We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Nearby Hotels
US$ 177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 232
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barcelo Sants(Barcelona)
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 206
US$ 159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH Barcelona Ramblas(Barcelona)
US$ 174
US$ 168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
US$ 534
US$ 374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 561/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Le Meridien Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$ 411
US$ 303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 251
US$ 228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 376
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
W Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$ 593
WHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,011)
Filter reviews
4,011 results
Traveller rating
2,157
1,470
273
70
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,157
1,470
273
70
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssants stationtop floorvisual restaurantcorner roomexpo hotelmain stationrooftop restaurantdouble sinkswalk in showerentire cityexcellent hotelmetro systemeuros per personstandard roomnou campbooked this hoteltourist bus
Filter
Updating list...
1,816 - 1,821 of 4,011 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights last September before our cruise. Very nice all around. Checked in late at night, cab had no problems getting us here from airport. Lobby staff recommended a great local little restaurant, 5 minute walk. It's not in the heart of the tourist area but transit across the street makes it a great location. Also there's a grocery store right next door ( we bought water bottles, wine,sangria and pop all under $20, which we took with us on the cruise ship). You can see Segrada Familia from your table at breakfast, the view is fantastic. Would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors, for the view
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmileyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya is fabulous for the hotel, the breakfast, and the location. Hotel? We stayed for one week starting June 17, 2012. We usually use small B&Bs but this trip included two new travelers so ease was a factor. Upon arrival, the front desk arranged for us to have rooms directly across the hall from each other per our request. Miguel was a dream porter, professional, cheerful, and efficient. He treated our jet-lagged group like royalty. The rooms (816 and 817) were spotless and spacious. They were simple but with every amenity we could want, including a refrigerator, blow dryer, safe, a marble-lined bathroom with double sinks, a nice shower/tub, etc. The bed was firm but very comfortable. Room 816 had the better view out the front of the building but 817, facing another hotel, was fine as little as we were in the room. They also gave us each a free drink in the lounge the first night. Nice little lounge. We did not use the pool or spa. Breakfast? AMAZING! The breakfast room is the 23rd-floor restaurant with 360 degree views of the city. The service was immediate upon finding a table. It’s self-serve but they bring pots of hot beverages (tea, coffee, hot steamed milk) to the table. The variety at breakfast made us want to stay all morning. There is a fresh fruit bar (loads of pineapple, kiwi, grapefruit, sliced oranges, etc.), a hot (American style) eggs, meat, and potatoes bar, a table with a large variety of breads, rolls, and croissants, a bar full of cheese and meat trays (Brie for breakfast ... yum!), a cereal bar, quiches, lox, and traditional Catalan fare. There were at least four juices each morning (we loved the peach and pineapple juices) and a pitcher of kefir (different flavor each morning). And to our delight, a pitcher of cold soy milk each morning. There was a commercial Cappuccino machine but no one used it with all the good coffee provided at the table. One of our party is lactose-intolerant so the waiter brought her a large plate of fresh scrambled eggs (sans milk). Breakfast is expensive, no doubt, but for the convenience, views, and joy of this breakfast, it was worth it. It was 16 Euro per person per day but we bought for the week so it was 12 Euro per person per day. Sounds crazy expensive but it was so worth it. Location: Torre Catalunya is directly across from the main train station, Sants. We used the station daily for trains to other towns and for easy access to the metro system. Some reviews warned of the distance from the old town but it was a perfect location for us. Also, I have mobility issues so this hotel’s proximity to Sants saved my ankle. Conclusion: This 'big, traditional' hotel didn’t detract from our Barcelona experience at all. Instead, it was a wonderful refuge after long days touring. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Hotel Catalunya. It’s worth the splurge! (Note: no one asked us to write this review and we get nothing for it. We honestly loved this place!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stripe3548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

If you are looking to be in walking distance from the main "touristy" areas, you might want to stay somewhere else, but the Torre Catalunya is one of the best hotels my husband and I ever stayed at. There are 2 city bus tour companies in Barcelona and both do pick ups at the Sants train station across the street. We bought 2 day passes which we used to get around the city (we stayed in Barcelona for 3 nights). If you forget to pack something, a large supermarket is literally next door. If you are a runner who can't stand the treadmill, there is a great park next to the hotel, about 0.5 mile circumference with lots of stairs.

At check-in, Isabel went above and beyond to make sure we were satisfied with our room. For an additional 24 euros we upgraded from a basic to attic room on the 21st floor ( the 23rd floor is a restaurant). We received a corner room and the view made it money well spent (complete panoramic view of the city). The bed was super comfortable (lots of soft, cushy pillows) and the bathroom was spacious. Even the breakfast buffet was impressive. My hubby wanted to extend our stay, but the hotel was sold out. He was sad but on the bright side, it gives us something to look forward to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while on holiday in Barcelona ... and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is located directly across the street from the central Sants rail and metro station ... very easy for moving about the city or to/from the airport. Check-in was efficient and friendly. The room was large, comfortable, clean, and quiet with a panoramic view of the city. The drapes actually close all the way, making the room dark and therefore possible to sleep after sunrise. The bathroom is large with 2 separate sinks, separate shower, bath, and toilet & bidet. Breakfast on the 23rd floor is plentiful, fresh, with both hot and cold offerings plus great views of the city and very efficient service. After we checked out in the morning, and without our requesting, we were offered use of the spa anytime during that same day should we want to shower or fresh-up. The hotel is also a short 10-minute walk from a major new shopping mall at the Espana Plaza. All in all, this hotel truly deserves high praise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shimon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The reception was efficient and quick, six lifts to take me upstairs to a fine hotel bedroom where everything was well laid out - dressing gown with slippers, shaving kit , comb, dental kit, " feminine vanity kit" - whatever that meant! - shower cap, various gels, lovely walk in shower area, fine bath with easy to work taps, nice work area, good working wifi, tv, cd and radio, and..........wall to wall windows overlooking Barcelona.
I really thought the view was wonderful until I went for breakfast on the 23 floor where the view is stunning.
Quick tip - if you take breakfast wifi is included, if not you pay ten euro.
I asked the concierge a question about shopping - I wanted a shop which sold high end portable hand recording units for interviews. He not only gave me an answer he suggested a model!
Great hotel, friendly service, and it really is just next door to the Barcelona Sants railway station.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank Kierangroeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews