We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great! Clean, Perfect location,Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #74 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Wheeling
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great! Clean, Perfect location,Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We staryed 4 nights after a cruise in Barcelona. The rooms were very clean. This hotel was a great location because you could walk to the Rumbus, lots of restaurants right outside the door, walk to harbor area, and best of all right in front of hotel was the metro and bus stops. We took the metro which was easy and safe to use. We highly recommend the red Hop on Hop off bus. Definitely see the unfinished Gaudi church (stop 11 on the green line) spend 2 hours with the tape tour. The hotel staff spoke English and was very helpful. We asked for high quiet room because of other trip advisor advice.

Room Tip: get breakfast at several restauants very close to save
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marystepn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,873
    1,452
    270
    57
    28
See reviews for
614
1,925
80
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Barcelona Universal is a great hotel with a superb location. Just a couple of minutes away from the port and beach, with excellent links to public transport.

I stayed here with my husband and we have a lovely weekend away without the kids.
Rooms were bright and spacious and after a long morning of sight seeing and being a tourist, the pool was an excellent way to spend the hot afternoons.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrshallam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I stayed here for four nights during my visit to Barcelona. I stayed in an enclosed room which was dark as described by the other reviewers. It wasn't too bad as we didn't spen too much time in the room. On a plus side, the room was fitted for the disabled and was huge by European standards. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. An ideal location within walking distance to all the sights. Also, the Metro stop is very close to the entrance of the hotel. The pool is small by American standards. More of an enlarged jacuzzi. All in all a great hotel with clean rooms and a friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VWGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed in the Barcelona Universal Hotel from June 10-13 2012, using it for the first leg of our Honeymoon in Barcelona.

We found the staff to be very helpful during our stay and our room was kept very clean throughout. Our room was on the end of the Third Floor and was modern and stylish, as well as a good size. I can recommend the superior rooms. Staff brought Cava upto the room for us to help us celebrate our arrival.

The rooftop terrace is a real bonus and a good place to relax for a while during a busy stay in the city. The views, especially from the back of here, are really very good and take in the whole city.

Location-wise, the hotel is not far away from the heart of the city and it took us five minutes to get to Las Rambla. Taxi's can be caught nearby and a Metro station is literally outside. Considering the busy-ness of the Avda Paral.lel we slept very well and were'nt bothered by noise at all.

If you are travelling to Barcelona and looking for a nice base to stay then I can definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

My fiance and I arrived on 30th June having taken the train & then the tube from BCN. The tube exit was within a few metres of the hotel entrance - very easy trip using just one T10 travel card purchased at the airport.

Hotel was exactly as described both here on Trip Advisor as well as the Hotel's own web-site. Very business-like, clean, with smartly furnished and large rooms. We also booked the breakfast option which I would 100% recommend.

The rooftop pool is a great bonus. It's a very civilised way of cooling off with a cold drink from the rooftop bar-tender after a hard days walking - and the views are good too.

It's about a 10 minute walk to Las Ramblas and same to the port area. Both are great places to explore. You are also close to the 1992 Olympic stadium which is a 20 min uphill walk but with great panoramic views of the city. So, the hotel is very well located - dependant of course on what you're interests are.

At the price we paid, I doubt there is a better package than that offered by this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,263 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#49 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#94 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,578 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#78 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,574 - ₹ 21,796
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing