We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly central hostel in the heart of Barcelona”
Review of Itaca Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Itaca Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Very central location, close to transport and within walking distance of many of Barcelona attractions. Staff friendly and the part Itaca Red where we stayed was very modern with good shower, and kitchen. A coffee machine and a selection of several infusion teas as well as regular teas. Breakfast was good and plentiful and included in price. Very comfortable beds with memory foam mattresses. Good storage in room with plenty of hangers in the wardrobe.The common area is very comfortable.The hostel also has free Wi Fi.We were very impressed overall and highly recommend this comfortable hostel.

Room Tip: Itaca Red a few hundred meters from the main hostel is ideal for families. Very quite street and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddy197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 219 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at a lovely four bedroom apartment just a couple of minutes walk from the gothic quarter. It was incredibly clean and breakfast magically appeared in the kitchen of the flat.

We were the only people staying there, which meant we had the shared bathroom to ourselves.

The bedroom had a walk in wardrobe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We rented an apartment from this hostel. The apartment was like 5 minutes away in a secluded neighborhood. I would not recommend it for ladies. The apartment was clean and modern. It was close to the hop on hop off bus. It was good for the value and everything was within walking distance, but my friend and I did not feel safe in the area. There is no wifi only at the hostel. The hostel staff was helpful, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktjf07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My friend and I stayed in the two bedroom apartment (monec) affiliated with the Hostel. It is about 2 mins walk from the main Hostel. The apartment was great. It had a washing machine as well which was handy. We didnt have much do to with the hostel, but the staff were helpful if we had any questions. There is no wifi at the apartment but you can just use the computers at the hostel.

The biggest negative about this place is actually the location. Although it is very central we found walking the little dingy streets at night to be a bit scary (that is being two blonde girls). The Hostel is in a better spot as there is more happening around there.

I guess this is more Barcelona itself then the Hostel though. It was good staying in the "Gothic Area", but next time I would stay around Gracie Avenue. It was a much nicer spot or even in the El Born area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Itaca won me over from first sight. The location was perfect and yet not too crowded out among just other touristy hostels. The bed with the reading lamp was my favourite: you could stay up late into the night reading without disturbing others in your dorm. The common areas were great too: colourful and full of comfy couches. The staff was very helpful, too. And great prices for all that.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddychak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Bed&Bike Barcelona
Bed&Bike Barcelona
#24 of 739 in Barcelona
242 reviews
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#19 of 739 in Barcelona
394 reviews
Gracia
Jam Hostel Barcelona
Jam Hostel Barcelona
#41 of 739 in Barcelona
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
360 Hostel Barcelona
360 Hostel Barcelona
#37 of 739 in Barcelona
320 reviews
Montjuic
Hostel One Paralelo
Hostel One Paralelo
#25 of 739 in Barcelona
367 reviews
Les Corts
ROOM018BCN
ROOM018BCN
#30 of 739 in Barcelona
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itaca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itaca Hostel

Address: Ripoll 21, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 739 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 1,913 - ₹ 11,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Itaca Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of the Gothic area of Barcelona, in a quiet pedestrian street next to the Cathedral square.If you stay with us, in just a few minutes walk you have all the main cultural atractions (Picasso Museum, Cathedral, Music Palace, Gaudí’s arquitecture, MACBA, CCCB, Ramblas…) the beaches, traditional tapas bars and areas to enjoy the cosmopolitan nightlife of Barcelona.We guarantee you are in the centre, where everything happens but you will have peace to sleep well!!In Itaca we don’t allow people to stay who don’t respect the right of others to rest. For those (like us!) who like to enjoy the nightlife but also the wide cultural variety our city offers, Itaca is the ideal place to stay. For those who look for getting drunk and out of control, well, we suggest that you head to one of the many ‘Party Hostels’ that exist in Barcelona!Itaca has a maximum capacity of 30 people, this allows us to have a more personal touch with you, and between you. We are able to give you the attention and help that you need to enjoy your stay with us.Our installations are spacious, clean and welcoming. All the rooms are exteriors with balconies. We have dormitories, double rooms, family rooms and apartments.US….Inspired by our travels, we opened Itaca en August 2001 with the intention of bringing together the things we liked best from other places, creating a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere. A place to socialize and rest, where you will feel free to discover our culture at your own pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Itaca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itaca Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing