We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Overpriced, a/c doesn't work, thin walls, loud” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silken Gran Hotel Havana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Ranked #162 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
North America
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Overpriced, a/c doesn't work, thin walls, loud”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My partner and I spent 7 days in Barcelona ending around the 7th of May. Our room was tiny, thus we upgraded to a suite. The a/c didn't work and made the afternoons extremely warm in the room. At night, we heard neighbors showering loudly, as well as yelling in the hallways.

The breakfast meals are overpriced. You can get better quality food at local cafes on Ave Garcia.

Do not stay in this hotel. Take your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: For quiet, get rooms near '_25.' We moved rooms several times and none of the a/c units in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldBizTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silken10, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear client,

We thank you for taking you time in writing your experience in our hotel, and we are very sorry to know that your stay in our Hotel was not as enjoyable as you expected.
Regarding climatisation , we are very pleased to inform that we have already finished the improvement works and we are able to offer now individual heating or air conditioning in each room.
About breakfast buffet, we are dissapointed about your review because we usually receive good feedback from our clients: we offer eggs à la carte( fried, boiled, omelettes, scrambled) hot sausages,vegetables and bacon, fresh fruit, juices, 5 varieties of bread, 6 types of pastries, 4 types of cheese, charcuterie, gluten free options, soya milk, smoked salmon, cava, etc. The price of the buffett is the standard price for a 4 stars Hotel, but we offer discounts on the price of the breakfast buffet if you book it in advance fot he whole stay, so we should recommend this option if you shuld come again.
Please do not hesitate in considering to contact us directely next time you plant to come to Barcelona, so we can have the opportunitu to show you the improvements made in the air conditioning system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    549
    145
    69
    27
See reviews for
211
555
38
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

We traveled to Barcelona for the first time in May 2012, and were very pleased with our stay at the Silken Gran Hotel Havana. The hotel staff were accommodating and friendly- even providing an electrical converter upon check-in, when we realized ours was left home!

While we agree there is some wear to the common spaces, were very happy with our room, which was pleasantly appointed with a comfortable bed, great water pressure in the shower, working safe and plenty of space for two people. While wifi was included, we did have to keep requesting a new sign in- which the staff provided without question.

All this said, it was the location that truly made all the difference. We were a short walking distance to many areas (Las Ramblas, Passeig de Gracia, etc.), but with a nearby subway station, you can easily get anywhere in the city. (Or out, as the closest stop also has trains that run outside Barcelona -perfect if you're planning a day trip, i.e. a Sunday afternoon shopping excursion to Sitges.) We also felt very safe the entire time. While it was great to be in close proximity to the highly trafficked tourist area, we preferred being able to walk a few blocks back to our more quiet street at the end of the night.

All these together make this hotel a great value for your money, and one we would highly recommend.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Silken Gran Hotel is a great hotel, very well located (you can go walking everywhere), great amenities, very confortable. Totally recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luiza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you very much for choosing SIlkenGran Hotel Havana for your stay in Barcelona. We are very happy to know you enjoyed our facilities. Hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcellona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Too much things to repair, no control for every maintenance of the hotel utilities, shower booth, elevator, lightening in the room

No isolation in the room (5th fl,) enough to be waken 4 o'clock in the morning because one of my next door people take his shower, obliged to packed my bagages to change the room.

Shower room on 7th Fl. next to sauna room doesn't work.

Too hot in the room 28 degrees during the night.

Elevator key doesn't work, waste 40 minutes to arrive at 5th fl even though I asked to reissue the key. Once again maintenance problem.


NOTHING WORKS!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjstns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silken10, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
From Silken Gran Hotel Havana we deeply regret the inconveniences that you detailed during your stay and we appreciate all your comments, which we take very seriously, because they help us improve. We know that for a short period of time we had problems with maintenance daily service of the hotel. This setback is now fully resolved. In any building of medium or large size, a small delay in the daily maintenance of the facilities is evident in no time. When you think about an upcoming trip to Barcelona, we would like to ask you to contact me directly , ​​so we can give special treatment and see for yourself that the situation is not the usual you live in our establishment. We hope to have this second chance. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a very good hotel located in Gran Via de les Cortes Catalanes, a strategic position that enable You to get to many of the Barcelona attractions, not only by Metro (that is quite near) but also on foot, if you like to walk.
We choose a Club Room on the fifth floor and has been a good choice, because the room was spacious, well insonorized from the trafic outside and from the adjacent rooms; bed was comfortable; besides the TV, you have also a radio-CD player. Room and toilet were well cleaned. The safe is big enough to contain a reflex camera with two lenses and Ipad. In the bathroom you can find a lot of facilities beside the basic ones, such as dental and shaver kit and also a shower sponge; the hair dryer is a real hair dryer not one of those white toys that buzz…Of course you can find slippers and bathrobes. On friday and saturday night, You can enjoy live music (often jazz): if you want, you can reserve a table but it is possible also to stay on the sofas all around and listen from there. People at the reception are quick, kind and ready to help you.
You have a wifi connection included; the pwd is for three days, and at the end you can get another one , always free of charge. The connection is very good.
One of the thing I’ve liked most is the Nespresso machine on the fifth floor!! You have a selection of 3 different kinds of coffee and a selection of pastries (sometimes also apples), absolutely free…a very good idea!! If I should be back in Barcelona, I will choose again the Gran Havana!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susannaegiovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silken10, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for choosing the Gran Havana for your stay in Barcelona. We are especially grateful that your stay was wonderful and up to par with your expectations. Thank you for your positive comments.
We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#84 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#94 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,544 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#97 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#65 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Eixample
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Grupotel Gran Via 678
#130 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#78 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Gran Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Gran Hotel Havana

Property: Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes 647, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#176 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,132 - ₹ 28,295
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Gran Hotel Havana 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona is a four star hotel of great categroy that has been extended and rehabilited as a luxury hotel in 1991, also, completely redecorated in 2009. Its located in the L. Fradera house, a historic building of 1872, in Gran Vía de les Corts Catalanes nº 647, right in the centre of Barcelona city, only a step away from the most emblematic buildings of Gaudí: the “Sagrada Familia”, the “casa Batlló”, “La Pedrera”, and also, right next to the mythical “Ramblas” and “Barrio Gótico”.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, offers you one of the best places to stay in Barcelona center where the combination of vanguardism and tradition exists. Historic Building of the 19th century that has the 21st century interiorism.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, has a panoramic terrace with an exterior swimming pool, solarium and sauna, right in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Silken Gran Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Gran Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing