We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to barcelona”
Review of Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #151 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
1 review
“First trip to barcelona”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The hotel is perfectly located in a very good area that is so close to the centre but so far from the noisy and touristic atmosphere. Clean and comfortable with helpful staff. Avoid lower floors (I stayed on the second floor) because you can hear the metro but because most of the time I was out I didn't mind.

Room Tip: Avoid lower floors because you can hear the metro and take rooms that have windows and overview via...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaVou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    312
    106
    25
    19
See reviews for
126
265
30
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2011

A very smart four star hotel situated just off the Diagonal, close to the metro and bus routes. It is located in the 'Kensington' area of Barcelona. This is a lovely area convenieont for sightseeing (La Pedrera being only five minutes walk away) and travel. The hotel is managed very professionally, is comfortable, efficient and well organised. The staff are courteous, helpful and business like, which I find very re-assuring. On the day of departure we left our baggage at the hotel for that day. On collection we were able to utilize toilet and washroom facilites to freshen up before leaving for the airport. A member of staff volunteered to obtain a taxi, and promptly went into the street stopping the next available cab. No extra charge was requested or expected for these additional services.

Room Tip: Hotel fronts onto a main road therefore quieter rooms at rear. Rear faces onto courtyard therefore n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmoral_Barcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Guest:

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Balmoral Hotel we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at Trip Advisor with such kind comment. Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you, once more.

We look forward to see you again!.

Best wishes,

Balmoral Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

If you want a good value(by Barcelona standards) hotel in a quiet area of the city then this is for you.You will need to be prepared to go on the metro or take a bus unless you are a keen walker as the hotel is not in the centre.For us this was a plus as we liked to escape the crowds especially in July.Pay extra for a balcony room it is worth it.We had a lovely terrace and enjoyed a bottle of wine early evening after a long day of sight seeing.The rooms are quite small but beds are comfy and it is clean.We had breakfast which was lovely,good choice,however it is not worth the extra money really,just convenient.I would stay here again if we do ever go back to Barcelona again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smplayareal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmoral_Barcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear guest:

We thank you for having chosen the Hotel Balmoral for your city break in Barcelona last month and are glad to learn that also your second stay with us met your expectations.

Our hotel is just off Avinguda Diagonal, one of the city's main shopping arteries and only 200 metres from Passeig de Gràcia where you will find the world's leading fashion brands. And also the district of Gràcia is within walking distance of our hotel; its streets abound with alternative fashion boutiques at affordable prices. Further, the district offers great gastronomic options with lovely terraces to enjoy the gorgeous Mediterranean climate.

We truly hope that the Catalan capital will soon be on your travel list again and shall be delighted to accommodate you again.

Respectfully,
Hotel Balmoral, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

hotel is oké. Not very nice but perfect for a weekend in Barcelona. Metro stop close to the hotel, busstup in front of the hotel and you can walk to al lot of sites in 15 minutes. Good beds and you can choose youre pillow. In the area lots of shops and nice restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmoral_Barcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear guest:

We thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Balmoral and for your valuable feedback. We take guest reviews to heart as they allow us to compare the quality and customer service we strive to provide with the value perceived by our guests.

We are sorry to learn that our hotel was not to your liking especially as it has only recently undergone a major refurbishment. We are pleased to know, though, that you enjoyed the gastronomic delights at nearby restaurants and the myriad of entertainment and shopping options close-by.

Sincerely,
Hotel Balmoral, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights over the Formula 1 Grand Prix weekend. The hotel is reasonably close to the centre with the Sagrada Familia not very far away. The reception staff were efficient but not particularly friendly apart from 1 receptionist who was very helpful in finding a great restaurant for us. The hotel is clean and the bar and front reception are presentable.However, I did have 1 major problem with the hotel in that it did not provide an iron/ironing board. I rang the reception and they informed me that the hotel does not provide such items and that the ironing service ( chargeable) they do provide was not available over a weekend. I found this very disappointing for a 4 star hotel. To sum up, it's an ok 4 star hotel, but there are better in Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DunblaneScully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmoral_Barcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear guest:

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel Balmoral and for taking time to share your point of view with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor.

We are most grateful for any kind of feedback as it makes us aware of possible flaws and allows us to take corrective actions, whenever and wherever possible.

As to the provision of irons/ironing boards to hotel guests, we admit that such amenity is not available at present but we will consider its incorporation in future. As you state in your review, only during the week do we provide laundry service – being requested mainly by (female) business travellers.

We truly hope you will want to stay with us again during your next visit to Catalonia.

Kind regards from Spain,
Hotel Balmoral, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#169 of 513 in Barcelona
1,268 reviews
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#202 of 513 in Barcelona
539 reviews
Eixample
Evenia Rosello
Evenia Rosello
#129 of 513 in Barcelona
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#139 of 513 in Barcelona
1,126 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balmoral

Property: Hotel Balmoral
Address: C/ Via Augusta, 5, 08006 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#193 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#196 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,158 - ₹ 21,399
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balmoral 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balmoral Barcelona is an elegant and classical Hotel in the center of Barcelona, recently refurbished to make you feel yourself at home away from home in the heart of the touristic, financial and commercial district of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing