We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Granados 83

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Granados 83
Ranked #51 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights just before Xmas 2011 during which time the hotel was very well priced. The hotel is very stylish though a little older than some of the Barcelona design hotels. The general feel of the place is moody with pools of light and dark throughout. We had seen this hotel on a previous trip and were interested to see what it was like. We were not disappointed. The room was very masculine in feel with much of the furniture made from sheet steel but this is softenend by the use of exotic woods and warm exposed brick. My only criticism, and it is a minor one, is that the bathroom was a little worn in places, inparticular the marble sink had rust stains round the drain which were unpleasant.
Other than this it was a really good overall experience and I would definitely like to stay there again.

Room Tip: Standard room was just fine for a short stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Design123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Granados 83, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. Iam glad you enjoyed our property and take good note on your comments in order to keep improving our services.

hoping to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact me direct to arrange your booking.

Kind regards,

Greg Behn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    434
    107
    33
    15
See reviews for
196
621
139
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel December 24th and 25th and had an excellent experience. We got there around 8 am after an overnight flight from NYC. We were told there would be a room available in about an hour, and so they held our bags while we walked around and had breakfast. The room was incredibly quiet on the 3rd floor (facing the street), very clean and the staff was great. It's about a 15 minute walk to Sagrada Familia and a very easy subway ride (or longer walk) to the old part of the city - the subway is just a few blcoks away and easy to navigate). The staff was very helpful with directions and maps and very gracious. We had no issues with this hotel. The price was great as I don't think there were many people there at this time (but check prices as it greatly increased when I checked to see if we could book a room on January 2nd) It was a great place to land after flying into Barcelona on Christmas Eve.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaMarieRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Granados 83, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for taking the time of posting such a nice review on Granados 83. I am glad to read that you enjoyed spending Christmas Eve at our property.

Hoping to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us direct to offer you the best conditions.

kind regards,

Greg Behn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Granados. The staff was always friendly and gracious, and helped us call ahead to confirm reservations or take care of things for us. I had read some of the other reviews and was on guard for poor service or dirty rooms, but we had nothing but positive experiences. The room was small, but nicely appointed. The Eastern art and exposed brick were trendy, though perhaps a bit 90s, but it had the feel of staying in a New York loft at a cool friend's house, which is appealing. We were happy with it for the price we paid in the low-season (check prices, because they seem to have a great deal of variation depending on when you are visiting). I was more than happy to pay for the room at the winter price, but would have been disappointed had we been paying high season rates for what we had. The location was convenient, near good restaurants, walking distance to high-end shopping, and just a few blocks from the metro - from which you can easily get to anywhere.

Downsides were the views were either a construction site from the front of the hotel, or looking back into an inner court-yard of the surrounding block complete with people hanging out their laundry. The breakfast buffet was adequate, but not astounding. The mattress was thin, particularly by luxury hotel standards. I did not like the cloying smell of the incense or fragrance they use in the lobby, made it smell like a 70's shag-pad too musky and sweet, but that's only a minor complaint. All and all well recommended for the winter, but you may want to comparison shop during the tourist season when prices get unreasonable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Publius-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Granados 83, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your taking the time of posting your comments on Granados 83. I am glad to read that your stay with us has been enjoyable, and delighted that you felt like staying at '' a cool friend´s house''.

Hoping to welcome you back soon at Granados 83, please feel free to contact us direct in order to arrange your next booking and offer you the best conditions.

Kind regards,

Greg Behn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

The hotel has an Interesting, dramatic modernistic motif: first-rate conversion of an old hospital, with tasteful decoration balancing high-tech. Ulttramodern, very well-equipped rooms, though a bit dark. Ask for one with a balcony, or if it's in your budget, spring for a duplex suite.

There's virtually no street noise, and many excellent restaurants within an easy, safe stroll. Barcelona is a walkable city, so the distance to the Raval and Bari Gothic turned out to be no problem, and many Gaudi sites are within a half mile.

The hotel offers all every convenience except free WiFi, but there's a computer for guests to use in the lobby. Entire staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsR-705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Granados 83, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Granados 83.

I am glad the design and features of the hotel met your expectations, and that your had a pleasant stay with us. As you kindly mention the Hotel is very well located, only 3 blocks away from Gaudi´s La Pedrera and the Paseo de Gracia which is a really nice walk passing by designer stores, art galleries, small cafés, etc. I totally agree with you, the best way to visit Barcelona is walking.

Concerning the WIFI, Granados 83 do provide a one hour free connection per day, but also a totally free wired connection 24 hrs.

I really hope to can welcome you abck soon, please feel free to contact me direct in order to arrange all the details.

Thanks again,

Kind regards,

Greg Behn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

The room we had was not large but was nicely decorated and cool. Bathrooms were nice. Location is not in the touristy area but a short walk to everything. I think it took us 10 minutes to walk to La Ramblas but it was definitely not as loud as being in that touristy area.

We did find it noisy at night sometimes because of the street cleaners (we had a room on the lower floors).

Room Tip: Try higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokoshim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Granados 83, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for posting your review on Granados 83. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you back in the near future, please feel free to contact us direct we will be more than happy to assist you.

Kind regards,

Greg Behn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#41 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#27 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#38 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granados 83? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granados 83

Property: Hotel Granados 83
Address: Enric Granados, 83, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,731 - ₹ 20,621
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Granados 83 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior four-star hotel located in the very heart of Barcelona, just a few minutes away on foot from Avinguda Diagonal and Passeig de Gràcia and surrounded by the city's best shopping area.Located in a former hospital from the last century, Carrer Granados number 83 was reconverted into an Art-Deco hotel establishment. Its rusted iron structure, reminiscent of the old lofts of New York’s Soho, contrasts with the stone and glass facade and with interior decoration of maximum minimalist elegance and more than a hint of Zen.Bright, elegant spaces are connected around a central patio with a skylight and a spectacular crystal covering, bringing together iron, brick, zebrawood and tamarind wood, natural leather and Thassos white marble.If you would like to stay in the centre of Barcelona and enjoy the city's most avant-garde architecture, don't hesitate to come to Hotel Granados 83.Services77 guest rooms: 5 single rooms, 6 Executive, 59 double rooms, 7 DuplexRestaurant 3G Bar8 Terrace BarBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: Granados 83 room, multi-purpose space The Klub, 3 Restaurant, the patio of 3 Restaurant, poolside terraceOutdoor swimming pool and solariumGymParkingLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Derby Hotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granados 83 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granados 83 Hotel
Granados 83 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing