We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location,nice staff”
Review of Hotel Auto Hogar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Auto Hogar
Ranked #283 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
SATU MARE
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great location,nice staff”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I liked Auto Hoggar.It is very close to La Rambla,about 5-600 m walk on Carrer Nou de la Rambla.It was clean,towels changed every day.Not so noisy as described in the previous comments even if we stayed in a room at the street.The breakfast was basic but enough for a morning meal.The staff was very friendly,they reccomended us a local tapas bar "Can Eusebio" very close to the hotel.That was quite ok,good and cheap food/drinks and we eate there a few times paying for two around 30 euro including wine and tips.Another option is the restaurant/caffeteria right next to the hotel with more sofisticated menus but still acceptable prices.

Room Tip: rooms with double beds are bigger and higher floors offer a nice view on av. Parallel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOASCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    626
    353
    136
    154
See reviews for
199
778
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Many corners cut to "upgrade" this hotel. Decoration in bathroom not finished and to poor quality. Room was dusty from decoration - I had to clean-up before putting clothes in wardrobe. Staff had a "don't care" attitude. No WiFi except in reception. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickRimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Hot rooms, no A/C, could not turn off heat. Very dirty. Rude staff who did not care or even acknowledge complaints. Tiny rooms directly over a very busy avenue (traffic noise all night). Hard bed. No WIFI. My colleagues had an even worse experience with no water, no cold water, and broken pipes. Saw cockroach in breakfast room. I travel constantly and have stayed in thousands of hotels all over the world including Barcelona, but this is the single WORST of all! I would rather sleep in my rental car next time! AVOID! AVOID!

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sicnarfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel from Feb 26 - March 1st 2012 in tower 2. Upon arrival there was dirt and mud in my room and bathroom. Tried to call reception via a dusty phone but it was not connected. Window in bedroom opened into a closed courtyard so no fresh air. The aircon only blew out hot and smelly/dusty air, so that had to stay off as well. Impossible to open bathroom window as it fell out of its frame when you tried to. The fittings in the shower were loose and had been fitted in a hurry. On the first morning we only had hot water available so unable to shower. At the breakfast table my colleague had a cockroach crawling up his shirt. No internet in the bedroom, only in small area in the lobby. Staff completely reactive, unprofessional and not a single excuse or acknowledgement was uttered. My colleague told me this morning that there was NO water available in the hotel today. THIS IS THE HOTEL FROM HELL so pls avoid it like the plague. I struggle to understand how this hotel is allowed to operate in the first place and it should never have been recommended to us via the Barcelona Business Pass Website. EMZ, March 2nd 2012.

Room Tip: Avoid ANY rooms in this hotel (the new tower is just as bad as the old tower - minus the cockroaches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emzi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

There are no redeaming features of this hotel. Initially I stayed in tower 2 in room 328 on my first morning in shower the hot water tank exploded above me, I escaped but entire room flooded under 4 inches of water flowing out of room into lift shaft. I had to demand another room to finish my shower, I received zero apology from the hotel - the reception staff are the worst mannered people you will ever come accross .... Wifi only works in cramped reception area when moved from 3 star tower 2 to 1 star tower 1 you realise this hotel was built in the 70's and has same decor today. It is rumoured to be changing its name shortly - please if it wasn't so awful it would have been funny.

No hot water this list goes on - please don't let this hotel spoil your stay in one of the most wonderful cities in the world

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdyMoores999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#174 of 513 in Barcelona
615 reviews
El Raval
Acta Mimic Hotel
Acta Mimic Hotel
#214 of 513 in Barcelona
2,619 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Aranea
Hotel Aranea
#235 of 513 in Barcelona
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#196 of 513 in Barcelona
1,927 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Aston
Sunotel Aston
#370 of 513 in Barcelona
465 reviews
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#237 of 513 in Barcelona
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Auto Hogar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auto Hogar

Property: Hotel Auto Hogar
Address: Avda Parallel 64, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,594 - ₹ 15,422
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Auto Hogar 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auto Hogar Hotel is located in the most centric zone of Barcelona, 10 minutes walking distance to Las Ramblas Boulevard, the port and Plaza España, a place of celebration of fairs and congresses, filled with non stop fun and entertainment, the traditional theater’s area all around Paral•lel avenue, the beach, the Gothic quarter, restaurants and the Olympic harbor; all at walking distance. The Hotel also has a historic cafe / restaurant Café Español, a meeting place in the Paral•lel’s area. There is parking in the same building. In early 2013, it completed the refurbish of the 153 rooms in the Hotel, equipped with new stylish furniture, full bathrooms, climate controlled, direct telephone line and television, select rooms include private balconies with a lovely view of Barcelona. The meeting room Teatre, with capacity for 30 persons, where you can organize all kind of events, from business meetings to social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Auto Hogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auto Hogar Barcelona
Auto Hogar Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing