We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #23 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

It was my fourth time in Barcelona and we stayed here for five night end of April. Based on previous reviews my expectations was really high and I was not disappointed! Great ambience, nice staff, amazing (and huge) roof top terasse with pool, nice indoor pool and nicely decorated rooms. Also, the location of course.....if you are a tourist - it's a good location on the rambla near the subway and the old town.

The only drawbacks was that the spa didn't seem to live up to the rest of the hotel standard when it comes to administration. We tried to book a massage three days ahead and they claimed to be fully booked?! Really weird! We had a standard room and the view from the window wasn't all that but I don't think anybody spend to much time in their room anyway. It would have given the room some natural light though, it was a bit on the dark side. Also the gym was pretty small, but I repeat - I don't think anybody spend too much time here either.

The breakfast was expensive, as always, but good. It was not included in our room rate though so we preferred to go to the café/bar next door instead.

Anyway, next time I would go back to this hotel - but I would book a superior room - perhaps not for the view but for the light!

Room Tip: Standard room has no view and on the lower floors they are a bit dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M1lla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,149
    857
    143
    52
    48
See reviews for
560
2,565
116
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Was here for 3 nights together with some colleagues . Amazing location, great rooftop pool. Also had good drinks and good food. Only minus as that pool closed at 21:00 and that drinks were rather expensive.

Nice rooms, fresh. Loved the beds.

Great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York CIty
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We Loved our stay at the Hotel 1898. Although it is right in the middle of the frenetic activity on La Rambla, all of that vanishes once you step inside the serene lobby. We also greatly enjoyed the rooftop lounge for tapas and drinks after a day of sightseeing. The hotel was also surprisingly convenient as a base to explore the city. It is right across from the Barri Gotic, but other areas such as the Born, Barceloneta, Gracia and Eixample were a reasonable walk away. Even La Sagrada Familia, which looks a bit far on the map, was not too far to walk to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I would not hesitate to stay here again. It is an ultramodern upscale facility in a perfect location. Right now we are hanging out on the gorgeous roof deck while a protest rages below. While we are a bit disappointing that our vacation is being disrupted the hotel is a lovely place to take refuge. A bit pricey but worth every penny.

Room Tip: in our room 635 we could hear a bit of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmlJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

If you're looking for an hotel on the Rambla in the centre of Barcelona, convenient to the airport bus stop & the ever open tourist office in the Placa Catalunya just 250 metres away, close to Metro and bus links generally, then the 1898 cannot be bettered. Criticism that the hotel isn't quiet is unfair, given the noise from the Rambla below my balcony, the proximity of the metro rail running almost beneath the building & the neighbouring church bell, the hotel is a relative haven of peace within an almost frantically busy city and everything possible has been done to isolate visitors from the external distractions. Walking into this neo-colonial haven resplendent with wood floors, tasteful & expensive furnishing and large model trading ships, sea charts on the walls and large monochrome photographic murals, rooms with vast comfortable beds, quality bedding & dark green marble bathrooms; the guest is encouraged to rest & relax; sunglasses so essential outside can certainly be discarded. It's astounding that this is a four star hotel, albeit a prestige or premium grade, given the added politeness, quality and language expertise of all staff I encountered, so much effort is made at every level to please the client that it surely merits a five star crown in due course. Certainly the facilities, the rooftop terraces, pool & bar, sunlounge areas & seating are astounding, matching even the finest penthouse standard, with breakfast optional on the roof for a mere ten euros extra. Yet it was hard to resist using the calming restaurant area in the morning, overlooking the Rambla; breakfast facilities are generous & expansive with guests from all parts of the world being able to secure a satisfactory start to the day. For those who wish to snack quickly, or guests who like to gorge on many courses, there's no hurry for breakfast & staff are continually attentive & efficient and although breakfast is twenty-five euros, I had a deal whereby breakfast was included, either way it's generous, freshly prepared & diverse. The subterranean spa & pool area is quiet, well laid out, more than suitable for guests to relax in peace or to enjoy the facilities, the gymnasium, adding to the general tranquility & exclusivity of the atmosphere. The free wi-fi & computer access is impressive as most hotels are only too pleased to charge heavily for the privilege & it's evident that there are impressive conference facilities afforded to the business user. The bathroom is impressively stocked with toiletries, robes, free carpet slippers, grooming items & the room well provisioned with an impressive wooden box of notepaper and stationery, tea & coffee making facilities, quality bottled water, one has the distinct impression that everything conceivable is afforded to the guest without the usual extra charges attatched to so many quality hotel visits. Although the 1898 is not inexpensive, it offers amazing value for money where so much is on offer at no additional charge and when it's not fully booked, as it often is & deserves so to be, there are some great offers to be realised. My own experience of a superior room with balcony oevrlooking the Rambla added greatly to the quality of my visit; I was so impressed I attempted to book another night or two but there were no vacancies. Having stayed in some of the best hotels around the world, from New York most recently to Hanoi, Singapore and Paris, amongst other places, here in Barcelona is an hotel where it's genuinely difficult to find criticism & where you can find peace, friendly intelligent & multi-lingual staff, genuine professional courtesy & respect for guests at every level. The tasteful treatment of the historic building is a credit to the hotel management & will best suit the guest whose idea of a good hotel is far removed from concrete and glass and vast impersonal global corporate ugliness. Enjoy, I did.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Rambla will be quieter, though it's no fault of the hotel that the Rambla ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Martin_Mather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#7 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#8 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,983 - ₹ 26,553
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing