We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch yum! ”
Review of En Diagonal Bar

En Diagonal Bar
Ranked #71 of 10,951 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 47
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Quiet And Cozi Place Near Sagrada Familia. Good Food And Great Coffe. Don't Miss It !!
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

This place was amazing. I have been thinking about the chorizo and Pimientos de padron since we had them. It just really hit the spot! The waitress and cook/owner were super friendly and work great together. Love love love this place and would eat lunch every day here if my husband would let me haha.

Thank yjvargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
En_Diagonal_Bar, Propietario at En Diagonal Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su visita a En Diagonal y su valoración en Tripadvisor.
Es una satisfacción para nosotros que nuestros clientes se marchen con tan buen recuerdo y ganas de volver de nuevo.
Muchas gracias de nuevo y ..... hasta pronto !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Seems like no one knows this place exists! Had a delicious lunch and coffee. The service was friendly and fast, and given it was my first day I was happy someone spoke English

Ordered:
- mushrooms with garlic and rosemary
- Spanish omelette pincho
- patatas bravas

This was too much for 1 person, I was stuffed, and actually had to get the potatoes to go!

Total less than 11 euros for filling lunch.

Thank Twigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
En_Diagonal_Bar, Propietario at En Diagonal Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su visita a En Diagonal y su valoración en Tripadvisor.
Nos complace que nuestros clientes queden satisfechos de nuestro trato ; pero muy importante: también de nuestros platos.
En su próxima estancia en Barcelona esperamos volver a verle. Hasta pronto !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

We visited the Sagrada de Familia and wanted to eat typical Spanish Tapas. We followed the recommendations in TripAdvisor and landed here. The Tapas were so delicious (especially the mushrooms im garlic) and the staff was so friendly. They explained and recommended food to us. We had a lot to laugh! The atmosphere is not chique, but it's small and kinda old school. We would go there again :)

Thank Svenjaaa051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
En_Diagonal_Bar, Propietario at En Diagonal Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su visita y su comentario sobre nuestro establecimiento.
Celebro que quedase satisfecho de nosotros y nuestros platos.
No somos un gran restaurante de moda, y nos gusta la cocina tradicional y elaborada con cariño. Es lo que queremos transmitir a nuestros clientes; se lo merecen.
Muchas gracias de nuevo, y hasta pronto !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

The staff was nice but wow i have had worse food poisoning after a meal in my life. We had the tapas and some spanish sausage sandwiches felt okay for about two hours then my 2 roommates and I had on of the worst illness’s we’ve ever experienced. Having only one man cooking in a small kitchen was a red flag and it turned out to be a big mistake.

Thank Danny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
En_Diagonal_Bar, Propietario at En Diagonal Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018
Google Translation

Apreciado cliente: Ante todo manifestarle que siento mucho que en su visita a Barcelona haya habido algo que le ha sentado mal a usted y a sus compañeros. He visto en su perfil de Tripadvisor que ha inaugurado su cuenta con un único pésimo comentario sobre mi establecimiento. Una coincidencia lamentable. De nuevo quiero expresarle mi pesar, pero desconfío de que sus indisposiciones las hayan provocado las consumiciones en mi local. Aún siendo modestos somos MUY escrupulosos con los productos que salen de nuestra cocina, descartando cualquier elemento que no esté en unas condiciones óptimas para ser cocinadas. Así como la higiene de nuestras instalaciones que cuidamos con gran esmero continuamente. Es extraño que en el momento de comer nuestros bocadillos o tapas que dice usted que fueron los que les provocaron su enfermedad, no notasen ningún sabor ni olor desagradable fuera de lo normal debido a las malas condiciones de los alimentos. De todas formas respeto su criterio de que fuimos nosotros los responsables de su indigestión ya desconozco si es usted médico o pudo hacer en su momento algún tipo de análisis para determinar la procedencia de la intoxicación. Repito que lo siento enormemente de todos modos.
En cuanto a su apreciación de las dimensiones de la cocina no veo que pueden tener de relevantes en el asunto. Pero señor: Hace un comentario sobre mí que en estos momentos estaba trabajando en cocina, que considero que son más propios de una persona cargada de prejuicios del siglo dieciocho que una persona contemporanea del 2018 por su contenido altamente sexsista e intolerable. Imagino que usted debe pensar también del mismo modo, que una mujer no debería conducir un autobús o un taxi. Lamentable, caballero, lamentable y vergonzoso.
Y nada más señor: en el momento de entrar y verme trabajar en la cocina y sentir su "bandera roja" (ya que la cocina es abierta y se ve perfectamente desde la sala) hubiese hecho bien en marcharse y buscar otro lugar donde la cocinera fuese una mujer que encajase con sus criterios de sexo, raza y religión tan estrictos, tan fundamentales para usted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Wow! Went alone for some lunch after reading really good reviews on TripAdvisor. It was what I expected and more! The owners were really welcoming, we talked and joked my whole stay. And the food was delicious, all made right in front of you, SUPER fresh. Only in Barcelona for 5 days, but will be going to some tapas again for sure. Great job on that customer service, that's how you earn these kind of reviews! Keep it up! :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gaston C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
En_Diagonal_Bar, Propietario at En Diagonal Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su visita a En Diagonal y su tan reconfortante valoración.
Nos hace muy felices recibir estos comentarios tan halagadores. Nos animan a seguir en la misma dirección de trabajo.
Celebro que su estancia con nosotros fuese de su total satisfacción; tanto por los platos que le ofrecimos como por nuestro trato y servicio.
En su próxima estancia en Barcelona no deje de venir de nuevo a vernos: le esperaremos de nuevo con una sonrisa y nuestros mejores productos recién preparados.
Hasta pronto !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed En Diagonal Bar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to En Diagonal Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing