We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #33 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed at this Hotel and wasn't sure what to expect, what a great hotel in a wonderful location. We were only in Barcelona for a couple of days but is located is such a central location, easy working to train station, taxis and La Rambla.

The rooms were very clean and the staff at reception were very friendly.

Breakfast was very good. Overall a very pleasant stay in a wonderful city - would definitely recommend.

We were on the 3rd floor and didn't hear any street noise as some other reviewers mentioned.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brightongirlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear brightongirlSydney,

Thank you very mcuh for your kind review. We are very pleased to have met the expectations you had of the hotel. I'll be happy to share your kind comments with all the hotel staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Raimon Senpau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,110)
There are newer reviews for Olivia Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,084 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

Location is perfect for sightseeing and shopping (if you are that way inclined).

All the staff, without exception were professional, polite, friendly and helpful.

But the hotel advertised sound proofed rooms. Ours was not - cue snoring man in the room next door who fell asleep with the telly on and then phone rings and rings and rings at past 1am - didn't make for a good night sleep!!

The hotel website also said that they would provide bathrobes and slippers, but there weren't any in our room - we weren't fussed, so didn't complain.

I have food allergies, so it wasn't worth us paying €20 per person for breakfast, so we ate breakfast out.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Helen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review, and for your kind comments about the staff. I'm sure you will feel

very happy with your comment.

Also, I'm very sorry for any inconvenience caused while sleeping. We will work so we can improve the soundproof system in the future.

I hope that despite all you had a pleasant stay with us, and hope to see you soon in the hotel.

Kind regards,

Raimon Senpau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The hotel is situated on Plaza Catalonia, so the location is perfect for sightseeing. You are in the middle of the city, touristic bus & buses from the airport stop on the plaza. Really 5-minutes walk from Gothic district and a minute walk to Rambles.

The hotel is new. Very nice rooms with modern shower room. We stayed in superior room, it is a little bit bigger than a regular one (and it does not have sink in the room, superior room have a separate shower room & toilet), So if you have a chance to upgrade do so. Our room was on the 2nd floor, but we practically did not hear traffic noise. The view on the plaza is amazing, you have this great feeling that you are in the middle of life in Barcelona even when you are in your room.

Breakfasts is very nice, with champagne:)). Staff is very helpful.

We definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lara8283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Dear Lara8283,

Thank you so much for your nice review and for recommending us! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Olivia Plaza Hotel, and we hope to see you back again soon.

Kindest regards!

Raimon Senpau
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Great hotel right in very centre of Barcelona. Very friendly, helpful staff who accommodated all our needs. Lovely eating area downstairs. Room and bathroom spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Windows to front of hotel overlooking Catalunya Square do not open for safety reasons, if guests wis...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Dear Barbara B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review. I will be sure to share it with the entire team.

Kind regards,

Raimon Senpau
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Unbeatable location, the rooms adequate and staff (especially Fernando and Rebecca) friendly and helpful. For the price not much to complain about.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KULTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Dear KULTraveller,

Thank you for your review. I will share it with staff, and I'm sure Fernando and Rebecca will be very happy.

kind regards,

Raimon Senpau,
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
919 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 513 in Barcelona
2,236 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#24 of 513 in Barcelona
690 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
488 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 12,807 - ₹ 27,852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing