We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, Friendly staff, Expensive Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #88 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We picked this hotel because of its location. The fact that a metro is so very close made me book here. We came from the airport here using the metro so this saved us lots of extras on taxis etc.

I remember I booked through a website company which I can’t remember now the name and as always I considered Breakfast in the booking…or at least I thought!! I found it a bit tricky this time, and although the papers before booking showed that breakfast is included, this did not appear on the paper I got but of course this was not a problem with the hotel but the booking company. You see for us it is important that breakfast is included!

We had our breakfast the first morning but the second day we were asked to pay. I considered it too pricy and we decided to have breakfast out. No much trouble, instead we enjoyed it even more. In the neighbourhood there are lots and lots of breakfast little shops with a fourth of what the hotel was asking us to pay, and with a descent breakfast and service as well. So this was not a problem at all….only a little disappointing as I was shocked when I found out that ours was not included in the price when we booked.
If you notice a big difference in the price when booking with breakfast included, prefer to book just the room. You will save much if you eat your breakfast out especially if the days are sunny and beautiful.

We had room #806 overlooking the main road, it was clean and comfy, bed moderately comfortable, and bath clean and descent, but we did not spend much time in as most of the times we were out sight-seeing. The staff was helpful all right.
I would gladly return here, although the view from the main road is not the best.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,437 - 2,441 of 4,029 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Easy walk to the Ramblas and other popular sites in the city, conveniently located with a Metro stop (Paral.lel Station that connects with the Funicular de la Montjuic) right out the front door. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Funicular_de_Montjuïc
Hotel staff recommended some excellent restaurants. Rooftop pool was tempting, but the weather was a bit cool. Look forward to taking a dip when we return to Barcelona this sumer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Thomas Wat... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just returned from a 5 day stay and was really pleased with this hotel. True it is not in the middle of where it is happening, which can be an advantage, less noise and bustle the minute you step out on to the street. However there is a metro right outside the main door, numerous buses and so much within a 10 minute walk ~ check it out on google. Also, the building fascade is nondescript, but step inside and you find a welcoming greeting, friendly and efficient staff. Our room was of adequate size, in good condition and very clean and comfortable, although it did look on to an inside courtyard, which made the room a bit dull and gauging the weather a mild nuisance. We took the the breakfast deal and were so glad ~ wide variety and very efficiently run. The pool is really of the 'cool down' variety but I'm sure a welcomed advantage when the weather starts heating up and the sundeck, with super views, is a lovely place for a bit of R & R. All in all the standard of service together with an excellent price far out weighed the more glamorous or trendy hotels set in and around Las Ramblas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't look into the courtyard. Remember no tea and coffee facilities. Br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissyMac78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our family stayed at this hotel from April 4-8. We had a suite and regular room on the 9th floor overlooking their sign and had a huge balcony. The view was fantastic. The rooms were clean and spacious. Their cleaning staff was very efficient and barely noticeable.

However, the front desk staff really made our stay amazing. As we had never been to Barcelona, they provided us with recommendations for restaurants, tickets, attractions and even had a large taxi at 5:30 in the morning to take our family to the airport when we left. They were friendly and fully fluent in English. The best part was that they were friendly and took their time to explain things and give directions. Customer service was five star. Thank you so much for making this part of our vacation stress free.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronandmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Close to La Rambla and good restaurants. Remember to bring your round electrical plugs in addition to converters. The plugs are inset. Hotel provides a lot of amenities however only a small bar of hand soap. If you like to shower with soap instead of using a small bottle of wash, bring your own. Wasn't crazy about their shampoo ( no conditioner provided) so you may want to bring some to. Service is excellent. Breakfast buffet is very good but pricey.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarmaKarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 515 in Barcelona
4,098 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 515 in Barcelona
3,399 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#63 of 515 in Barcelona
3,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#92 of 515 in Barcelona
1,719 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#59 of 515 in Barcelona
2,299 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#39 of 515 in Barcelona
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#68 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 4,725 - ₹ 16,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing