We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute cancellation with no explanation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercer House Boria BCN
Ranked #338 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We would have loved to have stay at Hotel Boria after having booked and paid for it on Hotels.com 4 months prior to our visit. One week prior to our stay, our reservation was cancelled with no explanation from the hotel. Our money was refunded per Hotels.com. They were unable to find similar lodging for the same price, especially at such short notice.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank tmartin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2011

Took the train in from the airport and walked the distance through main streets which wasn't a problem despite large suitcases. A little hard to find the hotel, so make sure you have map/ directions prior to leaving. Location was excellent in that it was not on the Ramblas which is busy, but still close to shopping, eating, transit and not far from the beach etc. Staff was extremely helpful trying to locate lost luggage on a daily basis - 4 days later it did show up and they put it in our room while we were out. The only negative is that we found it to be loud at night and did not sleep well. It was Easter weekend, so I am not sure it would have been much different elsewhere but the sound did travel in the close walled streets. We travelled with two other couples and we all really had a great trip. Enjoyed the roof top deck on a couple of occassions for a glass of wine but it could use a couple extra chairs. Having the fridge helped for breakfast items and cold drinks. Had a great birthday dinner one night at Café de L'Academia. Opens at 8:30 and was full from that time on.

Room Tip: Loft as it had a sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouringTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This is an apartment hotel. The benefit is that our room on the fourth floor was enormous, with every facility for self-catering. The downside is that there are no hotel facilities - bar, restaurant, foyer space. The decor is excellent but unless the management keep an eye on detail, will deteriorate. Examples in our room, flickering lights, broken lid on kettle.

Our main advice in Barcelona is be extremely vigilant with your posessions. Of the six of us there for four days, one had a phone stolen on the underground and one a wallet in the Boqueria market. We had thought both were sensibly tucked safely in pockets. After the theft in the market we went to the police where we saw a steady stream of people who had been robbed in the Boqueria. The worst cases were snatched handbags containing passports, phones, cards and money. The policeman who took our particulars had a pile of some 20-30 reports taken that morning and there were four or five others speaking to victims.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjm1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Great apartment hotel, modern and clean. We (four friends) stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and there was plenty of space for us all. Great location, so easy to walk to Las Ramblas, the Gaudi Cathedral and the Picasso Museum. We walked past the door initially, as it's not obvious it's a hotel - with its' great big wooden door. Helpful staff too. So all in all great value for money.

The only negative was the toilet/shower being open plan too; as the whole loft apartment had large vaulted ceilings it was very difficult to use the facilities without everyone hearing!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nutmeg215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

the grate thing about Boria hotel
is the feeling of having your own apartment in Barcelona
than beeing just a tourist in a small room hotel room
also verry romantic wellcome with prosseco
(just little smell from bathroom perhaps all old center of barcelona has )

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bestenergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 515 in Barcelona
2,080 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#104 of 515 in Barcelona
759 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#33 of 515 in Barcelona
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#141 of 515 in Barcelona
1,155 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#211 of 515 in Barcelona
681 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Banys Orientals
Hotel Banys Orientals
#165 of 515 in Barcelona
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer House Boria BCN? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer House Boria BCN

Address: Calle Boria, 24-26, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#111 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#166 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#197 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 10,290 - ₹ 21,356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercer House Boria BCN 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercer House Boria BCN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boria Bcn Barcelona
Boria Bcn Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing