We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #75 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in April. It is in a good location, with the metro right outside the front of the hotel. We had room 618 which is at the back of the hotel. Rooms were a good size, and very clean as was the good size bathroom. The only downside was no tea and coffee facilities in the room. We only eat breakfast at the hotel, but it was very good with a fair choice of hot and cold dishes.
All the staff at the hotel that we encountered were very polite and helpful.
Hotel is about a 10 minute walk from La Rambla and about 20 minutes from the port/beaches. Not many decent restaurants near the hotel, but within a 10/15 minute walk there are plenty around the main square and in La Rambla.
Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,877
    1,455
    270
    57
    28
See reviews for
614
1,932
80
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We (there were three of us) stayed in a corner room on the third floor of the hotel for a long weekend in Barcelona. The room was fantastic - spacious, immaculately clean, comfortable and modern with a large bathroom with plenty of complimentary toiletries. The only couple of minor negatives were that the hotel is on a busy street and therefore the room was noisy - even at night and especially early in the morning with car horns beeping, sirens blaring etc. It was loud enough to wake me up a few times during the night and meant it was impossible to have the windows open. The other negative stems from this - the air conditioning was set at a minimum of 25 degrees which was much too warm. We contacted Reception about this and they turned it out - to 19 degrees but it was a bit annoying that you couldn't just control the temperature yourself.
Other than that we couldn't fault the hotel - staff were extremely helpful and polite, the small swimming pool and rooftop deckchairs were lovely, the location was great and it was good value for money.
We didn't have the breakfast as you are spoilt for choice in the city centre so preferred to choose something ourselves later in the morning.
I would highly recommend getting picnic lunches/breakfasts/snacks from the market near La Ramblas - great value and delicious.
The only other thing is that I think there were probably nicer areas to stay in - it was fine but a couple of the streets near the hotel were a bit rough with some dodgy looking characters hanging about. We never had any bother from anyone, but I think the area round Rambla de Catalunya is probably nicer (though no doubt more expensive!).

Room Tip: It might be worth asking for a room on one of the higher floors, or not overlooking the road to help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_travelling_mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of February 2012, we had two double rooms on the fifth floor (508 and 509) these are at the front of the hotel, the hotel is on a main road and it can get quite noisy but this wasn’t enough to stop us from sleeping, what did was the noise from other hotel guests coming back to their rooms and not having any respect for others that maybe sleeping. The rooms are just as they look in the hotel pictures, bathroom had bath with shower, safe is provided free of charge (you just enter your own number), there is a fridge which has both alcoholic and soft drinks (sorry forgot to look at the prices), TV has lots of channels (but only a couple were English, but I wouldn’t consider this a issue as we weren’t there to watch TV) there is no kettle (but I do believe that the hotel will happily provide you with cups and spoons), our booking also included breakfast and there was so much choice (cheese, ham, bread, Danishes, fruit, yoghurts, cereals plus bacon, sausages, eggs (although these weren’t very hot) but made great bacon rolls. The reception staff speak very good English and were very helpful and informative. I can’t wait to return to this hotel in the summer and try out the pool on the roof, which also has view of the city.
The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes walk to La Rambles, the tourist buses are also only about a 5-10 minute walk away, you have a choice of two different companies but they have roughly the same route, 1 day pass is 24 Euros, 2 days is 30 Euros. These buses are a must to even get a small chance of seeing everything around Barcelona. Unfortunately the cable cart was not working but there are buses that take you up to the castle, taxi’s are everywhere and are very good for getting from one place to another, quite quickly the way they drive. We got a taxi from the hotel back to the airport which cost about 27 Euros.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JueD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Very good stay over 3 nights. Great location within walking distance of the city centre, la rambla, the harbour and beaches, however hotel located on main road. Not noisy though with windows closed. Friendly staff. Nice, clean, modern room and bathroom, with air conditioning and black-out curtains. However, no tea / coffee in the room. No mirror close to plug sockets when using hair straighteners, etc. Had a look at the breakfast, but sausage and bacon was covered in far too much oil and the bacon was very fatty throughout.
Barcelona is a fantastic place, although the food and drink is expensive in most places. When out, particularly on la rambla, always ask to see the drinks price list as we paid 37 Euro for a 500ml beer and two 500ml bottles of wine!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a view of the main road; rooms at the rear back on to other buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJHStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to read you liked our hotel because you considered it very clean. Regarding the breakfast you have to think that we have a buffet and it offers a lot of things (it also has a diet section), not only sausages and bacon...
We agree with you La Rambla is not a good place for drinking a beer, as it is very expensive. In the reception of the hotel we can make recommendations about restaurants and bars around the city.
Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,264 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#93 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#50 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#77 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,901 - ₹ 21,990
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing