We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rate!”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #28 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top rate!”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Myself and my husband recently stayed in Hotel 1898 for a long weekend and we would both agree that it was first class!

We were upgraded on our arrival to a superior room and although the room was quite small it was spotlessly clean and bright. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was good and spacious. We are a young couple and we appreciated the quietness and our room was looking out over the backcourt.

Breakfast was a treat. On our first morning we had our breakfast on the rooftop. Great views of the city.

I would agree that this hotel is on the upper scale of the market price wise but the location, right slap in the heart of La Rambla, the hotel, the staff could not have been more helpful. We dined on two occassions in the Isabella Restuarant and the staff were very courteous and helped up pick out different tapas from the menu.

One thing I would add is when booking be very clear if your breakfast is included in the price. We thought it was. However we were on a special break and although €25 for breakfast is steep we thought why not!

Our stay was very enjoyable and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and if we ever get the chance to go back to Barcelona this is where we will stay....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,315
    893
    150
    55
    51
See reviews for
593
2,695
124
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
athens
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

this was one of the best experiences i had in a hotel. music between rooms, amazing spa, nice atmosphere.
However, they dont have a nice bar area and the street they are located at is quite busy and a little touristy. Nonetheless, me and my girlfriend loved it !!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stelsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

In the midst of the La Rambla? Why yes.

In fact it is right smack in the middle of the La Rambla, only a few steps away from the La Boqueria. The location is not the only great thing about this hotel. The hotel exists within the old Phillipines Tobacco Company, adding to the great character of the property. The main lobby area is swankily decorated in rich tones of black, white, and chocolate. Several leather sofas dot the lobby, surrounding massive coffee tables where you can sit, relax, and soak up the ambiance. There is a little water bar area as well where you can grab a goblet, a slice of lime and top it off with some mineral water.

The reception desk staff are warm and welcoming. Very helpful when we asked for help or directions. The room we stayed in faced the courtyard. Not much of a view, but it served a greater purpose. I'm not sure why a previous reviewer said the courtyard rooms were noisy because we felt that we had a very restful sleep because the courtyard was isolated and dead silent.

The beds were unbelievably comfortable and soft. All lighting in the room was controlled by a panel near the door. You have a choice of the following lighting settings: "Welcome" (very bright and cheerful), "Normal" (slightly dimmer), "TV" (for watching movies I guess), "Night" (So you can do dirty deeds in a dim room), and "Off". The rooms were superbly furnished in a type of "modern decor meets sophisticated GQ cover model" kind of style. It was gorgeous, but as we were two girls traveling together we giggled over the thought that this type of decor was better reserved for some sort of rich playboy who wears a cravat, drinks vintage scotch, and uses just the *perfect* amount of styling product in his hair.

We slept in, so we missed breakfast. Instead we opted for take-away cups of sangria at the take-out window on the La Rambla, and some random bites of tapas. This became a morning ritual.

The spa/fitness center/pool area was spectacular. Swimming in a converted cellar is really neat.

Overall, a great stay! Remember to bring an audio in/out cable if you want to play your ipod. The clock/radio doesn't have a dock, but it does have an "aux in" jack in the back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcgal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and can only rave about it. We had a deluxe room on the 5th floor with a private terrace. We did not face Las Ramblas. Our room and terrace were very comfortable and quiet. We were amazed at how exceptionally clean the hotel was - the maids worked all the time. There was a roof top terrace with beautiful views of the city. We didn't eat at the hotel so I comment on that. We were impressed that we were right in the middle of things on Las Ramblas and yet could still enjoy peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Choose one away from the bell tower and not right on Las Ramblas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovemyAcura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Great hotel, loved the rooftop pool and sofa style lounge / pool area.
The front desk staff (especially Monika)were very helpful with booking a walking tour of Gaudi's works it was great.
Good location walked everywhere .. Took taxi one night to El Nou Romanet, great seafood restaurant...our server Jocelyn was excellent!
The pool in the spa area / workout room was very relaxing and a perfect temperature.
There was some noise but hey it's in a city.. And the bed was fabulous
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skbinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#40 of 512 in Barcelona
4,421 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 512 in Barcelona
863 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#13 of 512 in Barcelona
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,180 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,283 - ₹ 27,814
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing