We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Barcelona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Ranked #185 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Quiet hotel located near the Hop on Hop off bus tours. They upgraded us to an executive suite and we got free internet and free breakfast with an evening reception (which included free beer and wine). The front desk couldnt have been nicer. We loved the hotels dining room also the staff was great and the food and wine was also.

Room Tip: If you a Gold member they upgrade your room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrythompssk2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaOliete, Marketing Department at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

I am happy to learn that you had a nice stay in the hotel. It was particularly pleasant to see that your impression of our staff was nice and great.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,109
    959
    302
    125
    72
See reviews for
537
822
123
747
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I had great expectations since its a Hilton but was surprised at the unfriendly attitude of the reception staff especially during check out

The hotel is very well situated, has great sea and city views, close to a small shopping mall, stone throw away from the convention center. So on the whole has great location

The rooms are simple but well appointed. The bathroom is nice and modern.

I had a corner room with a small view of the sea and mostly the road in front. The check in was fine. Room service not bad. Food average.

The check out though was rough. Since I am silver card holder I requested for a late check out but was told I had to check out at 12 noon sharp and I had just 5 mts to 12. I requested them stating that I had a meeting going on n the same hotel and it would be kind if I could check out by 3PM. This is the first time I had staff asking me to leave ASAP o they would have to charge me for the second day. After a lot of discussion and convincing I needed some time to pack I was told I could get another half an hour. What was of interest was that one receptionist said it was possible till 6PM and then turned to his senior colleague who turned this down. I cannot understand how one person says yes and the other says no.

I put my bag at the concierge and finally left the hotel at 5 on the evening after sitting in the lobby from 2 to 5 PM

What really bothered me was the complete apathy of the hotel reception staff. I am a silver card member, closing towards a gold status and the hotel could care less. I also wondered how other guests would get treated if this is how regulars got treated.

This hotel has potential if the staff are sufficiently groomed especially to handle requests politely and diplomatically

Room Tip: Select the rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaOliete, Dpto Marketing at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us even when it is not the kind of review we would like to have as it helps us to improve our service and enables us to offer our guests a memorable experience.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel and offer you the high quality service that you expected and deserve.

You are a very valuable guest for us not only because we have had the honor to have you but because you are a silver card holder.

The last thing we want is to lose your trust in us.

I completely understand your disappointment concerning the staff attitude and I deeply apologize for it.

Be sure your comments will be investigated up in order to avoid them in the future.

Yours sincerely.

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This nice and modern hotel is situated in a new area in Barcelona very modern right by the beach.. It is a very nice and new hotel.. big and typical Hilton style.. It could be excellent but it isnt because of its location.. way too far from the city center.. and the surronding area which is not very nice (if not for the shopping center right in front).. The rooms are nice.. The beds are confortable.. Breakfast is typical Hilton.. Just no free wifi.. Its payable everywhere in the hotel and quite expensive.. Ideal only for business men who just need a confty hotel to sleep and dont care about visiting Barcelona really!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paolo_morabito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaOliete, Marketing Department at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for filling out a review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we offer free internet service to all our Gold and Diamond Hilton Honors members as one of their benefits. If you are already member you will upgrade your status adding nights to your account, if not I really invite you to become a member and to start getting points. You will find more information in our web.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Had a good stay, the public areas of hotel are very good and the executive lounge is lovely. I didn't mind the location, just a 10 min taxi /meto ride from central Barcelona. Also opposite a large shopping mall. The downside was the size and quality of te room which I felt was below normal Hilton standards and we had little help with the cot that we had prebooked but was not in the room on arrival. Overall a good plac to stay, even better with an upgrade in room quality.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaOliete, Marketing Department at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.

We are very happy to hear you were very good in the hotel and that the Executive Lounge was lovely I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
133 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Service below Hilton standards, don't ask for any extras, it is a no. Amenities are of the poorest choice. Food was bad to the point where we headed to the burger king facing the hotel. Overall, it is a three stars hotel at best. We were here for a business conference and most ppl complained continuesly the five days stay. it ruins the charm of Barcelona.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemmayzetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaOliete, Marketing Department at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are sorry to hear the hotel didn’t meet your expectations. However, we appreciate your feedback and we will take in consideration your comments as this is a good opportunity for us to improve and become better every day.

We hope that despite your disappointed on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Kind Regards

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#160 of 518 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#153 of 518 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vincci Maritimo Barcelona
#178 of 518 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#125 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona

Property: Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Address: Passeig del Taulat 262 - 264, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#107 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,829 - ₹ 22,781
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only at a 5 minutes' walk from the beach, the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona offers stunning views of the sea and the spectacular morning rising sun. Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona is "the place to be" should you wish to enjoy a fun family beach holiday, have a cultural Barcelona City break or spend an unforgettable romantic weekend in Catalonia's capital. At less than 25 minutes from the airport, conveniently served by the Tram and metro to reach the city center in just a few stops, the hotel is also facing the largest shopping centre in Catalonia, Diagonal Mar. The Purobeach Barcelona offers stunning views of the sea and the rising sun, Purobeach Barcelona will provide the perfect place to immerse yourself in an Oasis of relaxation in the middle of such a busy city. Evade yourself starting the Puro Experience with a swim in our unique pool and laying on our teak sunbeds. Relax, hangout, and try our signature massage, listening to our soft tempos from Puro Live Web Radio. The hotel offers services such as fitness centre, sauna and comfortable air conditioned rooms. Our multilingual concierge team can assist you with car and bike renting, museum visits, beauty treatments reservations or simply recommend the best cultural places to discover. Overlooking the sea or Barcelona's sky line, the stylish spacious rooms at the Hilton Diagonal Mar come with WI-FI or wired internet access, flat screen LED TV, safe and mini bar, and some can be connected to other rooms for your convenience. Pamper yourself and book a Hilton Executive room: enjoy the hotel's spacious Executive Lounge offering space to relax and enjoy a unique Mediterranean light with spectacular city and sea views from its 15th floor terrace. As an Executive guest, you will benefit from exclusive services in our lounge: complimentary internet access, all day refreshments, breakfast and afternoon snacks. The Hilton Indigo's restaurant serves delicious International and Catalan food. The seasonal poolside Purobeach Barcelona bar and Restaurant offers our international M3 menu with Miami - Marrakesh - Melbourne cosmopolitan influence, tailor made to satisfy all our guests' profiles. The Pistaccio Lounge bar is the perfect venue for cocktail lovers wishing to start or end their evening in a relaxed atmosphere or simply enjoy the complimentary WI-FI to plan their next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, HotelsClick, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hilton International Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
Barcelona Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing