We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty, tasty and original”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Romero Restaurante - CLOSED

Romero Restaurante
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Description: José Camacaro León has opened Romero, a special and romantic restaurant, located at Barcelona town center in a very quiet and well connected neighbourhood where you can find market and natural food including options for celiac and vegetarian people. At Midday economic menus and dishes of the day are also served.
Barcelona, Catalonia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pretty, tasty and original”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Just a block away from the historial Mercat de la Concepció, at very center of Barcelona business area, you can find this nice and pleasant small familiar restaurant with daily new lunch menues made of seasonal fresh products. The chef combines mediterrenean products with a personal touch of modern. The service (ask for Andreu) is always at your disposition. A three course meal with at least 5 choices for a mere 12 euros... it's a gift!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordi_of_Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    80
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ADELAIDE
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Probably a bad day”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Just reached Barcelona and decided to try lunch here as it was close to where we were staying. Wasn't a warm welcome when we arrived. The waiter and waitress looked ?stressed/unhappy? With a late arrival (to be fair we walked in at 1545). Decided to go with the flow. The owner/chef did appear to try and improve the service. On a positive note the food was above average for a $12 euro set meal, downside pork was undercooked, but wasn't in the mood to send it back. Felt sorry for the whole affair as a definite tension. Quickly finished and left.... Probably a bad day.....

Helpful?
2 Thank RemShai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service!”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Visited here with my boyfriend after seeing reviews on tripadvisor. Definitely was not disappointed. We went at lunch time and I think the set menu was around 12/14 euros which for 3 courses in central Barcelona is pretty good - especially considering the food quality and service that we received. the chef came out and explained the choices on the menu as my boyfriend does not speak Spanish and he was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank VikkiK91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Warm service and inventive cuisine”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is a very small and charming restaurant, offering a warm welcome and creative dshes. We enjoyed the set menu...loved the vegetables and goat cheese and duck with fig sauce...delectable!
Every dish we had was prepared beautifully, and the wine selections were perfect...all for very reasonable cost. We had had a really long and tiring day of non stop walking, and this little neighborhood spot was the ideal place to unwind and enjoy lovely service and fine cuisine.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine34102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummm!”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My husband and i ate at Romero on our trip to Barcelona in May. We went with the set menu the allowed you to make a selection of first course, main course and dessert for 21euros. I had the salad with vegetables and goat cheese, the duck with a fig sauce and fruit for dessert. My husband had the grilled vegetables with hummus and steak with port sauce. We both LOVED our meals. We're from a place where they say we have some of the best beef in the world, but my husband enjoyed his steak soooo much he said it was the best he ever had. My duck was AMAZING!

The restaurant has a great atmosphere! We also both have gluten intolerences and the staff was knowledgeable about celiacs and it wasn't a problem eating there. If you get a chance to go - DO IT! And I'm definitely a foodie and really enjoyed it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank peoplephotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Romero Restaurante also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing