We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect stay for family with toddlers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #232 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay for family with toddlers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Perfect location, friendly atmosphere, comfy beds, clean rooms, nice bathtub with bubbles, delicious breakfast and very very helpful staff!
We stayed 5 nights with our 7 month old twins and enjoyed every it alot :-)
The Hotel povided us with 2 babybeds and helped us with hot water day and night ( for the baby milk).
We paid extra for balcony and bathtub and its defenitly worth it.
The kids slept early but we could sit at the balcony and drink some wine & eat tapas.
The bathtub was fun for the kids and relaxing for the parents.
We are a gay family but we would recomend this Hotel to any sort of family :-)
If we go to Barcelona again we will stay at Axel Hotel!

Room Tip: Its worth to pay extra for balcony + bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaJ_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great opinion about the staff and everything and thank you for staying with us.
It' so a big pleasure to had such a beautiful family like you here with us!
Hope to see you very soon here in Barcelona or in any axel Hotels around the world
Big kiss for the twins

kind regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    928
    695
    352
    182
    109
See reviews for
54
1,010
447
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Hotel is well located. Rooms are modern and clean. However, having paid almost €200 I did not expect to be given a disabled room on the 1st floor...not even a sign post to indicate that this room is one of 3 around an interior patio.
Bed was fine. However, entrance is a sliding door that looks onto the patio so the room is like being in a fishbowl. unless you close the curtains (and feel like you are in a cave) you get no privacy whatsoever.
Bathroom is adapted for disabled people..everything at the wrong height for an abled body person.
The receptionist girl was completely and utterly useless at addressing this issue. She showed no sympathy, said the manager was not available to talk and basically shrugged her shoulders to get rid of me.
I stayed at this hotel not long after it had opened. You now get the impression that the hotel is all about appearances and doesnt really make the effort it used to with guests. Unlikely to be back thanks to the attitude of the receptionist.

Room Tip: If booking a regular room, specifiy you do NOT want a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your opinion and thank you for staying with us.
About the room we're sorry that you dont like, some people love it for the private terrace, but we understand that those rooms are not the best of the hotel, normally we can change you of room but maybe you were here in easter week and we were fully booked

Hope that you give us a second chance.

kind regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Exclusive, but in no way disturbingly so.

Having lived in Barcelona during one year, and visited the city frequently both before and after, I think I know what to expect: Aesthetics is something you get spoiled with almost everywhere in central Barcelona. Axel Hotel is no exception. The hotel definitely meets my expectations.

The location is perfect for clubing, fine dining, shopping and promenades. If you want to walk in the more touristy neighborhoods, they are close enough. If you prefer a more up-scale setting, it's equally close. Also the old harbour and the beach is within reach by foot or by metro.

There is no reason to eat or drink at the hotel. The neighborhood is cramped with excellent restaurants and a wide variety of bars and cafés, although the basement bar's roofed out-door space tempts smokers.

The hotel's internet policy is a shame. It just has to get improved. Anything else is unimaginable.

The staff has language skills somewhat above average for a good hotel in this city. They are strikingly handsome and strikingly young. You can't really expect those youngsters to relate to your own experiences of Barcelona starting some 30 years ago. If there is one single thing I would wish to be improved (beside the Wifi), be it then a couple of experienced concierges in their 50:ies or 60:ies.

Room Tip: Barcelona is a noisy city. The hotell's windows are good and insulates against much of that, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your opinion and thank you for qualify us as a good hotel with a good service.
Hope to see you very soon in any Axel Hotels around the world
Best regards
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is perfectly located, in a quiet are at the very heart of the Eixample in Barcelona. Rooms are tiny but correct, with a decoration original but outdated. It is very clean and in the bathroom you will find all sort of amenities, including condoms.
The breaksfast is not included and it cost 15.00 EUR, which is ridiculuos, taking into account that just in front of the hotel you can have a copious breakfast for half the price in a cafeteria.
If you need to use Internet... do not go to this hotel. Free Wi Fi is advertised, but it is a joke: the signal is poor, the connection come and goes all the time, and it is completely impossible to get connected to a page.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors, with street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoMiHevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your opinion and thank you for qualify us a great hotel, with good location and good service.
About breakfast if you included before, in your reservation it cost the half, but for a open buffet with croisants, different type of muffins, cakes, different types of muffins, eggs, fruit salads, jam, ham, serrano, salmon,etc.. 15€ all included it is correct in a 4 stars hotel.
In other hand, I would like to apologize about our Wifi Connection system, you are completely right and I inform you that we are going to work with another system in a few days.
Thank you in advance.
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Axel hotel has a great location in barcelone, the staff is friendly, helpfull BUT the quality of the hotel is cheap. other detail: the wifi doesn t work so well into the hotel.
we had a sweet room at the 7th floor and it was very disappointing.
Only the terrasse is great.
there is no lounge space where you can have a drink. that s a pity.
there is only a night bar which is dark.
i dont know if we would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest,
I am so sorry if you decided to not return to our Hotel, so pity. About your opinion, let me inform you that we are changing right now our Wifi Connection, also I inform you that we are going to have a new restaurant call 3 DELUXE GASTROBAR, and also I inform you that our Skybar or terrace that you mentioned it is open from May to October.
Anyway thank you in advance for staying with us.
Borja Julia
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#81 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#145 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#87 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#72 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#119 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Hotel Grums Barcelona
#199 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Property: Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#147 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,745 - ₹ 16,134
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing