We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel on Las Ramblas!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Barcelona
Ranked #114 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This hotel is fantastic in all respects!

The rooms are modern, updated and very quiet (despite our room overlooking Las Ramblas we never heard any street noise).

All the staff are terrific. Very friendly and extremely helpful. We arrived at 11:00am from overseas and our room was ready!

Our one bedroom suite was HUGE with an incredible view of Las Ramblas and the Gothic Cathedral. We had a large bedroom, two bathrooms, two outdoor decks, an AMAZING and large round seating area (with terrific views) and a separate sleeping area for my son (with his own television!)! I adored the round window in one of the bathrooms! One odd thing - the 'main' bathroom had a tub, shower and sink, but no toilet! The second bathroom had a sink and toilet. A bit strange by North American standards to not have a toilet in the bathroom, but it worked fine for us! The beds were very comfortable and the linens were top notch.

The location can't be beat! You can walk almost everywhere and for the places you can't walk to it is easy to get a cab. I really liked how the hotel was on Las Ramblas but the entrance was on a quiet side street!

I wasn't fond of the breakfast, but I attribute this more to not being used to European breakfast than to the quality of the food.

One slight drawback for some might be the lack of a swimming pool, but if you are in Europe to tour, then who wants to stop for a swim break?! I certainly did not, but my little one did, so I was thankful to find out there wasn't one available!

This hotel has it all! I highly recommend it. It is expensive, but well worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ONskigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDS07, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for expressing your opinion and giving us your positive feedback regarding your second stay with us in "one" of our best suites.

We do appreciate your comments regarding the decoration and we will take in cosnideration for our next renovation.

Agree with you with the pool. But we just recently open our new Explore Spa Studio with it's sun deck and a vitality pool that enable one to have a relax time while overlooking the neihborhood skyline.

What counts for us, is your satisfaction and the impression we left on you and if this is achieved we are more than pleased!

It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel and if you ever feel like coming back to Barcelona, we would be honored to welcome you in our hotel once again.

Kindest regards from Barcelona,

Gonçalo Duarte Silva
General Manager

Gracias

GDS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,527 - 1,531 of 2,585 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

We traveled from New York to Barcelona with our 2 year old. The flight there was a red eye and we had coach seats - which was not very fun! The way home we upgraded to first class and it was AMAZING! If you can afford it, I recommend it. Our daughter had her own seat and she slept for 5 of the 8 hour flight. AMAZING! Anyway, on to the hotel. We arrived at our Hotel only to be told that our one bedroom suite that we booked was not available. Not what you want to hear after a long flight. So, we complained a bit and told them the reason we booked this hotel was specifically so we could have a one bedroom, given our daughter still takes naps. So, they put us in a regular room for 1 night and then moved us to the suite the following evening. A little annoying, but at least they took care of it. We all got to our room and crashed!!
Then upon exploring Barcelona the next couple days we really appreciated the great location of this hotel. We loved our daily breakfast in the hotel (that came with our room) and I truly started my love of a real cappuccino. YUM!! One of the best ones was right there at the hotel - they have a little coffee bar. Love it! There was a Starbucks in the area, but I didn't even want it.

Our 1 bedroom suite was perfect! It had more than enough room for all 3 of us and the room was covered with windows. The crib they had for our daugter was nice and large so she had plenty of room to feel comfortable. We did our sight seeing during the day, came back to hotel around 4pm and let her take a nap until 7 or 8pm and then got her up to go out for dinner. She didn't like to get up, but once she was up and changed her clothes she was ready to go. We found so many amazing restaurants to eat at - not sure if it was because I did a lot of research, or if all the restaurants are just so good. If anyone wants restaurant recommendations let me know and I can try to remember. Most don't open until around 8 or 8:30, so be prepared for that. That is why we shifted our daughter's nap time. Our daughter fell in love with the sandwiches called "bikini's" it is a grilled cheese with ham I believe. If we were going to go to a nicer restaurant sometimes we would just grab a sandwich for her and then go to our restaurant.
We really loved our trip to Barcelona and feel the Meridien is a great hotel to make your home base! It is beautiful, clean, great food and coffee and they will do their best to accommodate your needs. Good luck!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDS07, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear guest

We are happy to read that you have been able to enjoy your stay with us and have been able to discover well Barcelona.

Yes summer time is all about "bikinis" and we know where are the best one in town...so that is another advantage to stay with us as not only our concierges know what and where to go to discovery all these delicatessen's as well each of us does have a secret spot to share with our guests.

Early arrivals during summer season are one of ths most challenges processes taht we do have in our hands but I'm glad that our team has been able to deliver.

Your feedback helps us to understand the needs of our guests and adjust our service to these needs.

I would be honored to welcome you again during your next stay in Barcelona.

Best regards

Gonzalo Duarte Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

As everyone says, the location of this place cannot be beat. Right off La Rambla. Many attractions are walking distance. And if not, the metro is a block away.

La Rambla is a VERY busy street (tourists, not traffic) and crowded until late at night. It can be noisy, but we had a room on the backside of the hotel and did not notice any noise problems. Slept through the night very well every night.

I am an SPG Platinum member and did not get a suite. But the room itself was sufficient. Clean, modern design. Spacious enough. Lots of closet space. The bathroom was great --- rainfall shower head, stone floors and shower stall.

The lobby is attractive and is a decent place to hang out. We had breakfast in the restaurant each morning at the buffet and it was pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel if you need a quiet nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDS07, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for your motivating/kind/valuable feedback! Our lobby (hub) is one of those places that our team put’s a lot of effort in order to ensure that when ones “hangs out” there is always something interesting going on.

Video art projection, best Cappuccino or latte in town to our interesting ritual every evening to celebrate another day, with a nice glass of cava, are some of the stuff that we keep re-inventing in order to add values to a Barcelona Experience.

We are glad that you have enjoyed them and it was a pleasure to have you in our hotel


Best regards

Gonçalo Duarte Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here 3 nights using SPG star points.
Since I had SPG Platinum status, we are upgraded to
great room facing La Rambla Street with balcony.
(Please see Photo 2)
It seems there are only 5 rooms facing La Rambla Street every 1 floor
(Please see Photo 1)
You can buy everything at Carfour next door.
The breakfast was average Meridien.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank notsofreq.traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDS07, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for expressing your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback!

As you mention we do have rooms facing Las Ramblas and rooms facing the back whcich somehow are quiter. Nevertheless despite our nice rooms Barcelona is a place to enjoy outside discovering everything that this fantatsic city has to deliver..

It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel and if you ever feel like coming back to Barcelona, we would be honored to welcome you in our hotel once again.

Kindest regards from Barcelona,

Gonçalo Duarte Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is along La Rambla in Barcelona. A very active, busy with lots of people street. Our rooms were very nice and comfortable. We were traveling with 2 teenage children and we were given adjoining rooms. Our rooms overlooked the La Rambla and the street noise didn't stop all night and into the morning hours. If you think this would bother you be sure to request a room that is away from the street. We liked the location because we were able to walk to buses for touring, restaurants were plenty and so was the shopping. Next time we will request a quieter room.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from La Rambla if you would like a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDS07, General Manager at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear guest

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with us! It was nice to hear that you have been able to enjoy the "activity" of Barcelona and that you teen's were also been able to enjoy it.

Adjoining rooms are a must nowadays for families and I'm glad that you have enjoyed them

Looking forward to welcome you next year so your kids can go and watch a Barça football game @ Camp Nou.

Best regards

Gonçalo Duarte Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#27 of 518 in Barcelona
915 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#31 of 518 in Barcelona
4,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 518 in Barcelona
2,204 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 518 in Barcelona
1,806 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#126 of 518 in Barcelona
6,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Barcelona

Address: Ramblas 111, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#88 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 13,041 - ₹ 47,479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned for discovering the rich artistic heritage represented by Barcelona's museums, music and architecture, Le Meridien Barcelona is a five star hotel located on the city's most famous street, Las Ramblas. With examples of Gaudi's architecture, the Liceo opera house, MACBA and the Gothic Quarter, all main attractions within walking distance, guests can immerse themselves in local culture. Throughout the hotel art and architectural detailing catch the eye. In the central lobby is Le Meridien's HUB, a perfect place to rendezvous with friends and family. Furnished with contemporary designer pieces and decorated with specially curated art installations. The Hub is a great place to meet and offers a stimulating and fascinating environment. Each of the 231 rooms and suites combines comfortable living with art and design elements, including original works by contemporary local artists. Sublimely comfortable Le Meridien furnishings and multiple entertainment options ensure a relaxed stay. The Longitude 02º 10' Bar in the HUB is the place to enjoy a delicious Illy coffee, fresh cakes or a glass of wine or cava. Alternatively, CentOnze Restaurant offers great views of Las Ramblas along with the gastronomic creations of Chef Eugeni Cortes who reinterprets local cuisine using fresh ingredients sourced from the nearby Boqueria Market. Le Pop Cocktail Bar stimulates your senses with an exciting blend of cocktails, music and vintage savoir vivre with a modern twist. Located on the sixth floor of the hotel, the Explore Spa Studio is a blissful oasis of relaxation offering treatments and therapies based on renowned French Cinq Mondes beauty products. Open to both guests and members of the public who, in consultation with a beauty therapist, can choose from a range of offerings designed to aid skin rejuvenation and promote personal wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meridien Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Le Meridien
Meridien Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing