We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Solid Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #96 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Solid Hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed here on the first leg of our Spain trip. The hotel itself is quite nice, the rooms are adequately clean and nice, the staff was very helpful. The lack of internet was a little disappointing, but everything else seemed great.

Location: There is a positive and a negative to the location. The positive is that it is right next to the train station and it is walking distance to quite a few nice areas of Barcelona. The negative is that the area that the hotel faces is not very attractive (the train station) and there are no good places to eat within a short distance.

Lastly, the restaurant upstairs has some amazing views, but the food is not very good (and very expensive). Avoid having dinner here...stick to just breakfast.

One key tip for staying here is to go buy water and other goodies from the market right next door, as everything is extremely well priced.

Room Tip: Beg for a room on a higher floor. The views will be worth it. Buy your water at the market next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Split2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,965
    1,354
    248
    61
    34
See reviews for
587
1,853
189
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

With no availability at the hotel we have previously used we decided on the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for our 7 day stay. Easy to reach by train from airport with good bus and metro access into and around the city. The hotel is clean, has friendly staff, good air con in the room, a bar on ground floor and restaurant on top floor. There are very few restaurants in Sants area but a must is the Chino restaurant about 200yards along the Carrer de Tarragona, excellent food and good value for money. The hotel can be noisy at night due to heavy traffic associated with Sants railway station.
You can make use of the swimming pool in the Expro Hotel. Booking is required but unfortunately after several attempts we gave up and headed for the beach.

Room Tip: Probably better with a room on higher floors to avoid the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Pros: Great location (next to a giant train station), helpful staff, comfortable beds, large bathrooms, and internet connection in our room. The staff member at reception also put us in corner room with two windows - very nice, very romantic, especially at night when all the buildings around are lit up.

Cons: Can be a bit noisy. Walls were on the thin side and street traffic could get noisy depending on how much drivers felt like honking. Nothing earplugs couldn't block out (street traffic, that is). The only other downside was that there weren't many eating options immediately around without walking quite a distance. On the bright side, the places/cafes we stumbled upon were very authentic (ie didn't have an English menu and were filled with locals).

Room Tip: Sleep on a higher floor to avoid ambient noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akahoshifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at the Torre for 3 nights in July and it was perfect for the trip; located right next to the metro station it made traveling round the city very easy. The rooms themselves were excellent: large with comfortable beds, and the family room which we were allocated as one of our two had the added bonus of a sofa area. Breakfast was top notch with a wide range of choices and as it is located on the 23rd floor there are amazing views of the city to gaze at - we sat on a different side each morning to get all aspects. The only disappointment about the hotel was the lack of pool. We had been led to believe that there was one on site, but it is actually located next door at the expo hotel. Due to the small size of the pool itself whenever we inquired about using it, it was always fully booked which was disappointing. Admittedly we never had too much of a gap during the days itinerary to fill with pool time, but whether this was because we knew we didn't really have the option or not I can't say. However, I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break, especially if you don't mind the 'absence' of the pool.

Room Tip: You can pay extra to have a room on higher floors at about 24 euros pn extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueLambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Hotel was located next to the main train station which made an easy journey from el prat airport. Within the train station was access to the underground system which also made it easy to get around the city. The hotel staff were efficient and polite.
We paid for an upgraded room and had paneramic views around the area which was nice.
I felt the hotel was very business like and corporate and not the type of hotel I would choose normally and probably wouldn't go again as I'd prefer to be nearer the beach or in an area with more character.
Guests could use the rooftop pool at expo hotel which was next door-the pool was lovely.
We didn't ha e breakfast at the hotel as felt it was too expensive!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank channii70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#77 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,793 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#82 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#71 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,884 - ₹ 15,495
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing