We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, beautiful city”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Booked two nights at The Alma for a first trip to Barcelona for my wife and I. The location is outstanding, very central location in a great area. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. Would love to stay here again if we visit this beautiful city again, absolutely recommend The Alma to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJ1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,851)
There are newer reviews for Alma Barcelona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,298 - 1,302 of 1,851 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Located a few feet off of the most exquisite street, this is the perfect location to walk all over the city while being on a quiet side street. Hotel is beautiful, immaculate and service oriented. The pleasing minimalist design is extremely luxurious. Breakfast buffet has delicious food, the bar area feels like an inviting living room with a garden view. The staff was helpful even before our arrival. We arrived at 7am and were offered a room. Look for Pau G. At the reception desk, he is very helpful and knowledgable. Consider yourself lucky if there is availability

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MABNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Many of the top hotels were full, primarily for the Barca v Real Madrid match so it was with some uncertainty that we booked in at the Alma .. We need not have worried. This chic boutique hotel just off the Passage de Gracia was ideally located and the service from start to finish was first class. Check in is a little laborious due to the sophisticated finger print recognition system, but I am pleased to confirm that this worked flawlessly for the 4 days we were there. The decor is very subtle and understated and for some maybe just a little minimalist, but it was very much to our taste and gives a very exclusive look and feel. The lighting in some of the corridors is very low and probably would not be too every ones liking. We could not fault the attention to detail of the front of house team who delivered well with respect to restaurant recommendations, and other advice. The only area that disappointed was the service at breakfast .. too often tables were left uncleared and the provision of crockery, cutlery etc at the buffet was slow and frustrating. This seemed to result from a simple lack of staff to cope with a full breakfast dining room at the weekend.But all in all this was a minor irritant and we would not hesitate to return the next time we visit this fantastic city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

One of the reasons we chose Alma Barcelona was a lot of thumbs up reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel itself is a very interesting building from the interior design point of view, with a grandiose atrium yet a very nice and cosy reception area where attentive staff is looking after your every need. We did like the fingerprint entry system to the rooms all the more so as I was travelling with my 11-year old son who thoroughly enjoyed such innovative way of entering the room. The room was nicely appointed in the grey-brown-and-white palette with designer furniture which in fact turned out to be convenient. I commend the hotel for offering to chose how many if at all breakfasts to take, and the quality of food was without any flaws. I d like to comment on the shower system in the room we were staying. It appeared to be working at its own pace: when I wanted to make the water warmer it was turning biling hot, and the next thing when I was trying to reduce the temprature it went back to stone cold. With a few stryuggles like that we eventually mastered the system but my suggestion to the hotel is to check it (I was scared to turn on the overhead shower :)), also but this is purely subjective the glass door or better call it wall was the only thing separating the shower area from the water dispenser area, it is great from the design point of view but not so practical.
To sum it up: a very impressive and affordable nice boutique hotel in the center of Barcelona with a very attentive and efficient staff. We give you a thumbs-up :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigbear70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay from the beginning till the end. Very kind people and nice room. Next time in Barcelona it will be Alma again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xccharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,738 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#66 of 513 in Barcelona
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
263 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#1 of 513 in Barcelona
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 15,912 - ₹ 70,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing