We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious flat in good location, but confirm arrival time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Up Suites Bcn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Up Suites Bcn
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Spacious flat in good location, but confirm arrival time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is an apartment not a hotel room, and it is quite spacious. I had flat #21 which faced the street. It was a bit noisy at times (sirens, traffic, street noise), but since the building is not on a major street, it was ok. The place was very well appointed, warm and modern and very nice. You could fit a small family here, as there is a couch with pull-out bed, sleek modern kitchen with appliances (fridge, dishwasher, coffee maker). A few notes: there is no open lobby or onsite dining. The front door is locked to the street. You will want to confirm and re-confirm your arrival time though. My experience had me arriving into Barcelona close to 9 PM. When I arrived via cab at Up Suites, the front door was locked and no one answered the call button. Tired and a bit desperate, I called every suite, hoping someone would answer, but no one did. I would have been in real trouble had my colleagues not also been in town and had a phone number for the proprietor (my phone plan does not support international calling). That week was a very busy week for the city, and I doubt I would have found a hotel room, especially at the late hour. Fortunately, the proprietor arrived very quickly after our call and was quite nice. My advice - if you are arriving in the middle of the day, you should be ok, but take note if arriving very early or late as there may be no one to greet you after your journey.

Room Tip: Street facing flats are nice as they have balconies and a pleasant view of the buildings but can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KWCRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    61
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
71
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My partner and I stayed with my parents (in two separate apartments) for 5 nights in February. The apartments are modern, spotless and well-equipped. The apartments are fairly centrally located although perhaps more suited for people who are happy to walk (although there is plenty of public transport). I think the apartments are good value and would recommend them.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
299 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed 4 nights in mid-February with my wife and two preschoolers. Friendliest and most helpful staff anyone could ask for, a washing machine/dryer in the room, spacious bedroom with a moving wall that separates the living room (kids slept on large sofa bed). Neighborhood is fantastic with a Deutsches Bank about 1/2 mile away, a Leonidas chocolate shop, nice bakeries, a candy store, a place for great jamon called Don Ulpiano around the corner. The closest metro is Hospital Clinic, which is about an 8 minute walk away. As others stated it can be quite noisy in rooms facing the street (I didn't put it together until after I arrived that there's a hospital right up the road, and you can hear ambulance sirens at all hours). So the windows in the room could use some better soundproofing. Rooms have a coffee machine (pods on sale for 4,50 euro a bag downstairs), a dishwasher. Lots of kitchen utensils, a small stove with 2 burners, no oven, a microwave, large fridge. An elevator is available. Building is secured by a locked door where you need a code. Strong wi-fi included. Not really negatives, but some things that could be improved upon: safe was available, but it wasn't secured to an immovable object, meaning I (or anybody) could pick up the safe and carry it anywhere. The bed was fine for sleeping, but since it is two twins pushed together, a bit difficult for extracirricular activities. The place is great, but 140 euro a night is a bit steep, but Barcelona is quite a bit more expensive than cities in Germany.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaytonJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We are a family of 4 and had a quad room.This is actually a block of serviced appartments, the rooms are quite modern, have a kitchen with fridge, dishwasher and cooking and eating utensils. There is also a washing machine / dryer in the room and a table to eat at. This was a great place to stay. There are 2 supermarkets near by (ask the guy at the desk, the one that speaks good english is extremely helpful). There are a few restaurants & bars near the hotel, one bar was selling beer for 1 Euro a bottle.
The best way to get around from the appartment was by metro, buy yourself a daily pass and you can go everywhere. The Barcelona metro is magnificent. The city is not too large and walking from destination to destination can be quite enjoyable.
While here make sure you go to the football, ask the guys at reception when a game is on, don't buy the tickets from the guys at reception, go to the ground and buy your tickets there, they are much cheaper. The stadium is magnificent. One word of warning, the game will finish on or after midnight and at midnight the metro stops running, make sure you plan how you get back to the appartment from the ground, I think the bus service keeps working after midnight - we ended up walking from the ground back to Up Suites, its about a 1.5 hour walk and you need a map to ensure you are going the right way. All in all a great hotel / appartment, worth every cent and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed for six nights in mid January 2012. Everything was excellent. The two gentlemen who manned the reception area could not have been more helpful. The apartment was exactly as advertised and was immaculate. One of the best features was the closet space! It was like being home for six nights - everything unpacked in the wardrobe! Our first room faced the street and we did notice street noise so we did ask to change to a different room. This request was promptly met with no fanfare. The location is in a non-touristy neighborhood. We selected Up Suites for that very reason and were not disappointed. That said, it is about a 15-20 minute walk to Placa Catalunya. However, the red line (Urgell) was about 8-10 minute walk. There are wonderful bakeries nearby as well as a grocery store and several fruit and vegetable markets. For us, Up Suites was the best of both worlds - tour all day and live like a local at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LuvsLierna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Paseo De Gracia Bas Apartments
Eixample
MH Apartments
MH Apartments
#60 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
El Raval
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Apartments Casp74
Apartments Casp74
#22 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Eixample
Aspasios Rambla Catalunya Suites
Eixample
Villarroel Apartments
Villarroel Apartments
#72 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Up Suites Bcn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Up Suites Bcn

Property: Up Suites Bcn
Address: Calle Valencia, 115, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 760 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,486 - ₹ 16,172
Hotel Class:4 star — Up Suites Bcn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Up Suites Bcn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing