We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lifelovers Welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #1 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lifelovers Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Haing just travelled 30 or so miles from a llong weekend with friends in Sitges we were wondering what would be awaiting us in Casa Camper, but there was no rainbow flag welcoming us at the door.

We took one of the suites,of which there is one at the end of each floor of the hotel, allowing for a connection between the lounge and bedroom without having to cross the hall, and a little more space with a sliding door dvider which is crtical to cut out the sound of nightclubbing skateboarders making passable immiations of freight trains through the night on the cobbled streets. Whilst this noise was slightly annoying when relaxing on the excellent roof terrace, this need not concern you at night as the bedrooms are all on the quiet side.

The hotel name comes from it being owned by the Camper fashion footwear brand, which is an odd association, never properly explained, but to be fair we never really asked, and it certainly acts as an excellent flag flier for the trainer makers.

Interestingly there was no cross promotion with the Camper footwear shop a few dozen metres ayay on the corner of the calle, who could probably help out visitors with a helpful location arrrow, which the hotel could reciprocate.

Location just of Las Ramblas is perfect, with a number of good value restaurants in the surrounding alleyways offering real atmosphere and charm away from the never ending human conga that is Las Ramblas.

The 24 hour snacks are a gwelcome treat, although it would be great to see them using larger water bottes or even a purifier instead of the wasteful, and surely costly, airline miniatures which dodn't really quench the thirst generated by the Barcelona sun.

The staff are attentive without being intrusive, and the style is almost impeccably maintained....except for the bath/shower which inexplicably let the side down with poorly maintaied grouting and all the style of a Blackpool B&B. (It did work perfectly offering a genuine amzonian Rainstorm of a shower, however).

Not the cheapest hotel in Barcelona, but I woudl suggest that for all rtound performance it probably offers the best value out there.

Room Tip: The suites at the end of each floor are worth the extra to make sense of the lounge/bedroom combo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wentworth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,454
    187
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
347
880
97
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed at the Casa Camper pre and post cruise based on the numerous reviews on TripAdvisor. Even though our expectations were high, they still exceeded them! Upon arriving early from an overnight flight, we were able to hang out and enjoy some cooked-to-order breakfast. Leo gave us a wonderful tour of the hotel and all the amenities. Since our room wasn't ready, we were able to leave our bags while we toured the city. We stayed in a suite since we were a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers) so we didn't have the separate rooms. The suite worked well for us and the kids enjoyed the hammock. We loved all the pegs on the wall, the sliding doors, and the beautiful bathroom.

Fernanda and the evening desk attendant were very helpful with advice regarding places to go, including sight seeing and restaurants. It was also comforting coming back to the hotel and having refreshments available, especially with two teenagers!

We originally were going to stay at a different hotel after the cruise, but we switched our reservations to the Casa Camper after our first night because we had such a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
608 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I am now inspired to hang peg hooks across the walls in every room in my house. I am having hook withdrawal, now that I am home, no longer in the organizational sanctuary that was my room at Casa Camper - hooks, lots of shelves, open closets. But, that is the least of the many positive features of this hotel. I began corresponding with the fine folks at Casa Camper about five months before our stay, as a pre-cruise visit to Barcelona. There are five of us in the family, and my daughter has mobility issues. The staff at Casa Camper was all super helpful regarding her needs, even renting a wheelchair on our behalf so that it was ready for us upon arrival. We rented two rooms, one a suite, and the other the room directly next door. Our two sons stayed in the regular room, and they found the hammock room to be delightful, very fun. My oldest son enjoyed swinging in the hammock while watching the Olympics, with the outside window open to the sounds of the charming street below. The rooms have been described by other reviewers, but I want to say that there was complete privacy - the power shades in the bathrooms open and close with the touch of a button to close out the light or to open the view to the uniform potted plants outside, giving the feel of being in a secret tropical hideaway. Pocket doors separate the bathrooms from the main room and the toilets are also pocketed. The rooms are very clean and well insulated for sound from within the hotel as well as outside noise. The design and the materials lend themselves to disinfection. I love the fact that the floors are slate (or something like slate, anyway) as they scream 'clean', plus they look quite chic. The flavor of the hotel is eco-green (even though the walls are red!, haha). The dark red walls contribute to a sense of comfort and simplicity - not fussy. Relaxed luxury. The situation of the hotel on Carrer Elisabets is extremely charming. Saying the street is narrow is an understatement. The views from the hammock rooms are excellent in that they give an authentic old world street view - leaning out the window, looking left or right, is quite unique. The roof terrace provided a welcome respite. We enjoyed getting dessert and water and juices from the 24 hour food bar, and bringing them upstairs to the terrace at night. In the morning, it is very nice to go up there early, and listen to the sounds of the city awakening, the sunlight hitting the rooftop herb garden. More about the food bar - it was wonderful to be able to grab drinks before and after a day of serious sight seeing, and it was particularly helpful for our sons, who always seem to be eating, to grab a sandwich anytime they wanted it - there was quite a variety of sandwiches, BTW, inventive fare, not basic. Don't let the simple facade of Casa Camper fool you - much thought and planning has clearly gone into making sure that the customer has an outstanding experience.

The staff is young, energetic, enthused, friendly, committed. In transit on the airplane, the wheel on my daughter's walker became dangerously loose and my husband needed a specific wrench to tighten it. The staff person had him come into the maintenance area and allowed him to go through the tool chest until he found the right size wrench, which was fantastic, as the alternative would have been trying to find a hardware store, as her walker had to be fixed, no question about that. Another above and beyond act was that on the day of our departure for the cruise port, we overslept, jet lag taking it's toll. The very nice personalized breakfast was closed at that time, but one of the worker's came up to me and offered to make us cafe con leche to go, which we gratefully accepted. Another example is that we had a last minute issue with our arrival airport transfer. Via email, the Camper staff promptly found us alternate transportation and simply charged the fare to our room bill. The transfer they arranged went efficiently and smoothly, the driver even giving us a fantastic narrative of the area as he drove us in. As noted by others, Camper is in a fantastic location, walking distance to nearly all touristic sites, but at the same time paradoxically, off the beaten path. We asked for a recommendation to a local tapas restaurant, and I am very glad that I followed the advice of the staff person. We went to Bar Lobo, a very short walk from the hotel, and it was delightful. (Do not go to Ciudad Comtal!)

We loved our entire experience with Casa Camper and if we return to Barcelona in the future, which I hope we will, we will definitely stay here.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank lexmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Loved it. The location great, room great, service great. Modern hotel with "split" rooms, one side is for sleeping with bed and bathroom, the other side is for lounging facing the street with a balcony and a hammock!

The service is great. The breakfast is good, and I love the fact there were snack 24 hours a day, so you could come in from a late night out and have something to eat.

We were there during my birthday and the bought out a little cake with a candle in it for me with breakfast. Love that attention to detail it was total not expected and a nice surprise.

The staff was friendly and very helpful, and the location great. I didn't want to leave!! I can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeyFUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

One of the best hotels we've had the privilege of staying in, there are no faults.
We arrived in Pl Cataluyna, crossed over the bottom side of the square - the direction that the aero bus had come from, passed a pedestrian street and came to Las Ramblas (saw the little sign 'Ramblas')
Went down the right side of ramblas (traffic goes down this side, up the opposite side), past the Burger King, past a little street on right and then turned up the second street on right (with a pharmicie on the corner).
Continued up this narrow old town-like street, it widened out to accomodate a cafe with it's outside table and chairs, narrows again -and there on your left - Casa Camper.
The entire walk - about 10 mins maximum from the bus stop.
The area is very beautiful and feels totally safe, plenty of eateries all around, lots of choice, well done to Casa Camper in it's unique style and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peteram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 519 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#20 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#5 of 519 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#9 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona

Property: Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Address: Carrer Elisabets 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#1 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,955 - ₹ 20,014
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Camper Barcelona
Barcelona Casa Camper Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing