We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jazz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jazz
Ranked #35 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Had a wonderful city break in Barcelona. The hotel was a fantastic base for our break. It is near the drop off for the aerobus and Place Cataluyna / Las Ramblas.
Service was good, the room was modern and clean. Despite the location it was very quiet at night. Unfortunately, it was too cold to make use of the roof top pool.

Room Tip: The higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexSeasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,498
    1,411
    160
    25
    18
See reviews for
617
2,158
144
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great location. Easy walking distance to most attractions. The hotel was very clean and I felt very safe there. Rooms were decent size and bathrooms updated with modern fixtures. Great rooftop pool and sitting areas. The views from the rooftop were amazing and seating was plentiful with bathrooms on the roof level. We enjoyed this hotel. No fitness center and a little loud at night, but we enjoyed the city noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mammaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

What a Gem of a hotel. Spacious room, large comfy beds, and immaculately clean. Barca is a brilliant City and would stay here again when we go back. 5min walk from Las Ramblas

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyrone_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I don't normally write reviews but here goes.

It's difficult to know where to start with a review of a Hotel, especially one when you have a generous selection superlatives at your disposal. So why not start from the very beginning?

Me: "Hotel Jazz, please"
Taxi driver: (with an approving nod) "Hotel Jazz, ok".

Off we go. There is an innate feeling of satisfaction when a local is familiar with your hotel of choice, you can immediately rule out your main fear that it was going to be some hole in the wall, stuffed down a riddled alleyway where you can't walk 3 yards without an over-tanned foreigner trying to coax you into a drug deal whilst clutching a four pack of Estrella Damm. By the way, I would not recommend veering west off the Ramblas, at the bottom.

Moving on, the taxi is about 23 EUROS from the airport, give or take, dependant on whether your driver needs to lift your leg or not to make the day's quota. The hotel itself is placed between the Plc. Universitat and Plc. de Catalunya. Not your normal hotel plonked on the street facing the opposite side, but rather, tucked away from the pavement with a delightful mini-forecourt outside the attractive front entrance. Seemingly inviting.

The hotel is quite aptly named, too. The décor is sophisticated yet maintains a distinct melodic cutting edge tone, which feels...comfortable. Perhaps a bit too 'hip' for your Nan and Grandad, they are best advised to stick to their Club Med Cruises.

Quite crucially the hotel staff at the front desk with every bit as helpful as asserted in the many reviews of this hotel. Importantly for me, and I feel shameful for admitting such, is that the staff spoke excellent English. The staff are quick to adapt to a non-spanish speaking foreigner, although with my 'deer-in-the-headlights' reaction to "Buenos dios" it wont have been difficult to judge.

Check in was as swift as the elevator trip up to the 7th floor on which we were situated. Unfortunately we (my girlfriend and I) were faced with the 'twin-bed dilemma'. "Alas, this is the moment I declare war on the hotel...by cowardly writing a mediocre review". FEAR NOT though potential 'Jazz-dwellers', I was immediately informed by my better half that this was my fault for failing to request the double. The Hotel is cleared of those charges then. Upon request the staff hastened to assure us that the bed would be turned into a double immediately, lo and behold, it was. The comfort of the bed coupled with the black-out curtains made it a painful affair for my girlfriend to peel me away in the mornings, especially when an open air tour bus is first on the agenda.

The room was reminiscent of the tone of the lobby interior and ticked all the boxes for space, style, storage etc. The floor to ceiling windows brighten up the room remarkably well as most of the rooms are facing the sun. There is also a mini-balcony, perfectly apt for those who have been draining the Sangria the previous night and are far too delicate to venture to the pool on the top floor to catch the rays.

As my girlfriend rightfully pointed out, there was an essential full length mirror on the back of the bathroom door as well as a very large mirror in the bathroom (obviously, I was thrilled). For those 'hotel snobs' out there, unfortunately there were no complimentary slippers provided. There was, however, toothbrushes together with your usual bathroom products. For all those ladies who frustratingly forget their hairbrushes and hair-dryers...the hotel has your back, hair-dryer and comb provided. Don't worry fellas, whilst your other half is going through the trauma of picking her outfit for the nights stroll down the Ramblas, there is a bar situated on the first floor to escape and take the edge off. By contrast if you are one of the unfortunate few to have already been dragged feet first into the chaos of picking out an appropriate ensemble (after a long plane journey (thus bloating is an issue)) then there is access to the top floor and no barriers around the ledges...

If you are like me and enjoy your food, or more to the point, do little research before embarking on a city break, then rest assured as the hotel staff will give sterling recommendations to suit your desires. We wanted a nice nearby tapas place for our first night and one was found in a stead fast manner, situated 2 mins walk away from the hotel. I soon discovered after visiting the bar that the hotel does not offer a chaperone service.

The buffet breakfast was good, not excellent, just good. It's a satisfactory substitute if you do not fancy wondering around Barcelona looking for a breakfast bar with the possibility of landing at an establishment on the square and being handed a plate of grease and rashers of fat with a bacon trimming. As you can probably detect, this happened to us, therefore I urge that you do not go to Plca de Catalunya for breakfast, or lunch or dinner for that matter.

It is difficult to fault Hotel Jazz on any one particular thing. There are few discrepancies, and where there are some, these would only be unearthed in the reviews of, perhaps, former middle class people who had been struck by the credit crunch and have had to downgrade from a 5 star, or Americans...such as, the temperature in the hallways was a centigrade too high or the hotel lobby staff did not great them with the Three Tenors and a host of Spaniards performing their native dance.

The hotel ticks all the right boxes, particularly for a young couple looking to spend a few nights as the hotel strives in convenience. Oh, a Cervezeria is situated around the corner, on the Plca de Unversitat which shows the football on a huge screen. It is worth immersing yourself in a Barca game with the locals.

To summarise generically - nice friendly staff, spoke english, good interior, great location, nice clean and tidy rooms and good selection at the breakfast buffet.

Any questions, email me at james.skivington@yahoo.co.uk

Room Tip: Two main streets flank the hotel therefore I am not entirely sure, however, rooms at the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#34 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#21 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#28 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#33 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jazz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jazz

Property: Hotel Jazz
Address: Pelai 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,159 - ₹ 16,773
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jazz 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable location in the heart of Barcelona, between Plaza Catalunya, Paseo de Gracia, and the famous Ramblas, has made Hotel Jazz into one of the city’s most cosmopolitan hotels.A magnificent outdoor pool and a spacious terrace make the hotel a unique and spectacular spot for relaxing in the city center, and grant guests easy access to the city’s historical attractions and Gaudí’s modernist architecture throughout the neighborhood of the Eixample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Jazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jazz Barcelona
Jazz Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing