We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect hotel for the perfect weekend.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #21 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for the perfect weekend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at the Hotel 1898 for two nights and it was genuinely the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff couldn't have been more helpful before (when I emailed regarding restaurant recommendations) and during our stay. The hotel itself is perfect - the rooftop terrace is reason alone to go. The room was immaculate and the bed absolutely divine...you even get a pillow menu! Anyone complaining of noise should reconsider staying on La Rambla - the location is once again perfect. We will absolutely be going back and would recommend the Hotel 1898 to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonGriffiths83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,024
    829
    140
    50
    47
See reviews for
543
2,468
113
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

It was my fourth time in Barcelona and we stayed here for five night end of April. Based on previous reviews my expectations was really high and I was not disappointed! Great ambience, nice staff, amazing (and huge) roof top terasse with pool, nice indoor pool and nicely decorated rooms. Also, the location of course.....if you are a tourist - it's a good location on the rambla near the subway and the old town.

The only drawbacks was that the spa didn't seem to live up to the rest of the hotel standard when it comes to administration. We tried to book a massage three days ahead and they claimed to be fully booked?! Really weird! We had a standard room and the view from the window wasn't all that but I don't think anybody spend to much time in their room anyway. It would have given the room some natural light though, it was a bit on the dark side. Also the gym was pretty small, but I repeat - I don't think anybody spend too much time here either.

The breakfast was expensive, as always, but good. It was not included in our room rate though so we preferred to go to the café/bar next door instead.

Anyway, next time I would go back to this hotel - but I would book a superior room - perhaps not for the view but for the light!

Room Tip: Standard room has no view and on the lower floors they are a bit dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M1lla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Was here for 3 nights together with some colleagues . Amazing location, great rooftop pool. Also had good drinks and good food. Only minus as that pool closed at 21:00 and that drinks were rather expensive.

Nice rooms, fresh. Loved the beds.

Great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York CIty
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We Loved our stay at the Hotel 1898. Although it is right in the middle of the frenetic activity on La Rambla, all of that vanishes once you step inside the serene lobby. We also greatly enjoyed the rooftop lounge for tapas and drinks after a day of sightseeing. The hotel was also surprisingly convenient as a base to explore the city. It is right across from the Barri Gotic, but other areas such as the Born, Barceloneta, Gracia and Eixample were a reasonable walk away. Even La Sagrada Familia, which looks a bit far on the map, was not too far to walk to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I would not hesitate to stay here again. It is an ultramodern upscale facility in a perfect location. Right now we are hanging out on the gorgeous roof deck while a protest rages below. While we are a bit disappointing that our vacation is being disrupted the hotel is a lovely place to take refuge. A bit pricey but worth every penny.

Room Tip: in our room 635 we could hear a bit of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmlJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#18 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#4 of 519 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#7 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 519 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#35 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,814 - ₹ 24,284
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing