We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #107 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our first visit to Barcelona we were part of a Family group on a Weekend +Monday trip.
The Hotel was booked by my Sister-in-Law,(Thanks Rose) and it turned out a very good experience.most all the people that i told that we were going to Barcelona said to be very careful because of muggings and pickpockets,we did not see any theft through out our stay,i even commented to friends that there are more Police sirens back home than here.I even ventured out fairly early for a stroll(7.45am) and did not feel anyway threatened,its also the best time to see things(hardly anybody about). The Hotel is ideally situated for walking as its only about a 100yds from the Ramblas and a short walk gets you to the Harbour area,where you can get some food and people watch.Food is a bit on the expensive side but as all Big Cities charge more you just have to accept it.The Hotel room we were in was on the front of the Hotel directly over the entrance overlooking the street,to me it was ok i like to hear whats going on but one of the other members of our party was a bit upset at being woken in the night to shouting and singing,but you are in a City and i only heard any noise once when needing the toilet,but got to sleep straight away.The room was very quiet no creaking floors or heating/water noises,in fact the room was very warm to warm for me but the Wife likes hot so i have to sweat,you can dial in the temp you want on the control panel by the door,just a comment about the heating,all the power to lights etc is controlled by placing the credit card that opens the door into a slot and then all the light etc work,when you go out the room and take the card out,when you come back in and replace the card the heating sets to a default eg 22c,i found out when trying to get to sleep i was way to hot,just need to dial in lower setting,the room was great,clean and functional,shower was brilliant the biggest i have been in.We did not try the breakfast meal so cannot comment,but the bar was good, average price and you could watch television or talk.The staff as has been said before are friendly and helpful even opening the Hotel door at times,also must add on that the Rituals bathroom soaps and shower items are really good have even looked up our local supplier to get top up supplies.We will be visiting Barcelona again but later in the year as April can be cool and we will be booking this Hotel.When reviewing any holiday you tend to pick up on the low points and everybody will have them whether its the airport/the place/hotel/ so its a balance, you hear horror stories all the time but mostly its only minor niggles and as this one stands out as one of the good ones,as a footnote it amazed me on walking about i noticed that they have a cycling hire system called Bicing which as i later found out you subscribe to and i think it was 20 euro`s per year and it gives you access to these cycles that are placed all over the city which you can pick up and drop off in designated locations all over the city and best of all i did not see any vandalised ,they tried this in the UK but all the bikes were nicked.All in all a very good Hotel and City to visit we will be back.

Room Tip: We were in room 306 good to see life on the road out front even had a small narrow balcony,great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Ian and family, after reading your opinion we feel happy. We feel happy once again because we have made you enjoy your stay in HOTEL ESPAÑA and your visit to Barcelona. Thank you for you nice words to us. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy. I look forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the very near future. Yours cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    522
    122
    34
    22
See reviews for
174
892
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Hotel is conveniently located near Las Ramblas where one can walk to almost anywhere in Barcelona. I strongly recommend staying here for the following reasons.

The rooms are furnished in a contemporary style of earth tones with all the conveniences of home. It features: WIFI, telephone, TV, mini bar , however, one rarely stays in the room only to change in the evening to go out.. The bathroom is quite spacious with a large shower (great) and the closet is enough for two for a couple of days. A safe is available to store your passport and other important documents, nevertheless, you don't have to worry about theft.

The design of the hotel is very unique as it has both a old and new feel, with embellishments of various styles. Once you enter into the hotel, you think...modern but strange as it is rectangular in shape and the lobby is on the other side of the reception. It is quite small but useful while waiting for friends. You can see the breakfast area and dining room through the giant glass doors, although, we never ate at the hotel, I'm sure it's convenient for families.

There is a bar and a comfortable living room area next to the bar (away from the reception) so one can gab with friends or have a cocktail before going out or enjoy a nightcap before retiring.

The staff is professional but rather impersonal...which I thought was strange for Spaniards, however, these are Catalan, they are quite different so don't expect them loud boisterous. The hotel is a rather quiet and peaceful of which I highly recommend.

Overall:

Rooms: Some might find it small but it is very convenient and clean.
Showers & toilet: wonderful
Food: We never ate there since restaurants abound near the hotel.
SPA/gym: none
Pool: none
Reception: professional
Bar: reasonable but some say pricey
Price: OK, for a hotel of this caliber, however, its a bit pricey for some
Location: Perfect

If you are looking for convenience and location then this is the place to be. It is not a grand hotel but it is perfect for your first visit to Barcelona. I have been here many times and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not located in the Atrium but located elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff, that our facilities reached your expectations and which is the most rewarding, is to know that we made you enjoy and that you will recommend Hotel Espanya to your friends. Thank you for encourage us to continue working very hard for the satisfaction of our guest. I hope to see you soon in Hotel España.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This hotel was perfect for a weekend break in Barcelona. The location is ideal (1 mins off Las Ramblas) and very close to the metro. We got the airport bus to the centre and it was only a 10 min walk to the hotel or alternatively you can get the metro from the drop off point to the hotel. A taxi from the hotel to the airport on our way home was 30 euro. The hotel itself had some beautiful touches and the rooms were very nice and very clean. The shower was great, powerful with a massive shower head. The free mini bar had juices, water and peanuts which were replaced daily. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. It wasn't nearly as noisy as I had anticipated with it being so close to Las Ramblas but I wouldn't describe it as very quiet so light sleepers may need ear plugs. Overall a great hotel and I would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MF87Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing widely your experience. We are very proud to know you enjoyed your stay with us and received a good service from our staff and the level of our facilities was as expected. We work daily very hard for the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to know we enhanced your stay in Barcelona. For the next time I tempt you to have a meal in our restaurant La Fonda. I am sure you will also enjoy it! Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España very soon and thank you for your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a beautifully designed hotel with some wonderful touches....... If you prefer hotel which isn't grand but has a cool but stylish vibe to it then Espana should fit the bill
Location is great 2 mins from the rambles and 5 mins from placa reale or boqueria market
Breakfast was fine with the usual continental fair and you have options to pay a few euros for cooked eggs ! service throughout my wife's and my stay was pleasant enough and bar is not overpriced.... Bottle of cava for eur20 is pretty ok for a hotel
However a few points to note ...... The standard rooms are woefully small, you literally have about 8 inches from the end of the bed to the desk/tv .... So very claustrophobic.... I didn't see the rooms but would suggest upgrading (although beds were firm and showers were good) Also noise levels not great ..... Rooms at rear of hotel suffer from local residents (not their fault but just consequence of backing onto people's backyards !) and as central access to rooms is in a glass enclosed atrium you can hear everyone's doors opening / shutting
Would I stay again .... Yes but I'd be selective on the room ..... And bring earplugs !

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of hotel and not opening onto central atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
First of all we thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city and for you honest comments to us. I am very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.
As per your comments about the noise, I do apologized for the incoveniences caused and we will take into consideration to reduce it.
Thank you for suggesting upgrading to other travellers if your stay is long or if you bring big luggage with you.
Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future and thank you once again for sharing your experience with us. Yours cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,311 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#102 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#19 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#8 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#140 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#46 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Property: Hotel Espana
Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#69 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#79 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,538 - ₹ 22,589
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing