We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of chic&basic Born Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
chic&basic Born Hotel
Ranked #105 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Basic...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

The good bit: excellent location in a great city. Barcelona. Great staff in reception. The hotel is basic, quirky. And not necessarily inexpensive... Everything is the hotel is sterile, whitewashed. And now worn in most ways. Barcelona has a vast number of similar hotels everywhere. The place is full of tourists all year round.

Room Tip: Go for the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frudle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    307
    56
    21
    11
See reviews for
56
454
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Soest, Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed three nights in this boutique hotel. Its location is probably the biggest asset, although our room also met almost every expectation. Good size, clean, facing the (noisy) street, small balcony and good amenities.
What strikes me is that when you aim at the somewhat younger traveller with money to spend, this place is very 'basic' in supplying free wifi only in the lounge, and at the same time provide free Nespresso (chic), thea and water. Breakfast is available at very reasonable prices in the adjoining restaurant Kharma (including free wifi).
Friendly and helpful staff completed a very nice experience.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for rooms on the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tge_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear tge_7,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at chic&basic Born with all the trip advisor travelers.
We are glad you had a nice experience and understand the fact of not having free wifi in the room is a bit of an inconvenience, although we offer free internet cables to connect laptops as a possible alternative.
We are planning on getting free Wifi in the rooms (the common area already offers it) in the beginning of 2012 as we know it is an essential product to offer.
We hope to welcome you back to chic&basic Born.
Best regards,

Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager c&b Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

loved this hotel. stayed for a 5 day city break. Love its cool decor comfie bed and HUGE front door..lol.
toilet/ shower may be a problem if you are shy but i was with my husband so it wasn't an issue for us.
Although it is a little bit out of the way, location wise, i really liked it. Felt more like living with the locals than staying in a hotel on La Rambla.Loved all the narrow little streets and open areas with authentic tapas bars. I would stay again if i was going back to Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin_Paul18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Dear Lin_Paul18
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in c&bHotel. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Best regards

Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager c&b Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of our Spain trip and 1 night one week later prior to our flight back home. Overall it was an interesting, new and exciting experience. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel as long as you are open to the "chic-ness" and "basic-ness" of the hotel.

Likes:
- Close to Barri Gotic (5-10 min walk) and La Rambla (15 min walk)
- Born area is a youthful area full of life from day to night
- The Large interior room lived up to its name (large)
- Free unlimited cold bottled water! Tea and coffee too in the guest lounge.
- Basic white rooms appeared clean. LED colored lighting of beaded curtains in the room was a cool touch.
- Natural Sky lighting in the ceiling of room.
- Free disposable slippers for two.

Things that we encountered that were issues for us but may not be issues for other guests:
- For our second stay, our room was not ready until 45 minutes after the hotel check-in time.
- No elevator for rooms on floor 1 (the same floor as gym). We had some heavy bags.
- Our room had a sewage smell that was covered by an air freshener. Initial entry into room has the strongest sewage smell, but the continuous air freshener spray blended odor to an okay level. However, we received the same room on our second stay and the air freshener was not spraying. When we requested a different room, we could not switch because they were completely booked.
- No internet in-room. WiFi in the Lounge area and a desktop available to guests in same area.
- No safe in the room and no full closet. The safe is at the front desk and there is a coat hang and a plastic drawer set in the room.

Other things to consider/know:
- Chic style may not be for everyone.
- If you need it, the front desk staff do speak other languages including English.
- Hair Dryer in-room. No Iron in-room.
- You'll need a plastic card (e.g. card key) to turn on the electricity in your room.
- About a 30-35 Euro Taxi ride to or from Barcelona Airport.

I hope you enjoy Barcelona!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaySFtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear BaySFtraveler,



First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about chic&basic Born and recommending it to people open to the "chic-ness" and "basic-ness" of the hotel.



We are happy you had an exciting experience after all and liked the location, the free snacks at the common area, slippers and the fact that you received good service from the frond desk team.



We apologize for the sewage smell. We are aware it happens sometimes in the rooms on the first floor (3 rooms), although it is an issue for the whole gothic neighborhood and the fact that the sewage system is very old in this part of town makes it very difficult for business owners to fix this problem. We wish we could have given you another room.



The plastic card (room key) has two utilities, one of them is to open the door, and the other one is to turn on/off electricity, it is just a way to make sure electricity isn’t wasted while guests are outside the room.



Chic&basic has the philosophy of having simple but chic rooms, and that includes a small closet, no safe in the room, etc, we do complement the basic-ness by offering complementary bottled water, coffee, tea and biscuits and good service from our staff.

Best regrads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We booked this hotel for our week-long stay in Barcelona as the last leg in our trip in Spain. From the moment we stepped in we knew it would be a different experience. The staff was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The amenities like free coffee, tea, water, cookies, internet access, and gym were great. The room was very neat with the multi-coloured lighting, the strings hanging over the door and the middle-of-the-room shower. It was a good size and had a rack for hanging clothes and drawers.

We had a simple breakfast one day at the hotel restaurant, Kharma, and the croissant was very undercooked. The food at dinner was better though. The hotel is in a great location, situated closely to enough restaurants so there is plenty of choice. It is a short walk from the Jaume I subway, La Rambla(don't eat there), close to monuments, and a 15-minute walk from the beaches of Barcelona.

Our only complaint was the lack of ventilation in the room. After taking showers in the morning and leaving for the day, the room would be very musky when we returned and we would have to open the door for a while to clear it.

Overall, we had a great experience at this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again if we come back to Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoscU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear BoscUlrich



Thank you for taking the time to write and recommend chic & basic Born.

We are happy to hear you had a good time in our Hotel. For us it is very important to know the opinion of customers and make any changes possible to improve the product and service we provide.



We hope to see you soon in the future if you come back to Barcelona.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#58 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#127 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#53 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#169 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#27 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#187 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to chic&basic Born Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Born Hotel

Property: chic&basic Born Hotel
Address: Calle Princesa 50 | 08003 Barcelona, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,199 - ₹ 14,856
Hotel Class:3 star — chic&basic Born Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the traditional with the futuristic in a privileged environment: a building that is more than 100 years old with spectacular ceilings over seven metres high and spaces designed to surprise and enjoy. Its rooms, with an original glass shower in the room, are chameleon-like: you can change the colour depending on your mood. The passageways, full of enchantment and mystery, mutate with colour changes from the lights in the rooms. Enjoy our “Beyourself” and “Helpyourself” area in the common area where you can relax listening to music, reading any of our books or having a coffe, tea or water for free. Also, if you want to move about the city at your own pace, bicycles are available to rent. Once you try them, you won’t want to use any other transport in Barcelona. You can also enjoy our chic&basic tour, a two hour walk through Ciutat Vella in which we will mix history with some curiosities, as well as gastronomic and nightlife suggestions. Enjoy it on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays at 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your chic&basic Born Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Born Hotel
Chic Basic Born Hotel
Hotel Chic Basic Born

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing