We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The first day was bad, the next four days were good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Ranked #150 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The first day was bad, the next four days were good.”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

On our arrival we were given a very small room. You had to jump over the suitcases. I complained to the reception since I had reserved a "Comfort room" versus a "basic room" . I told them this room had to be a basic room because they could not have anything smaller. After some discussion, they admitted they had made a mistake and they would give us another room.
The new room was of a good size, it was in the second floor almost on top of the hotel entrance door. We noticed that the air vents were blowing warm air. My wife called reception and requested to have the air condition system set correctly since the room was too warm. A bell boy came and adjusted it. At 3 am, we could not sleep because of the heat in the room. I opened the large window to the street and the fresh air came in but also the noise of the cars and the conversation of the people in the sidewalk. Since we had just arrived after a 10 hour flight, eventually we went to sleep. Next morning my wife complained to reception and we were told that they were very sorry but the air conditioning was not working on the second floor. Why did you give us that room? Well we did not have any other one available. They gave us another room in the fifth floor (the club level) It was of the same dimensions, but had air conditioning and on the corridor it had an expresso coffee machine, pastries and news papers for free. The next four days were good. They also comp that mornings breakfast (expensive but we were too tired to go outside the hotel). Location is fantastic. On Fridays and Saturdays they have a jazz band playing in the lobby. Security is very good (you need your key to operate the elevator). Internet was not very fast and they changed the password every other day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silken10, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Customer, we regret any inconvenience that we caused by changes of room and we are happy that you finally liked our upgrade to the Club floor. Our main interest is to get the comfort of our guests during their stay and try to take care of them as best as possible
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    569
    146
    71
    29
See reviews for
220
587
42
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent five nights at the Silken Gran and loved every moment! Gorgeous hotel in the heart of downtown. Small but luxurious rooms and fantastic roof-top bar and pool. Excellent restaurant and lounge. Highly recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silken10, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
We thank you very much for your deference in choosing our Hotel for your stay in Barcelona , and we are glad to hear your stay was enjoyable. We hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

A group of about 20+ colleagues stayed at the hotel (on business trip). if you really need wifi (like me), stay away from this hotel. They advertise free wifi but you won't get the service in most rooms, not even weak signal. The breakfast was just OK. There was a lot of noise coming from the air conditioner!

Room Tip: ask if you could really get wifi in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oruvan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silken10, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear client,
We appreciate very much your review about your stay in our Hotel. All comments are very important for us . We are already in contact with the external WI-FI providers in order to solve this matter as soon as possible. It would be very helpful for us to know your room number in order to check the airco machine, as we are ending the works of improvement of all climatisation system in the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We were about a seven minute walk to two different metro stations, close to Passeig de Gracia and many other landmarks.

The bedroom area was spacious by European standards and the property was located in a quiet neighborhood just outside the action. Views from the balcony were nice, the sleep area was modern, but the bathroom was a bit dated. Nevertheless, the soaking tub was nice. We found the common areas to be dated, old school high end in appearance. Service at the desk and bar areas were both attentive and informative.

It's important to couch this in terms of price...we paid less than $100 USD/night for this hotel using a well known hotel bidding site. At that price point we would classify this property as a tremendous value. I would have been willing to pay to up $160 USD/night for this room. If they upgraded common areas and the suite bathrooms I would go up to $220/night. DO get the best value for your dollar with this property.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delaneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silken10, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review about our Hotel. All your suggestions are very welcome, because they help us to improve our service and we will work to get better. We have jsut finalised the improvement works of air conditioning system and the next improvements will be made in the public areas of the Hotel
We hope you consider again our Hotel for your next trip to Barcelona and you can enjoy all improvements made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel at the start of our honeymoon for 5 nights. It is in a great location to explore Barcelona with the placa de catalunya, La Rambla and the Passeig de Garcia only a few blocks away.
The hotel itself is very clean and smart. We had a solarium room on the 6th floor with its own terrace. The room was lovely and a good size.
Room service is very reasonably priced and would recommend the spaghetti carbonara!
We ate in the restaurant on one night. The food itself was very tasty but there was no atmosphere and the staff were setting up breakfast tables while we ate.
The only negative we found was that the rooftop pool was shut for maintenance for the whole week and that had been one of the main reasons for booking this particular hotel.
If you are there on Friday or Saturday night the cocktail and jazz nights are worth going to.
Overall a very positive experience and we would definitely stay there again when we return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moinalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silken10, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for choosing the Gran Havana for your stay in Barcelona. Your positive comments are very appreciated. We are sorry that you could not enjoy our swimming pool, that it was under improvement works during your stay.
We hope you should consider again our Hotel next time you come to Barcelona and you can enjoy then all our facilities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#81 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#66 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Gran Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Gran Hotel Havana

Property: Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes 647, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#176 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,756 - ₹ 30,489
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Gran Hotel Havana 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona is a four star hotel of great categroy that has been extended and rehabilited as a luxury hotel in 1991, also, completely redecorated in 2009. Its located in the L. Fradera house, a historic building of 1872, in Gran Vía de les Corts Catalanes nº 647, right in the centre of Barcelona city, only a step away from the most emblematic buildings of Gaudí: the “Sagrada Familia”, the “casa Batlló”, “La Pedrera”, and also, right next to the mythical “Ramblas” and “Barrio Gótico”.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, offers you one of the best places to stay in Barcelona center where the combination of vanguardism and tradition exists. Historic Building of the 19th century that has the 21st century interiorism.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, has a panoramic terrace with an exterior swimming pool, solarium and sauna, right in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silken Gran Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Gran Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing