We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a short trip - business or pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
Ranked #130 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Prangins, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a short trip - business or pleasure”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed two nights at the Amister in November 2011 for a conference. The rooms are modern, bathrooms are a good standard, all was clean and tidy. Note that there are no irons in the room. It is a short walk from the main train station where you can get shuttles to the airport. This is not the heart of Barcelona but the Arena shopping center is not far, nor is the Placa d'Espanya. Placa de Catalunya is a bit further - maybe 20 minutes by foot.

Breakfast buffet was quite good - selection of meats and cheeses, breads, fruit, etc. Most people should be quite satisfied here.

Large conference room in lower level is not ideal - no windows and two poorly-placed pillars make it awkward. But if you are not using this facility and only need a hotel as base for tourism or business, this is a fine choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toltriaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    396
    81
    20
    14
See reviews for
201
405
21
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We travelled to Barcelona in Oct half term for a week long break as a family of 3. We booked a superior family room at this hotel. We stayed for 8 days. The hotel was very clean. It was within a 10 minute walk of the nearest Metro Stop - Hospital-Clinic. We had the breakfast for 5 days of our stay which cost 30 Euros per day for the family. The breakfast was of a decent standard and we found it helped set us up for the day as it meant we were not wandering around trying to decide where to go for breakfast. (We had enough of that at lunch and dinner) The hotel is only 3 stops on the metro (with 1 change) from the Place de Catalunya and the heart of the city. We went to the Camp Nou twice and got a taxi back to the hotel after both games. Taxi cost 10 Euros first time and 7 Euros the second so very reasonable. We left the hotel at 5am in the morning for an early morning flight and the taxi transfer cost 35 Euros. All in all - this hotel is ideal for a break in Barcelona, not in the heart of the city but do not listen to reviews that say it is to far from the metro - it is at best a 10 minute walk there and we would often get a metro back and then have a drink and a coffee in one of the cafes, bars in the local vicinity which were far cheaper than in the city centre. Whilst in Barcelona if you are looking for a fun way to see the city have a go at a bike tour of the city run by this company. http://fattirebiketours.com/

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pabloibea, Manager at Sercotel Amister Art Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thanks for your cooperation, I´m the manager but only represent all the people working for.
Ths is time to know who is who in Barcelona, whit your cooperation win Amister and all Barcelona.

Best regards .

Amister Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, PA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We booked one night at the Amister (based on Trip Advisor reviews) on our return from a 12 day Med. cruise. We arrived early (9AM) and had to wait for our room, but the clerk at the front desk gave us a laptop to use while we waited, and we were thrilled to be connected to (free) email again. Then we walked about 5 blocks to the Metro and visited our friends at El Meson near the Sagrada Familia. . . wonderful little bar/restaurant. Tony and Anna and son, Albert, hosted us royally. By the time we returned to the Amister, our room was ready, and they gave us the only balcony room in the hotel, overlooking the street/plaza. A wonderful, large room, especially since we had just done 12 days in an interior cruise ship stateroom. The front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful. . . we applaud them and this hotel. We requested ice and it arrived within 4 minutes. . . amazing! There's a little sidewalk cafe to the left out of the front doors, just within the block, and the waiter spoke enough English that we had a pleasant evening meal. . . not fine dining, but certainly adequate.
We would recommend this hotel highly to everyone.

Room Tip: The balcony room was nice, expecially if you smoke. They do have smoking rooms, though, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grammy117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This is a good hotel half way between the Ramblas and La Espanya. It is a very reasonable hotel with good quality bed and service. We did not have the breakfast as it was fairly expensive and there are other places close by to go.

Although it is not right in the centre of everything it does mean that it is slightly more relaxed around the area. There is a 5-10minute walk to the metro which sometimes was a bit tiring but not too bad.

Overall a very good hotel in a reasonable location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaGo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

First of all, it is not easy to find a good hotel, in a good location, not extremely expensive in Barcelona.
We went for 4 nights in May to Amister and overall we liked. A major concern is the location though, it is far from everything, metro station included, and all the sightseeing.
I booked this one following the reviews and I think the overall judgement on Amister is correct, it is good, new, nicely furnished.
For breakfast, there are a lot of good and inexpensive options around, never tried the hotel one. For dinner, the situation is more complicated - we were advised by the hotel staff of some restaurant not far call Mediterranean or something like that. Please don't go, they pretend to be upscale, they say "oh, you don't have a reservation? Oh, let me see, what we can do..." while the restaurant is empty...Expensive also and food not great.

So no concerns on facilities or rooms, the hotel is new.

Again my main concern is the distance from everything. I understand Barcelona is not a city where the things to see are all together, like Madrid, but still every morning you need to do 15 minutes walking to the metro station, and at night it is not the best walk you might want to do (and I am used to this kind of things...).

So - if you are a fancy fashionable lady not ready to walk, or your wife/girlfriend is, you better look for something else or be ready to pay for lots of cabs!

Would I go again? Yes - but first I would look for something else, even though I know it's tough.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#53 of 512 in Barcelona
3,084 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 512 in Barcelona
2,054 reviews
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 512 in Barcelona
1,398 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#91 of 512 in Barcelona
1,215 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#169 of 512 in Barcelona
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Amister Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Amister Art Hotel

Property: Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
Address: Avda. de Roma 93-95, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,085 - ₹ 18,774
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Amister Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sercotel Ámister Art Hotel is in an excellent location less than ten minutes from the centre and the conference area. That's why it's perfect for exploring Gaudí's modernist Barcelona, 'Las Ramblas', the 'Paseo de Gracia', the 'Barrio Gótico' (Gothic Quarter) or the most cosmopolitan part and the business centre of the city (also known as the 'Ciudad Condal' or 'City of Counts'). Discover the charm of this boutique 59-room hotel with free wifi internet. It's set in a classic building in the centre of Barcelona, refurbished in 2004 and where art soothes the senses. Our hotel in Barcelona is ideal for business meetings, as it has three function rooms in which to hold all types of events and celebrations. The rooms are equipped to offer every service and guarantee the success of your event in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sercotel Amister Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing