We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sivalls
San Francisco, California

Rooftop snacks with pool bar.

Review of Hotel 1898
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
Excellent rooftop restaurant & bar with a pool. Rooms have very comfortable beds and large bathrooms. Room service selection is limited, but coffee is good. Lower rooms can feel vibration from Metro underground. Pool in basement requires a reservation. Perfect location for Gothic area and great restaurants.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Igor Rodriguez, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Sivalls,

Thank you for your detailed and positive review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our excellent rooftop restaurant and bar with a pool. It’s great to know that you found our beds very comfortable and our bathrooms spacious.

Your kind words about our perfect location for the Gothic area and great restaurants are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel 1898 in the future.

Sincerely,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₹24,036
  • Expedia.com
    ₹25,159
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹20,570
  • Hotels.com
    ₹25,159
0.6 km from Hotel 1898
Pool
Room service
₹16,613
  • Expedia.com
    ₹17,325
  • Vio.com
    ₹14,383
  • Priceline
    ₹17,348
0.8 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
Pool
₹13,048
  • Expedia.com
    ₹14,441
  • Vio.com
    ₹11,697
  • Priceline
    ₹12,703
1.9 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
Pool
₹12,849
  • Expedia.com
    ₹15,280
  • Vio.com
    ₹11,378
  • Priceline
    ₹13,468
0.7 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
₹13,919
  • Booking.com
    ₹13,931
  • StayForLong
    ₹13,239
  • Expedia.com
    ₹13,912
2.2 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
Pool
₹10,143
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₹9,519
  • Vio.com
    ₹8,483
  • Priceline
    ₹10,713
3.1 km from Hotel 1898
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
₹13,884
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    ₹14,610
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹11,731
  • Booking.com
    ₹13,249
7.8 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
Pool
Salón
₹10,683
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,299
  • Agoda.com
    ₹9,715
  • Vio.com
    ₹12,263
1.8 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
₹37,336
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹37,253
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹32,992
  • Hotels.com
    ₹37,253
0.5 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
Pool
₹41,109
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₹37,180
  • Expedia.com
    ₹41,145
  • Priceline
    ₹37,180
0.2 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Barcelona
Reviews (6,713)
Filter reviews
6,713 results
Traveller rating
5,181
1,153
217
86
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,181
1,153
217
86
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la rambla rooftop pool basement spa classic room superior room steam room tapas perfect location side street street noise gothic quarter the heart of the city visiting barcelona ramblas robes cruise spain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 6,713 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location . Hotel was nice beds were comfortable .but the overwhelming smell of perfumed essential oils in the lobby was very unpleasant, the wifi was virtually non existent.lifts and hallways very stuffy . Great to have taxis at door .

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Team, Otros at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Terri b,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location, found the hotel nice, and the beds comfortable. It's also good to know that you appreciated the convenience of having taxis readily available at our door.

We regret that the scent of the essential oils in the lobby and the stuffiness in the lifts and hallways were not to your liking. Your comments regarding the WiFi connectivity are also noted. We are continually working to improve our services and facilities, and your feedback is invaluable in this process.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide a more pleasant experience in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely a beautiful, clean, friendly hotel where they treat their guests very very nicely! The breakfast in the morning was tasty, bountiful and so many choices. The rooftop bar had killer views, good drinks and lovely tapas! Each room was given a bottle of Cava on the last night! Excellent location to everything.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank odumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Team, Otros at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Odumbo,

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you found our hotel beautiful, clean, and friendly. It is wonderful to know that our team made you feel very well-treated during your stay.

We are glad you enjoyed our tasty and plentiful breakfast, as well as the breathtaking views and delightful offerings at our rooftop bar. It is also great to hear that you appreciated the bottle of Cava on your last night. Our central location is indeed a significant advantage, and we are happy you found it convenient for your plans.

Your kind words are highly motivating for our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2024

Located on La Rambla, it definitely is in a touristy part of town. However, the entrance is on a side street, so the rooms are quiet. Great location, across from the Meridien hotel. Rooms had black walls, white ceiling, not huge, but big enough to be comfortable. Good a/c although we needed the front desk to help us as there is a trick to keeping it turned on. Big bathroom with one sink, rainshower and handshower that had terrific water pressure, also a bidet. People spoke English easily and readily, although I would not say anyone was particularly friendly or helpful. For example, no one met us at the door of offered to assist with luggage either checking in or out. Didn't eat any meals at the hotel, so can't comment on the food. Biggest problem was their Wi Fi - no matter what we did, or how many times we called the front desk, we couldn't get it to work properly. And, we had all new devices, so it wasn't a hardware problem. They do need to get that fixed as soon as possible!

Room tip: Dont bother getting a room with a step-out terrace: literally, there is room to stand on it and look out, no place to sit.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kipellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Igor Rodriguez, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2024

Dear Kip A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback about your recent stay at Hotel 1898. We appreciate your honest review and are glad to hear that you found our location convenient and our rooms comfortable.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the quietness of our rooms despite our central location on La Rambla, and that the air conditioning and bathroom facilities met your expectations.

However, we are sorry to hear that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the issues you experienced with the Wi-Fi and for any inconvenience it caused. Rest assured, we are addressing this matter to ensure it does not happen again.

We also regret that our staff did not make a more positive impression and that you felt our service could be improved. Your feedback is invaluable, and we will use it to enhance our guest experience.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a more seamless experience in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2024

This is an impressive hotel just off Las Ramblas. Close to the metro for efficient getting about
Elegant lobby..efficient check in. We were in a classic double and were upgraded to an outer room which has window.I think there are internal rooms without. The bed is bigger than King....is it Queen? So comfy..so big.. Best hotel bed I have ever had.
The room is immaculate; spacious. Elegant bathroom completely equipped again spacious.
Breakfast...lovely..continental with a small choice of hot egg and bacon. You can order more hot options. The rest is amazing...cheese ..fruit. meat..omg little chocolate treats.
We made good use of roof top bar. Panoramic view and again elegant..
Shout out to Hector who was just lovely and found us an excellent wine

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBarron01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Igor Rodriguez, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2024

Dear Sue,

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Hotel 1898 and found our location convenient for exploring Barcelona.

We appreciate your kind words about our elegant lobby and efficient check-in process. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the comfort of your upgraded room and found the bed to be exceptionally comfortable. We take pride in offering spacious and immaculate rooms with well-equipped bathrooms to ensure our guests have a relaxing stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast selection and made good use of the rooftop bar with its panoramic views. Your shout out to Hector is much appreciated; we will be sure to pass along your compliments to him.

Thank you once again for your detailed and positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel 1898 on your next visit to Barcelona.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2024

We’ll remember how people made us feel. The staff was experienced in hotel management. They were so helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel was superb! While the staff did check us in early, the room they gave us was just below the rooftop bar/pool which was really noisy. The staff person said it was a quiet room, not! It was nice. We used the spa pool facilities which were amazing. We’d come back and recommend to stay here.

Room tip: Make sure your room isn’t under the rooftop pool/bar, it’s noisy. Use the spa facilities included with your stay 👍🏻
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vittoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Team, Otros at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2024

Dear Vittoria G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are delighted to hear that your first visit to Barcelona was memorable and that our staff contributed positively to your stay.

Our team takes great pride in providing helpful and friendly service, and it's wonderful to know that you appreciated their efforts. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our superb location and the spa pool facilities.

However, I apologize for the noise issue you experienced with the room situated below the rooftop bar/pool. We understand how important a quiet room is for a comfortable stay, and we regret that this impacted your experience. We will review our room allocation procedures to better ensure that such situations are avoided in the future.

Thank you for your understanding and for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Barcelona.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews