We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To avoid absolutely”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cortes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cortes
Ranked #264 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“To avoid absolutely”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Although well located, only one advice: AVOID this hotel (if you can):
- comfort was poor: small room, uncomfortable and narrow bed, bad noise isolation
- personel attitude: not much is done for the guests, personnel seemed not concerned by questions and requests, sometimes ironic ....
- breakfast : poor and rationed, better go in coffee shop next door
- internet access unstable or inexistant
- dirty bed linen and towels ...
and of course you have to pay in advance so forget cancellation possibilities

Room Tip: don't book it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gijomka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    247
    110
    30
    12
See reviews for
80
199
58
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Pros: Friendly staff, breakfast is included with price (not the best tasting but it was free), very basic but clean rooms, very close to Las Ramblas and Plaza Catalunya, free WIFI in room (super important for us!)

Cons: The room had a total of 2 AC outlets, when there are 2 people with cameras and phones to charge, it can be a bit of a hassle. Slow drain in the tub, you'll have a full tub after a short shower. Questionable choice of colour/decor but who cares if you're not going to spend tons of time in the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwgtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Truthfully, the front desk was very friendly, but unfortunately that was the only benefit. The hotel is painted in the most unflattering shades of purple and orange, and the furniture is extremely old and questionably clean. The double room had two very poor single beds, and the rooms reeked of an odd smell. At sixty euro a night, the only true value to this hotel is if you are in a hurry to get to bed after a walk on las ramblas, in that it is only about a minute walk off of a side street.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccmaniav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

We returned yesterday from a 4 night stay at this hotel. I think this is a great little hotel. The rooms are small but clean, staff were really friendly. I've paid a lot more for worse hotels. Yes they don't have plugs in the sink or bath, I didn't need one but am sure reception would help if you needed one. The rooms can be a bit noisy but I've experienced the same in other hotels.
The breakfast was basic, (bread rolls, pastry, coffee and juice) but filled us up. The location is great, it's at the top of Las Ramblas, walking distance from most sights and the Aerobus is a 2 min walk away. Getting this bus from the airport is so simple, 5 euros for a single journey and the bus stops in the placa de catalunya a 2 min walk from the hotel (they run every 10 mins!!)
We ate at the hotel one night as they do a 3 course menu including drink and service charge/vat for 10 Euros, must say this was the best meal I had during my stay and the wine I had with the meal was nice! Try the food here......
If we ever come back to Barcelona, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandyfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Seconds from Las Ramblas, basic but clean room, tiny dated bathroom with no plugs in the sink or bath and no hairdryer, it had a great balcony though. The staff were friendly, but didn't seem to know one end of Barcelona from the other. The real problem was the unbelievable noise, all of it coming from inside the building, at all hours. All in all, not an unpleasant stay, but as I value my sleep I would not be rushing back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenfromdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#234 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#299 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#138 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
#254 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Medium Monegal
Hotel Medium Monegal
#452 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel California
Hotel California
#206 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortes

Property: Hotel Cortes
Address: Santa Ana 25, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,844 - ₹ 14,262
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cortes 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortes Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing