We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel in a great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #72 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Booked this as a 'Top secret hotel' on lastminute.com and got a great deal for two nights. The hotel itself was extremely modern and was only a 10 minute walk from La Ramblas.

Our room was at the end of a corridor so was pretty spacious. Extremely clean with the usual touches, tea and coffee, toiletries etc. Sadly the window looked on to a set of run down flats, but this wasn't too much bother as we spent most of the day out.

Staff were helpful and supplied us with maps and flagged down taxis and instructed them where to go etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EKA90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,841
    1,432
    266
    57
    27
See reviews for
606
1,892
78
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I thought this hotel was excellent, I cannot fault it. The location was around 50 feet from the nearest metro with easy access to the entire city, the first impression on entering the hotel is that it's modern and clean. The room was lovely, well maintained, the staff were excellent. You could stay in a cheaper place in Barcelona - as I have in the past, but I don't think you'll find a more pleasant hotel. The Universal was excellent value as well as an extremely comfortable place to lay my head each night. The cocktails were no more expensive than in the city's bars! I will definitely stay there on my next visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hipswayno9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

A bit disappointed by this hotel, while the rooms where great and above my expectations and the breakfast adequate, it has one major flaw which should be of concern if you are a light sleeper. For some strange reason the design of the elevator is such that if you are sleeping in a room near by the lift shaft it may be impossible to sleep from early morning on as the movement of the lifts up and down causes vibration in the rooms nearest the lifts. Those of you from London who use the underground will be familiar with the type of noise I’m talking about! It is really bad on the lowest floors of the building or in any room ending in 01. Location wise it is centrally located with a nice swimming pool on the top floor of the building. My advice is if you want to sleep in this hotel request a room on the top floor away from the lift....I did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift on floors from 7 to 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Went for a friends birthday a group of ladies, the hotel staff were friendly, the hotel was clean, breakfast was good, the hotel is in a good location. A bottle of champagne and glasses was delivered to my friends room on the morning of her birthday which was a lovely surprise. We had a three bedded room which was absolutely fantastic, really big considering it's in the city, all in all a lovely hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

The Barcelona Universal ticked all the boxes you'd want for a stay in Barcelona, without excelling in any particular area.

The breakfast was tasty, and offered from 7.30 til 11 most days on the first floor. At certain times it did get extremely busy and there were lineups and they seemed a little short on staff, but they did their best to provide good service, and the selection of food was ample.

The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable, with well-maintained furniture and decor, and a bed that offered a good night's sleep. We stayed on the 7th floor for 5 nights - we had a view over the rooftops of neighbouring houses, which was fine.

We found the location very handy, being an easy walk from the Gothic quarter and walkable distance to El Born, a trendy food/nightlife area. Also an easy walk to Las Ramblas.

The hotel did seem to attract an older sort of traveller - the breakfast buffet slightly resembled meal-time at a retirement home. Of course this wasn't any sort of problem, but we thought this may be of interest to older or younger travellers. There were almost no families and few younger couples.

We found the service a little impersonal, but again, it was perfectly fine; the Universal just didn't do anything to stand out in this department. We had three issues during our stay - the fridge didn't work, the batteries in our remote were flat, and our door lock malfunctioned. The first two issues were addressed while we were out one day, though the fridge never seemed to get properly cold. The door lock was addressed pretty promptly; a couple of trips to the front desk, 10 minutes sitting in the hallway, then a technician came and addressed it pretty quickly.

The pool deck on the roof was very busy, but was a nice enough spot to catch some sunshine if you could find a couple of chairs together.

All in all, we'd recommend the Universal for a stay in Barcelona, mainly based on its location and in providing an all-around pleasant stay, without any above-and-beyond elements.

Room Tip: If you want a view, you'll want to be on at least Floor 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndrewNGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#39 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,214 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#48 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#34 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#94 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,546 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#70 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#77 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,709 - ₹ 20,780
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing