
I am planning another visit to Barcelona this year and I will be re-visiting this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arsenal1_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked in to the Hotel Barcelona Catedral after an enquiry for one of their wheelchair accessible rooms/bathrooms. The room was clean and quite spacious with a large comfortable bed. Sadly there was no flip down seat and shower in the bathroom, which would have been easier rather than a bath without hand rails. Though the location was ideal and could not be faulted, we felt the breakfast was really bad, especially for the price. Its a good hotel in a good part of town and just 5 mins walk from the Airport Bus stop, but for the price we paid we thought it was just far too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tallgirl1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarcelonaHoteles, General Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry if your stay at our hotel was not 100% satisfactory.

We would like to apologize, because we do have one person of the staff new at reception and we did not train that person properly regarding the procedure for guests with special needs. Yes we do have flip down seats for guests that require it. This is our fault and we did immediately correct.

Regarding rates, ... you came in a very high period season. Barcelona was fully, fully booked. The rate that was applied to you was 30% under our rack rate. You paid 245 eur for a triple room, VAT included, in 4* Hotel downtown.

Thank you for your time and positive comments. And we can ensure you we work to be always better than last time.

Receive our best regards from Barcelona.

Anna Castan
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#59 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#82 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#41 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,442 - ₹ 20,421
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing