We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
coventryuk
coventry

Excellent hotel but make sure you have a lot of money

Review of Hotel 1898
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jan 2010
Excellent location in the heart of Barcelona
very expensive, small bottle of Coca-Cola €15, vodka and Coke €25.
The restaurant is very expensive, we were the only two people in there, food was okay and would not recommend.
We had the room with the private swimming pool which was great for the kids but was overlooked by other bedrooms (€1,500 per night).
Maximum two people in each room which was a problem because we had two children and no interconnecting rooms.
The room service is very poor.... in fact there is no room service!! I phone down to reception for some drinks to be brought up only to be told that we had to go down and collect!!
I had problems with exchanging money at the reception, one day they gave me exchange £ to Euro, next day they said, we do not do exchange at this hotel!! after speaking to the manager and explaining to him that they exchanged it yesterday he agreed to exchange more, but he was not happy!!

The hotel swimming pools and spa are excellent and would recommend them.
In fact this hotel is a beautiful hotel and I cannot wait to return to it.
Date of stay: August 2009
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹25,186
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹26,865
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹23,580
  • Hotels.com
    ₹26,867
0.6 km from Hotel 1898
Pool
Room service
₹17,329
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹17,294
  • Vio.com
    ₹14,351
  • Hotels.com
    ₹17,295
0.8 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
Pool
₹13,746
  • Expedia.com
    ₹14,379
  • Agoda.com
    ₹12,100
  • Hotels.com
    ₹14,380
1.9 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
Pool
₹14,156
  • Expedia.com
    ₹16,855
  • Vio.com
    ₹12,641
  • Hotels.com
    ₹16,839
0.7 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
₹14,297
  • Booking.com
    ₹14,326
  • StayForLong
    ₹13,657
  • Expedia.com
    ₹14,300
2.2 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
Pool
₹9,874
  • Expedia.com
    ₹10,678
  • Vio.com
    ₹8,509
  • Hotels.com
    ₹10,680
3.1 km from Hotel 1898
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
₹12,907
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₹14,314
  • StayForLong
    ₹11,817
  • Hotels.com
    ₹14,320
7.8 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
Pool
Salón
₹17,396
  • Expedia.com
    ₹13,471
  • Agoda.com
    ₹10,706
  • Hotels.com
    ₹18,069
1.8 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
₹37,293
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹37,205
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹32,976
  • Hotels.com
    ₹37,220
0.5 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
Pool
₹36,062
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₹36,063
  • Booking.com
    ₹32,620
  • Priceline
    ₹32,620
0.2 km from Hotel 1898
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Barcelona
Reviews (6,713)
Filter reviews
6,713 results
Traveller rating
5,181
1,153
217
86
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,181
1,153
217
86
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la rambla rooftop pool basement spa classic room superior room steam room tapas perfect location side street street noise gothic quarter the heart of the city visiting barcelona ramblas robes cruise spain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,325 - 4,330 of 6,713 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Just returned from a 3 night trip to Barcelona, staying at Hotel 1898. It met all expectations, the staff were really friendly and helpful and the Spa facilities were well worth it. Thoroughly recommend to anyone who's looking for a nicer than average hotel.

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oaken_grove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2010

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Lovely staff, great rooms, fantastic location and the heated swimming pool was great fun in the winter fun and winter rain! We didn't get breakfast included in our booking but did have it one day and loved it. If and when we go back to Barcelona we will be booking this hotel again.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holidayfamily_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I would recommend this hotel for location to the sights, the ramblas, shopping, and to the water. The roof top bar and pool is superb in the day and the view in the evening superb. Our room was ready early and the front desk staff let us check in early they were very pleasant and helpful. The room was lovely, beautiful bathroom. The room had tea and coffee making facilities. The only negative is they dont tell you that only one lift will take you to the pool deck, I had to help a lady in a wheelchair get out of one lift into the other, so she could find her family waiting for her. I would suggest this instructions are given at time of check in, othewise lovely hotel.

Date of stay: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie88Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Cozy, clean and contemporary. Every floor has pictures of the Philippines. Very convenient and right in the heart of La Ramblas. Starbucks is just right down the lobby which is very crucial to us. Very nice lobby and security staff are everywhere. There's free Wi-Fi too...

Date of stay: August 2009
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We took a group of 15 close friends to Barcelona to celebrate New Year's. We ended up selecting Hotel 1898 over The Meridien based on the decor and traveler reviews (they are across the street from each other and right on Las Ramblas). The proximity to The Boqueria was the clincher over Hotel Omm (a trendier option if thats what you are looking for). We had two of our best meals in the Boqueria (one breakfast and one lunch) and were psyched to be only 2 blocks from it. Contrary to many of the reviews on this site, I did not hear ANY noise from our room at night and we slept soundly. The rooms were clean (housekeeping does a great job maintaining the property), roomy and the bathroom was nice (granite, towl heater, badet, etc). We highly recommend upgrading to a deluxe room for the 100+ sq ft terrace. We also found the concierge to be very helpful in assisting us with our New Year's plans before we arrived and we also asked them to make a dinner reccomendation for us that turned out to be surprisingly good (El Pintor) though a little pricey for what it was (to be expected in a touristy area). The hotel is a few blocks from notable sightseeing including the Gothic Quarter, Picasso musuem and stops for both the red and blue line buses (see below). The only negatives were the lack of irons in the rooms (though we never really needed them) and our king bed which was actually two twins put togther but not connected (if you toss and turn they will move apart since the floors are hardwood). We didnt have time to test out the Spa or the restaurant on premisis. For context, this is a good 4 star property. Some other things to note:

- Use the red and blue line buses to see the city. You can hop on and off at any of the stops and they go everywhere for just 21 euros a person.
-Eat breakfast at the Boqueria. The tapas counter right at the entrance has amazing omelets, chick peas and churros.
-Get to the Sagrada Familia early or you will end up in a 3hr+ line to get inside.
-A number of the highly rated restaurants we wanted to try were closed for the holiday through Jan 4th.
-Take taxis late night... we had a couple in our group get mugged on their way to the Metro a few blocks outside of Club Shoko. This can happen in any city but given the 20% unemployment, pickpocketing is prob on the rise.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DondeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews