We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water problems”
Review of Hotel Cram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cram
Ranked #125 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Water problems”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Unfortunately I must concur with what many of the other reviewers have said. We stayed here at the beginning of October and, although the location and decor are excellent, we had no water for 24 hours plus WiFi connection was either non-existant or very poor.The hotel staff kept telling us that all would be fixed...so perhaps, by now, it has been, but I would get this in writing BEFORE booking a room. They did give us a small refund for our inconvenience and we found the staff to be very polite in spite of the stress they must have been under. One question: whose idea was it to put a glass door on the bathroom? This is the one room where most people want privacy. It was very awkward when we invited 4 friends to come for a drink.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadawestwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evadeaurora, Director of Sales at Hotel Cram, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
I would like to inform you as we did during your stay in the hotel, we have had an unusual and unexpected situation during our stay in Cram Hotel.

Hot water pipes were broken during the night, this is why we had to close the water several times of the day and the reason why we moved guests to different rooms. No more than 4 hours a day water was closed and only 2 days were affected (can be shown as per our informatics system control). Situation was solved and a refund was done to all guests, as we have also did with you. Our General Manager has also contacted all the guests of the hotel personally, he stayed in the hotel since the night of the problem, until the following day in the morning and met most of the guests in the hotel, sorry if he couldn’t meet you during the 36 hours he stayed.

The problem is solved as it was due to defective pipes used for the hotel building. They have been changed and the hotel constructor has also has claimed to the pipe manufacture company.

We understand your dissatisfaction but this has been an unexpected situation.

Best regards

Eva de Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    385
    101
    35
    16
See reviews for
66
514
50
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The hotel is a nice walk away from the central parts of the city and a number of the tourist attractions. The staff are efficient, polite and professional. The room I occupied was at the back of the hotel and was consequently quiet. The room itself was comfortable and conducive for sleep. It was delightful to sit in the breakfast room and look over the roofs of Barcelona - the food was good.

This hotel greatly added to my wonderful experience of Barcelona.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts and at the back or sides of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights. Great staff. extremely modern and clean rooms. Good location for exploring the city from. Close to the buss mstops and metro.

Be aware that breakfast was not included in the room rate and i had to pay extra for that.

i would definately stay there again when I visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raptor0O1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed 4 nights.Clean well laid out rooms.Helpful,civil and informed staff.Good extensive breakfast.Great location for walking to city centre.Ideal base for city break.Would have no hesitation in revisiting.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upfrontIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Lomond, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

A fun hotel, rooms a bit small but well appointed, stylish, and well kept - not a problem in terms of size. The hotel conveniently houses Gaig Restaurant, an excellent restaurant with superior service and food (Michelin star) and Chef Gaig WILL come out to every table to assure all is well - haven't seen that for a while. The hotel location is excellent, walkable to many of the places you'll want to go in Barcelona and the Metro or buses will get you to anything else easily. The hotel is in a fun area, close to the University (and more), so there are plenty of things happening all around. The hotel service was very good, helpful, and even a recommendation one night for a restaurant nearby (one never knows how a hotel recommendation will work out) led us to a very good spot a few blocks away (La Carmaga - excellent fish dishes and more). Our room was on the forth floor looking out onto the busy intersection below - but the french doors let no noise in when closed, so it was nice to step out onto the balcony to see what was going on, and be able to close the doors to keep the city out when desired. A very nice 3 day stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCESP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#94 of 513 in Barcelona
983 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 513 in Barcelona
1,412 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#10 of 513 in Barcelona
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#124 of 513 in Barcelona
1,138 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#150 of 513 in Barcelona
936 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#85 of 513 in Barcelona
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cram? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cram

Property: Hotel Cram
Address: Carrer D'aribau 54, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#94 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#94 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,134 - ₹ 34,124
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cram 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cram is situated in the middle of the Example district of Barcelona very close to the Paseo de Gracia, Rambla de Cataluna, Plaza de Cataluna and the Ramblas.Surrounded by the cities most emblematic architecture, the hotel fits perfectly into this rich legacy. The modernist style facade dates back to 1892, and has a definite majestic elegance.The 67 rooms are planned to offer maximum comfort, they stand out warm, elegant, avant-garde aesthetic, their highly functional design and their high-tech equipment.The restaurant Angle Barcelona, 1* Michelin, is moving to Hotel Cram and will be opening its doors on June 2013, with the same philosophy and willingness to bring customers a dining experience which is sure to tantalise each one of their senses.If ABaC is the ultimate expression of Jordi Cruz' cuisine, l'Angle seeks to liven up tradition with innovative touches, high quality products and dishes altogether different from those created in the kitchens of ABaC.Attentive, warm and friendly service with common goals: to clearly convey the messages hidden in the actual recipes and define our understanding of gastronomy every day, based on memory, creativity and the best ingredients.The redesign of event and meeting rooms, whose capacities ranges from 2-70 people, placed special emphasis on enhancing light through integrated stained glass windows.The Anemos Terrace Bar, located on the 7th floor with panoramic views of Barcelona, offers a breakfast buffet from 07:00 to 11:00. It later reopens from 12.00 Am until 12.00 Pm, serving drinks, appetizers, tapas and 'informal cuisine' uninterruptedly throughout the day. The new menu offers little snapshots of the creative style of Chef Jordi Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cram Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Cram Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing