We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Hotel, Good Location in Barcelona” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Ranked #250 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Location in Barcelona”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife, daughter, and I stayed at Tryp Apolo for three days while in Barcelona. It is a nice hotel with large rooms available. We requested a room for three and were given a suite with a king size bed and a roll-away bed for my daughter in the other room. This was fine for us as we were there to see the city and spent little time in the room. Our room was fairly low in the building and on the corner, one side facing Avinguid Paral-lel. Av. Paral-lel is a very busy street and street noise was a little bit of a problem as we were there over a weekend. The location was good but not great. To walk over to the port or to La Rambla it was at least 15 to 20 minutes which got a little old after three days. There is a Metro stop on the same block as the hotel. The room was nicely cleaned by the maid service everyday. The front desk staff all spoke English very well but some were not as helpful as they could have been. I had to go to the desk three times to get one problem resolved. On the other hand, we had the door handle on the bathroom break and maintenance came and repaired it right away. So I would say service was mixed. The breakfast room was very large and the variety of food was very good. The hotel had several large groups of students staying there at the time and the breakfast room could get crowded but the wait was not long. Free wi-fi is available but you have to get a password from the front desk every 24-hrs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EscapingtheBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you took the time to leave your comments about your stay. Barcelona is a great city to get to know with the family and we are glad you trusted in our service for this great experience. We take into consideration all your remarks which we know will help us a lot to improve. Thank you so much and you will always be very welcome at the Hotel TRYP Apolo!

Warm regards,
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    1,358
    628
    190
    123
See reviews for
640
1,259
102
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Tryp for one night before heading on a seven day Mediterranean cruise. Because we were only going to be in the city for approximately 24 hours we knew our focus would be on making sure we were close to all the action so we could hit the town running and of course we wanted to be close to the port. We didn't need anything fancy. After reading the Trip Advisor reviews, most thought the location was perfect especially if you are heading on a cruise and for the money it seemed a good value.

When we arrived the staff was very friendly and offered restaurant suggestions for dinner in Port Olympia which was a short cab ride away. The hotel itself is very dated. It's no lap of luxury for sure. It's very basic and the rooms followed suit. They were on the small side and our double bed was literally two twin beds pushed together. Luckily for us it was only a one night stay so it worked well. We didn't spend much time in our room. We were within walking distance of just about everything. We spent the day walking around La Rambla and Port Olympia at night. Breakfast wasn't included with our room but we found a great little cafe close by and grabbed some food the next morning. We caught a cab to the port which was less than 10 minutes away.

If you are looking for just a comfortable, clean place to rest your head then the Tryp Apolo isn't a bad option. You can't beat the location. If you are wanting a lot of amenities and a place worth telling all of your friends about you will be highly disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 216Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving your comments about your stay.
We are happy to know we accomplished your expectations regarding location and service and at the same time we take note of your suggestions, thank you very much because it help us a lot to improve!
We will be pleased to receive you back any time!

Warm regards,

GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The room was nice. We had a family room which great for our older children. The room were very clean. The breakfast was excellent with an assortment of fruit, meats and beverages. The location was great. However, it was very loud and close to a nightclub. Hords of kids in the street in the early morning hours celebrating the soccer win over Milan. Woke us up and went on for hours. The nightclub noise was a huge problem. At the hotels suggestion we dine across the street at the Restaurant Leone. The food was good but my son found a hair fried in along with his lamb chops! That ruined our dinner. Not impressed with our restaurant choices in Barcelona. Do some research before picking a restaurant.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0calY0cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments after your stay.
We appreciate you shared your opinion regarding our great Family Room as well as breakfast and location, we are glad you enjoyed them during your stay!
We also take note about all your suggestions; it definitely helps us improve enormously! Please, if you ever have the chance to come back to the TRYP Apolo do not hesitate to contact us and let us know your preferences, we will do our best to accomplish your expectations and requests!
Warm regards,

GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

hotel very clean,location is excellent,staff very mannerly. one quibble though, no tea or coffee facilities in room!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pvp60Dublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving your comments after your stay, we love you enjoyed and shared our great location! If you ever come back please do not hesitate to let us know about your preferences such as the kettle within the room, we will kindly inform you about all our added services! It will always be a pleasure to share another TRYP experience with you.

Warm regards,

GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

You will not get a better located hotel to all the tourist attractions Barcelona has to offer. It is a 5 minute walk to the modern Port Vella, La Rambla, maritime and historical museums, Plaza Catalunya (which is where all the tour buses set off from). We stayed for 2 nights room only from the 7th - 9th April. Whilst the hotel is comfortable, it is definately only a 2* + rather than a 4*. It is very basic and extremely old. The rooms are quite noisy also, lots of road noise. The interior is definately 1970's style. This is a shame as if the hotel is fully refurbished, no doubt this would be a jewel of a hotel. I would not recommend spending 18euro for breakfast either. There are hundreds of cafes within a couple of minutes walk offering english breakfasts and continental breakfasts alike for 5 - 10 euros and we found them to be excellent and value for money. Would stay here again if I was on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back o the hotel away from the noisy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asykes1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#70 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#206 of 518 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#83 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
NH Sants Barcelona
NH Sants Barcelona
#220 of 518 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#337 of 518 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#30 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Property: Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,831 - ₹ 12,867
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Melia Hotels APAC, HotelsClick, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing