We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #30 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

As someone who travels very frequently and has covered a huge expanse of the globe. I have to admit I've stayed in better more reasonable 5* hotels which included a breakfast. The location could not have been bettered for which it was chosen, directly on Las Ramblas but for what was offered the room rate did not befit the experience. I attempted to book H1898 directly many weeks ago but it was full, I eventually acquired a booking through a booking agent. a week before arrival H1898 produced a special 'Summer' deal which included breakfast, dinner, a drink and some other benefits, on contacting them directly and registering my disappointment I asked that as perhaps a good guest relation exercise they could include breakfast, they said they were unable to do this and would not hear of it, but we were promised a wonderful stay with wonderful service, but in all truthfulness this never happened.
The hotel itself was clean and the decor was befitting of the building. We booked a 'superior' room which was quite small and came with a balcony. I have to say I hate bathrooms where the shower is in the bath. The beds and bedding were of nice quality and very comfortable. Some of the woodwork needed touching up as there were several chips and knocks.
The best part of the hotel and stay was the rooftop terrace with a heated pool, bar and selection of comfy chairs and loungers along with fabulous views.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Prestigia
1  Thank efembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,427 - 2,431 of 4,656 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here in August 2011 for five nights and loved it!

It is close to Placa de Cataluna - which is very handy for tourists as this is where the tourism branch has an office.

Lovely rooms, great atmosphere, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Aircon was impressive in the middle of the Catalan summer and the staff were very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishmash79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed in Hotel 1898 in March one night only, but would come back again. Great location, room, spa, and amazing breakfast !!!!! I found a great deal £150 on one website that include breakfast in price and price was by far best, we stayed Wednsday to Thursday. Drink in hotel bar is not inexpensive but nice to have one(Guiness was 9 or 11 euro).
All staff are helpfull. My opinion that its not a big difference in what you get if you book more expensive room unless you go for the one that have a terrace , i have checked with reception at choice of hotel room option and from the plan i saw.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topkat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

we stayed at hotel 1898 for four nights in april 2012 and have to say its the best hotel we have stayed in.we couldnt find any faults, hotel very clean, staff so friendly and helpful, spa very relaxing, roof top bar has got great views but can get quite windy. we didnt have breakfast at the hotel so cant comment on that as we went next door to star bucks for a light snack. (not big breakfast eaters!) our room was lovely! we booked a double room and was really pleased with it, lovely and clean! bed very comfortable!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leah82-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed there tuesday 17th April and the first thing that struck me was very dark and quiet, Room was lovely, aircom quiet, tv changed languages(free), lights had various settings and extras in bathroom and robes made it executive style, €215 included breakfast, buffet stlye but verything, staff couldnt do enough for you and would stay again. Prices in bar high though otherwise would get 5 rating, check out spa(free) if you go, pool very relaxing, roof top pool bit windy though

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Muggins69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 516 in Barcelona
2,176 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#18 of 516 in Barcelona
2,348 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 516 in Barcelona
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 516 in Barcelona
957 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 516 in Barcelona
906 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 516 in Barcelona
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 9,491 - ₹ 23,234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing