We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catalunya”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Catalunya”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

First trip to Barcelona; Staff at Alma were extremely helpful and resourceful. Good advise on restaurant recommendations. Hotel is tucked away from the busy crowds but close to the action. Overall a nice experience, hotel very clean and nice atmosphere, but perhaps lacked some international flare as when I stayed there all the guests were from US, Great Britain and Australia.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,435
    272
    64
    14
    13
See reviews for
278
1,002
62
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed at Alma pre and post cruise. Very well situated, close to major attractions. Hotel staff were very helpful and available to assist. Room and bathroom were spacious. The only thing we had trouble with were the lights and tv controls; they were slightly confusing to operate. Also, it seemed like the outlets' power turned off during the night, as we had to switch phone charger to another outlet in the middle of the night or in the morning when we woke, as it was no longer giving off power. This happened each night. Overall, we did like this hotel very much and would stay again. Well priced in excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilkimsobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The Alma is near perfect. A tranquil, stylish, luxurious haven in a busy city. Greeted on arrival with a big glass of excellent Cava by the delightful reception staff (who later booked sightseeing for us and recommended excellent restaurants), we were then shown to our very cool room (fingerprint opening instead of room key)! Minimalist luxury and comfort. Pitch-black at night and silent, whispering air-con, super comfy bed and fab pillows. Huge marble bathroom with two sinks and enormous shower and bath. Superb breakfast, lovely bar area including beautiful floodlit garden. I never sleep as well as I slept here. Only one moan - the gym and chilly pool are very basic and need a re-think - it seems as if they don't belong in this otherwise perfect hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOrchards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

A wonderful 3 day stay at this hotel in Barcelona. Well located, close to the metro and in a nice neighborhood. The staff are fantastic and extremely helpful. On checking in, we were given a glass of cava and the staff took the time to help orient us to the city and provide any information we needed. They were more then happy to help book tickets, provide suggestions etc.

The hotel itself is great, modern, but not too big which gives it a personal feel. The only criticism I have is that there is no door on the shower (which seems often the case in Europe) - leading to water all over the bathroom afterwards. But a small flaw in an otherwise great room

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluetrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Our experience at the Hotel Alma in August 2012 was a great one; the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. This made our stay in Barcelona more memorable. Their advice about where to eat and which sites to visit was excellent. The hotel itself is modern in a cosy sort of you. Not what we usually go for but we really liked it. There is a feeling of space throughout the hotel. We stayed on the 4th floor in a room facing the garden. It really was superb! Breakfasts were great as well. The garden was a lovely treat after a full day's walking. The location of the hotel was perfect for us. Passeig de gracia is grand wide avenue full of high end shops with many restautants just off it . It was nice to be not too close to las ramblas which is very busy(only 10 minute walk). barcelona exceeded my expectations. a truly wonderful city!

Room Tip: for peace and quiet pick a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albion2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
211 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,275 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,057 - ₹ 35,603
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing