We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,862)
Filter reviews
2,863 results
Traveller rating
1,206
1,260
279
71
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,206
1,260
279
71
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla ramblagreat locationbalcony roomrecommend this hotelyour luggagesmall balconygothic quarterstandard roomhop on hop off buscentral locationmetro stationan upgradecity breakbusy streetshort stayjunior suitebuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 2,863 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The room and halls getting to them smell like sewage. The smell is horrible and gets worse throughout the day. Great Location, Located toward the end Las Ramblas near the port. Breakfast was decent with a nice offering. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernat A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arc La Rambla, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Joseph M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Whilst we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location, our tasty breakfast and the friendly service delivered by our wonderful staff, we regret to hear about the bad smell you found on the halls and your room. We will work on the issue you addressed as our ultimate goal is to provide an experience that exceeds our guests’ expectations. In addition, I would like to inform you that all the rooms are checked after they have been cleaned and ventilated, and in case our clients inform us of any incidents of this kind, we usually try to change them to a different room.

We hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this experience and you will come and stay with us again. Please contact us prior to your next stay with us so we can ensure you a more enjoyable stay.

All in all, we really hope you enjoyed your days in the city. In case you want to provide us any other information, please, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Bernat Alonso
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Just returned from a long weekend in Barcelona, staying 4 nights at this hotel. Our room was great, spacious and spotlessly clean. Even had a kettle provided on request, at no extra cost! My only comment would be the pillows which come as standard and were too high for my personal preference. Would definitely recommend this hotel for high standards and location. Staff were helpful and courteous including correspondence prior to our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginreviewer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernat A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arc La Rambla, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear virginreviewer2015,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.

We truly appreciate your kind comments about our hotel, stressing our great location, comfortable rooms and great service delivered by our wonderful staff. We work hard to make each and every guest feel comfortable and welcomed, and comments such as yours serve as a wonderful encouragement for the entire staff to continue striving for service excellence.

We look forward seeing you again soon, do not hesitate to contact us directly to get the best deal!

Greetings from Barcelona!

Bernat Alonso
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We booked our stay at Hotel Arc la Rambla through Lastminute.com and I was very pleased with the service. Our flights were at great times (from Stansted) and the shuttle bus transfer each way was ideal. The organised mini bus took us straight to where we needed to be and the drivers on both occasions were very helpful and friendly.

Our room was disappointing, we stayed in 116, which is advertised as a “small double”. I have no complaints about the size of the room, this is what we paid for after all. My only suggestion is with such a small room with only one, small narrow window is perhaps it’s not good idea to paint it 50 shades of grey.

I am by no means an interior designer but a small room with very little natural sunlight coming in is not enhanced by such a selection of grey tones.

Even the ceiling in our little room/cave was also grey and corrugated, which meant the light fitting had to be squeezed on to the far wall. Again, making it dark and dingy. I’ve attached a picture so you can get the full effect of the cave theme.

Saying that, the hobbit-sized room was proportionate throughout. The bathroom was small too. Again, I know we “signed up” to a small room but to have towels the size of flannels was taking this theme a little too far. For anyone staying here, if you’re more than 5ft tall or larger than 8 stonne I suggest bringing your own towels.
Make sure you time your showers well with your fellow traveler, the only mirror available is in the bathroom - if some one is using the shower and you want to use the mirror then it’s either a case of waiting patiently to use the then-steamed-up mirror, or it’s time to get up close and personal while your SO showers. Not ideal.

Our trip was in March, by no means the height of the temperature for Spain. Let’s hope the AC works by then. Our room was really hot, we’re guessing (although were unsure that perhaps we were over the kitchen too, which added to the heat) we tried to get the AC working, it was 15-17 degrees outside most days but it was still cooler there than in our room/cave. Again, this may have just been to our personal taste. We are British after all felt the heat from the Spanish sun. We tried opening the patio door but we just had flies and bugs come and join us so we gave up.

We also enjoyed the irony of the message on the back of our door, to shut it quietly as “guests may be sleeping”. I can only presume this isn’t written on any of the staff doors. We were woken up each morning at about 7am by the welcoming of staff who I presume were on the way in for the breakfast shift. Again, the position of our room meant we were right next to the lift, so had constant comings and goings.

From my review you would think that I wouldn’t recommend this hotel, in fairness I probably would; the location is great - easy walk to the market but also a nice distance to get to the beach. The staff are lovely, helpful and friendly. The breakfast is good, with fresh fruits and pastries out every morning.

In hindsight we should have probably asked for another room - one built for adults who like natural daylight.
But we’re young and we’re British, it’s not in our nature. More fool us.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cguest3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernat A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arc La Rambla, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Carly W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I regret to hear that you were not totally satisfied with your stay and I understand that this dissatisfaction is mainly caused by the room you stayed in. For this reason, I am happy to think and I am confident that on a future visit to Barcelona, we can offer you an experience that meets your expectations.

I invite you to contact us directly and we will be more than happy to personally assist you ensuring you have a most comfortable experience. In addition, we guarantee that any reservation made through direct channels, such as via email or on our website, have the best rate guarantee.

We understand the different needs of our guests, and for this reason we usually recommend our Small Double Rooms to those who are only a few days in the hotel and look for the best price. We understand that these rooms are small-sized, and for this reason we decided to highlight this characteristic in the name of the room.

In reference to the AC, most of our rooms work with a centralized air-conditioning and heating system, of which we control the temperature depending on the outside temperature. Between seasons it is harder to meet everyone’s preferences, and in fact during these days it’s still configured to operate with hot air.

On the other hand, we'll work on the issue you addressed about the patio and the light in the room, as our ultimate goal is to provide an experience that exceeds our guests’ expectations. We will also discuss with the morning staff, to try to keep the noise as low as possible so that they don't disturb the guests.

As we said before, we hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this experience and you will come and stay with us again. Please contact us prior to your next stay with us so we can ensure you a more enjoyable stay. In case you want to provide us any other information, please, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Bernat Alonso
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We stayed at hotel Arc La Rambla for 3 nights over the weekend, this was for my boyfriends 21st birthday surprise. The hotel kindly decorated the room ready for our arrival which was a really nice touch. Overall we had a fantastic time in Barcelona and this was complimented by the wonderful hotel. The hotel was lovely, very clean and the staff were pleasant. We had a double room with a city view which was lovely. The hotel location is perfect and was situated close to everything we needed. We couldn’t fault anything, we would definitely recommend this hotel. We are already thinking about our next trip to Barcelona and wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again. Thank you to everyone at hotel Arc La Rambla for making our trip so special. It’s a little gem!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lydirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernat A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arc La Rambla, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear lydirons,

Thank you very much for your recommendation; it was a pleasure having you with us!

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you loved staying with us and that you enjoyed the warm service delivered by our fantastic staff and the lovely surprise for your boyfriend’s birthday. We are sure that your warm comments will serve as a wonderful encouragement for the entire staff to continue striving for service excellence.

It would be wonderful having you again soon. Don’t hesitate to contact us directly to get the best deal ;)

Greetings from Barcelona!

Bernat Alonso
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

A wonderful hotel in the center. Rooms are of high standard, clean and modern. Bathrooms are big and clean and modern with enough warm water. Breakfast was okay, and staff extremly friendly. Recomend !

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernat A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arc La Rambla, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Roy V,

It was absolutely fantastic having you with us!

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you had a wonderful stay in our Hotel and that you appreciate the comfort of our rooms, the service delivered by our friendly staff on the Front Desk and our tasty breakfast. It would be a great pleasure to have you again in our hotel anytime you decide to come back to Barcelona.

On your next stay with us, do not hesitate to contact us directly to get the best deal!

Kind regards,

Bernat Alonso
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews