We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding..”
Review of Igueldo

Igueldo
Ranked #402 of 9,770 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 41
Cuisines: Barbecue, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oustanding..”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I have had the good fortune to eat in a lot of great restaurants the world over. This makes my top 3..easily. Minimalist white decor but warm and inviting. Great team running Igueldo and very smooth attentive yet unobtrusive service. The food was sublime and the combination of flavours simply wonderful. So much so that I drunk much less wine than I normally would with a meal so I could really appreciate the quality of cooking. Oh and the wine list was also top notch and oh so reasonable. Love that you can take half portions on starters (trust me choosing is difficult). I also had desert which I almost never do. It was a cream cheese soufle with strawberry ice cream. I cannot begin to tell you how good it was. Enjoyed it so much we are going back tonight :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank macraes37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    158
    48
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“If you want to spend a bit more... check this out..”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Really nice place for a romantic meal/meal with friends..

Food was excellent

some interesting dishes and the wine was very reasonably priced....

Service was also good, attentive but not OTT

Definitely recommend this for a nice night out in Barcelona!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best basque”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We read the reviews on trip advisor and had to try this restaurant (which happened to be very close to where we were staying). The food, the atmosphere and the service were wonderful! Two in the group selected from the set menu and two ordered individual dishes. We sampled the pear ravioli, grilled vegetables with hummus, salmon, steak, mushroom risotto, and then had two fabulous deserts. Each dish was beautifully presented and deliciously prepared. The service was great. Chef dropped by the table a couple of times to make sure we were pleased with the food. We definitely were! It was such a wonderful experience that we made plans to return before leaving Barcelona.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Arzak has moved to Barcelona”
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

We were delighted to find out after the most amazing lunch that the owners of Igueldo spent some time working at Arzak in St Sebastian (rated 8th in the world). We visited Arzak a few years ago....but what a delight to find this gem! The truth is we were floored by the artichoke and fois gras starter, the grilled squid with Iberian ham, and the turbot with potatoes.....Igueldo is a must for food lovers visiting Barca.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelnut064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem.”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Located in a normal street behind a normal door and front is a hidden gem. The local bask kitchen is the basis for the dishes. The chef takes the order at the table and tells you in good english all details of what you will be eating.
Great dishes and good priced wines in modern white interior. This restaurant is a absolute must if you are in Barcelona

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flateric09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Igueldo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Igueldo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing