We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Sants(Barcelona)
US$ 187
US$ 176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 220
US$ 201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 173
US$ 159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 205
US$ 188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
NH Barcelona Entenza(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$ 125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
US$ 504
US$ 444
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hesperia Sant Joan(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$ 84
US$ 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,983)
Filter reviews
3,983 results
Traveller rating
2,139
1,462
271
69
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,139
1,462
271
69
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssants stationtop floorvisual restaurantcorner roomexpo hotelmain stationrooftop restaurantdouble sinkswalk in showerentire cityexcellent hotelmetro systemeuros per personstandard roomnou campbooked this hoteltourist bus
Filter
Updating list...
1,794 - 1,799 of 3,983 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2012

With no availability at the hotel we have previously used we decided on the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for our 7 day stay. Easy to reach by train from airport with good bus and metro access into and around the city. The hotel is clean, has friendly staff, good air con in the room, a bar on ground floor and restaurant on top floor. There are very few restaurants in Sants area but a must is the Chino restaurant about 200yards along the Carrer de Tarragona, excellent food and good value for money. The hotel can be noisy at night due to heavy traffic associated with Sants railway station.
You can make use of the swimming pool in the Expro Hotel. Booking is required but unfortunately after several attempts we gave up and headed for the beach.

Room Tip: Probably better with a room on higher floors to avoid the traffic noise
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Pros: Great location (next to a giant train station), helpful staff, comfortable beds, large bathrooms, and internet connection in our room. The staff member at reception also put us in corner room with two windows - very nice, very romantic, especially at night when all the buildings around are lit up.

Cons: Can be a bit noisy. Walls were on the thin side and street traffic could get noisy depending on how much drivers felt like honking. Nothing earplugs couldn't block out (street traffic, that is). The only other downside was that there weren't many eating options immediately around without walking quite a distance. On the bright side, the places/cafes we stumbled upon were very authentic (ie didn't have an English menu and were filled with locals).

Room Tip: Sleep on a higher floor to avoid ambient noise from the street
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akahoshifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at the Torre for 3 nights in July and it was perfect for the trip; located right next to the metro station it made traveling round the city very easy. The rooms themselves were excellent: large with comfortable beds, and the family room which we were allocated as one of our two had the added bonus of a sofa area. Breakfast was top notch with a wide range of choices and as it is located on the 23rd floor there are amazing views of the city to gaze at - we sat on a different side each morning to get all aspects. The only disappointment about the hotel was the lack of pool. We had been led to believe that there was one on site, but it is actually located next door at the expo hotel. Due to the small size of the pool itself whenever we inquired about using it, it was always fully booked which was disappointing. Admittedly we never had too much of a gap during the days itinerary to fill with pool time, but whether this was because we knew we didn't really have the option or not I can't say. However, I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break, especially if you don't mind the 'absence' of the pool.

Room Tip: You can pay extra to have a room on higher floors at about 24 euros pn extra.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueLambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Hotel was located next to the main train station which made an easy journey from el prat airport. Within the train station was access to the underground system which also made it easy to get around the city. The hotel staff were efficient and polite.
We paid for an upgraded room and had paneramic views around the area which was nice.
I felt the hotel was very business like and corporate and not the type of hotel I would choose normally and probably wouldn't go again as I'd prefer to be nearer the beach or in an area with more character.
Guests could use the rooftop pool at expo hotel which was next door-the pool was lovely.
We didn't ha e breakfast at the hotel as felt it was too expensive!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank channii70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Location: Right next to a major station so getting around the city is a breeze with the T10 card. Taxis and buses are easily available. The majority of destinations are also within 5km walking distance.

Service: multi-lingual and friendly. Very helpful and attentive.

Rooms: spacious and comfortable with all you need (we had the executive suite on the 10th floor with a view towards park guell).

Food: a little expensive but the view from the top floor restaurant softens the blow. Definitely dine here at least once. You can grab breakfast for under 5 euros from the station or one of the chain eateries nearby.

We loved this location and the hotel. We are already planning to go back to Barcelona and we would stay in this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews