We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, service, and quality”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #27 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Celebrating my honeymoon across Spain, my wife and I stayed at Hotel 1898 while in Barcelona. After staying in decent hotels in Madrid and San Sebastian, this hotel far outperformed our expectations.

The hotel is in a perfect location for a tourist to see everything that is happening, with most of the major attractions within walking distance. The hotel lobby and our room was amazing, with all of the details we could imagine. And the roof top deck and pool was fun to catch our breath from the active city below.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona as a tourist.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,545)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 1898
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,156 - 2,160 of 4,549 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

What a lovely clean stylish hotel. The staff were very helpful and polite. Our room was a twin which was very comfortable but lacked natural daylight. There was a small door in the corner of the room overlooking a closed in courtyard area but one of the beds was pushed up against it so we didn't get much natural light or fresh air. There was however air con in the bedroom which was a tad noisey at night but nothing too painful. The robes and slippers was a nice touch in the bathroom along with the daily assortment of shampoo, bubble bath and anything that you could possibly need. We had a huge flatscreen TV but sadly as we've experienced before very few english speaking channels, why is that? We organised our own taxi on arrival and departure as the hotel was charging rather a lot. It was €28 each way plus a tip, the hotel charged €100 each way. The taxi rank was easy walking distance from the hotel so not too far to drag the cases. We had their breakfast only once as it was €25 each on the roof terrace but it was a great experience. More food than you could possibly eat with views to die for and as much sparkling carva as you fancied!! Its pricey here but for a one off and a treat it was worth it.

Room Tip: Our room faced out towards the middle of the hotel with no real view however I would imagine the fro...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex4994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This hotel is amazing. The service is excellent, the room extremely comfortable, the ambience second to none and it's in the perfect location in the heart of La Rambla. If you don't mind spening a little extra for your comfort, this hotel is for you. The breakfast buffet is also excellent so too the rooftop pool and indoor pool and spa. I would definitely stay here again and recomend it to any one who would like a relaxing and comfortable stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiorgosMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to Barcelona and it will not be our last. The same goes for our most enjoyable stay at the Hotel 1898. We splurged on a room with a terrace but we looked into the other rooms and found them to be equally well appointed and attractive. The hotel is in an ideal location on Las Ramblas. Some friends who had been to Barcelona before warned that being right on the main street would be too noisy but it was not so at all. The hotel has a fantastic roof top terrace with a pool and options from breakfast through post-dinner drinks. It was very romantic on a moonlit evening. All of the major sights are within walking distance or a short Metro ride. The Catalunya stop that is the crossroads of the Metro system is just up the street. Do not miss the covered market just down the street, the best we have seen anywhere, not just in Europe. The hotel's design features are an added plus. The breakfast that was included with the room rate was extensive and regularly refreshed. We have nothing but high praise for this hotel and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stepped into the hotel from our taxi and I thought "yes, this looks the business." Wife had booked it and she was very proud of her choice. Things started to go wrong when we (finally, there was a queue) reached reception. The receptionist had a most superior and snotty attitude, evidently she had decided we were not quite the hotel's level. We reached our room and found it extremely small. It was clean and tidy, but our window overlooked a back alley. We ventured out and after waiting approximately 15 minutes for the one lift that goes to the roof, finally got up to the top floor and roof terrace. Naturally there was no-where to sit, so we kind of "hung around" the bar until somewhere suitable materialised. The many many bar staff studiously ignored us during our uncomfortably hot 10 minute "hang around". We paid an eye watering £5.40 for a half pint of draught Heineken (how up market!!) and left. The location is good, but if you go to bed before midnight then expect to be kept awake until 2 or 3am with late night revellers. The walls are truly microscopically thin and the rooms are, as a result, very noisy at night and morning. Generally think the hotel thinks itself far better than it actually is and the staff are complicit in the deceit.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room that doesn't overlook a dark back alley.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Frank,

We would like to apologize for the bad impression you had from our staff. It is not our normal procedure. We take note of your opinion to improve our service.

Also, we would like to apologize for the experience you mention up on the terrace. We kindly inform you that the Terrace is open to the public but our guest do always have priority. So we do have some tables booked always for the possible guests in house. Also, the rates of the terrace are not only for the drink, but also for the place, the maintenance and other.

We thank your time on TA sharing with us your opinion so we take note of it and will do our best to improve.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#19 of 513 in Barcelona
882 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#20 of 513 in Barcelona
2,070 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
732 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 13,579 - ₹ 29,780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing