We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #98 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Just returned from 4 nights at this hotel. Great location - just across the road from the Sants train station where getting on the metro is easy. Train directly from the airport to Sants is 3.60 euros and takes about 25 minutes. We were on floor 14, any lower and I think the traffic noise might have been a problem, but it didn't worry us. They don't tell you that they charge for the spa and indoor pool, but at 6 euros per day it was well worth it and quite quiet. Free use of the Expo roof top swimming pool across the road if you don't want to pay in the Catalunya.

Paid the bit extra for breakfast, well worth it. Great selection of food and amazing views from the 23rd floor restaurant. We also dined in the restaurant one evening, food was superb and watched the sun setting over Barcelona.

Great city, hotel location easy for travel and far enough away from the crowded La Rambla. Lots to do in the city itself, Turistic open top bus stops outside Sants train station and provided a great tour of the city for 23 euros each. CampNou within walking distance, or a couple of stops on the metro.

All in all, good hotel and would choose it again if we return to Barcelona. Large spacious bedroom, good facilities and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SalsaImp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,987
    1,364
    253
    61
    37
See reviews for
592
1,871
192
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights last September before our cruise. Very nice all around. Checked in late at night, cab had no problems getting us here from airport. Lobby staff recommended a great local little restaurant, 5 minute walk. It's not in the heart of the tourist area but transit across the street makes it a great location. Also there's a grocery store right next door ( we bought water bottles, wine,sangria and pop all under $20, which we took with us on the cruise ship). You can see Segrada Familia from your table at breakfast, the view is fantastic. Would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors, for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmileyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya is fabulous for the hotel, the breakfast, and the location. Hotel? We stayed for one week starting June 17, 2012. We usually use small B&Bs but this trip included two new travelers so ease was a factor. Upon arrival, the front desk arranged for us to have rooms directly across the hall from each other per our request. Miguel was a dream porter, professional, cheerful, and efficient. He treated our jet-lagged group like royalty. The rooms (816 and 817) were spotless and spacious. They were simple but with every amenity we could want, including a refrigerator, blow dryer, safe, a marble-lined bathroom with double sinks, a nice shower/tub, etc. The bed was firm but very comfortable. Room 816 had the better view out the front of the building but 817, facing another hotel, was fine as little as we were in the room. They also gave us each a free drink in the lounge the first night. Nice little lounge. We did not use the pool or spa. Breakfast? AMAZING! The breakfast room is the 23rd-floor restaurant with 360 degree views of the city. The service was immediate upon finding a table. It’s self-serve but they bring pots of hot beverages (tea, coffee, hot steamed milk) to the table. The variety at breakfast made us want to stay all morning. There is a fresh fruit bar (loads of pineapple, kiwi, grapefruit, sliced oranges, etc.), a hot (American style) eggs, meat, and potatoes bar, a table with a large variety of breads, rolls, and croissants, a bar full of cheese and meat trays (Brie for breakfast ... yum!), a cereal bar, quiches, lox, and traditional Catalan fare. There were at least four juices each morning (we loved the peach and pineapple juices) and a pitcher of kefir (different flavor each morning). And to our delight, a pitcher of cold soy milk each morning. There was a commercial Cappuccino machine but no one used it with all the good coffee provided at the table. One of our party is lactose-intolerant so the waiter brought her a large plate of fresh scrambled eggs (sans milk). Breakfast is expensive, no doubt, but for the convenience, views, and joy of this breakfast, it was worth it. It was 16 Euro per person per day but we bought for the week so it was 12 Euro per person per day. Sounds crazy expensive but it was so worth it. Location: Torre Catalunya is directly across from the main train station, Sants. We used the station daily for trains to other towns and for easy access to the metro system. Some reviews warned of the distance from the old town but it was a perfect location for us. Also, I have mobility issues so this hotel’s proximity to Sants saved my ankle. Conclusion: This 'big, traditional' hotel didn’t detract from our Barcelona experience at all. Instead, it was a wonderful refuge after long days touring. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Hotel Catalunya. It’s worth the splurge! (Note: no one asked us to write this review and we get nothing for it. We honestly loved this place!)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stripe3548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

If you are looking to be in walking distance from the main "touristy" areas, you might want to stay somewhere else, but the Torre Catalunya is one of the best hotels my husband and I ever stayed at. There are 2 city bus tour companies in Barcelona and both do pick ups at the Sants train station across the street. We bought 2 day passes which we used to get around the city (we stayed in Barcelona for 3 nights). If you forget to pack something, a large supermarket is literally next door. If you are a runner who can't stand the treadmill, there is a great park next to the hotel, about 0.5 mile circumference with lots of stairs.

At check-in, Isabel went above and beyond to make sure we were satisfied with our room. For an additional 24 euros we upgraded from a basic to attic room on the 21st floor ( the 23rd floor is a restaurant). We received a corner room and the view made it money well spent (complete panoramic view of the city). The bed was super comfortable (lots of soft, cushy pillows) and the bathroom was spacious. Even the breakfast buffet was impressive. My hubby wanted to extend our stay, but the hotel was sold out. He was sad but on the bright side, it gives us something to look forward to.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while on holiday in Barcelona ... and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is located directly across the street from the central Sants rail and metro station ... very easy for moving about the city or to/from the airport. Check-in was efficient and friendly. The room was large, comfortable, clean, and quiet with a panoramic view of the city. The drapes actually close all the way, making the room dark and therefore possible to sleep after sunrise. The bathroom is large with 2 separate sinks, separate shower, bath, and toilet & bidet. Breakfast on the 23rd floor is plentiful, fresh, with both hot and cold offerings plus great views of the city and very efficient service. After we checked out in the morning, and without our requesting, we were offered use of the spa anytime during that same day should we want to shower or fresh-up. The hotel is also a short 10-minute walk from a major new shopping mall at the Espana Plaza. All in all, this hotel truly deserves high praise.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,841 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#53 of 513 in Barcelona
3,049 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#77 of 513 in Barcelona
3,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#42 of 513 in Barcelona
2,229 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#44 of 513 in Barcelona
4,385 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 513 in Barcelona
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Property: Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#75 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,278 - ₹ 14,368
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing