We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic and not too basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
chic&basic Born Hotel
Ranked #107 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chic and not too basic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Reasonably central, very convenient for the uber-trendy Born/Ribera part of town. 5 mins walk from Jaume 1 on metro.

Hotel itself very stylish. We were in room 10, overlooking Princesa. No street noise. Unlimited free coffees (good quality) and water is a nice touch. Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hershamboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    310
    56
    21
    11
See reviews for
56
458
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I love the location. This neighborhood is vibrant and lively. There are a number of great restaurants, bars, wine bars, cafes etc. You are within a very short walking distance to the Picasso Museum which is understated but a beautiful museum. I love the room they have of all the iterations of Picasso's interpretation of Goya's famous painting. The hotel itself is very clean, very modern and a comfortable place to stay. I was in Barcelona for work at the Convention center 10 minutes away by cab. It was only about 8-10 euros to cab back and forth and this neighborhood is such a better place to enjoy Barcelona than being stuck out by the convention center where there's nothing going on but a gigantic mall across from the convention center. I made the mistake of staying out there (Ramblas Frontim area) and will not make that mistake again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0ely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paje
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

The hotel is fantastic! It's very stylish, perfect located and offer's you all you need for a city trip in Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pangbourne, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I've roughed it round the world and splurged out with my husband but as I was holidaying alone this time I went middle of the road and really liked this place. It's funky but in a wonderful old building. Love the common area with free coffee, which I didn't use but had plenty of water. The rooms are super cool and a good size with wonderful old features like the balcony. The reception staff were really helpful when asked questions about activities, directions and booking an airport taxi. It's quite a distance to the location where the airport bus drops off and picks up so a taxi is the best option. (It cost me 28 Euros to the hotel, 33 Euros back to airport).

I've marked this down a little as the room needed a little attention. A tray style shelf was falling off the wall and there were some awful marks high up on the wall. The sound really travels too from other rooms.

Room Tip: I was in room 18 which had wifi and was far enough away from the common area not to be disturbed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princesscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I found the location quite convenient, came with Aerobus from the Airport then took the 41 bus from Pl. Catalunya to the Arc de Triomf, i was there in less than 10 mins. There are many places around you can grab bite, the room as such is clean & comfortable, they offer free wifi - which wasn't working when i checked-in, but they gave me a cable which worked fine for me. There is free coffee & bottled water in the lounge, and some muffins in the morning.
the design was a bit too much for my taste, but over all it's good value for money.

Room Tip: good value for money,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#55 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#129 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#48 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#179 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#30 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#188 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to chic&basic Born Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Born Hotel

Property: chic&basic Born Hotel
Address: Calle Princesa 50 | 08003 Barcelona, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,080 - ₹ 15,385
Hotel Class:3 star — chic&basic Born Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the traditional with the futuristic in a privileged environment: a building that is more than 100 years old with spectacular ceilings over seven metres high and spaces designed to surprise and enjoy. Its rooms, with an original glass shower in the room, are chameleon-like: you can change the colour depending on your mood. The passageways, full of enchantment and mystery, mutate with colour changes from the lights in the rooms. Enjoy our “Beyourself” and “Helpyourself” area in the common area where you can relax listening to music, reading any of our books or having a coffe, tea or water for free. Also, if you want to move about the city at your own pace, bicycles are available to rent. Once you try them, you won’t want to use any other transport in Barcelona. You can also enjoy our chic&basic tour, a two hour walk through Ciutat Vella in which we will mix history with some curiosities, as well as gastronomic and nightlife suggestions. Enjoy it on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays at 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your chic&basic Born Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Born Hotel
Chic Basic Born Hotel
Hotel Chic Basic Born

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing