We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #72 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Booked a meduim priced room and requested a balcony and high floor, both of which we got. Room was large and light and airy, but the view was magnificent. Right across from the Gothic Cathedral. Room was not luxurious but quite nice, comfortable,with two chairs which we pulled in front of window to view the cathedral. Couldn't ask for a better location. Staff were helpful. Skipped breakfast (too expensive) but there are places around to pick up something. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helenwChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear guest,

Please receive our heartfelt thank you for such a kind comment. We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We agree with you about our location. Being in front of the Cathedral and in the heart of the amazing city of Barcelona makes our Hotel very special and a great starting point to discover the city!

We hope to have you stay with us again next time you visit our city.

Best regards,

Hotel Colón, Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,212 - 1,216 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

Hotel Colon is literally in the heart of the old city, in a pedestrian area, on the square just opposite the Cathedral of Saint Eulalia. The area is safe and clean full of street entairtainers. Our room was on the back side overlooking a back yard. It was clean and well maintained, really spacious with an equally spoasious ensuite bathroom which had a bathtub and a separate shower.The turn down service and the chocolate was a nice touch, albeit we would appreciate tea-coffee making facilities. Our friends had a Cathedral view room which was quite small even by European standards. The front desk personel is OK, albeit to my opinion a bit indifferent. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel because we thought was quite expensive considering that the area around the square is full of nice cafes and eateries. We also visited the near-by Saint Caterina's Market, a lively palce frequented by locals, where we had enjoyed our breakfast (fresh fruit juice, coffee, sandwiches, croissant etc) at a very reasonable price. One evening we had lunch at the hotel Restaurant. To my opinion waste of money. The atmosphere is quite OK but the food was nothing special and the prices high especially for a city like Barcelona which is full of all kind of restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nina_auth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking a few minutes of your time to write about your experience in our hotel and share it with other travelers.
Sorry to hear that our restaurant didn’t live up to you expectations. Although we offer a great experience for a competitive value, we absolutely agree with you that the gastronomic side of Barcelona is one to explore. In addition to all the details of your review, we'd like to add that our hotel is located in a privileged place of Barcelona allowing to our clients to get to the Rambla street, to the Barceloneta beach, the Gothic quarter as well as the metro station which great connections virtually everywhere in the city.
We're looking forward to seeing you again next time you are in town!..
Best regards,
Hotel Colón, Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Second leg of our Europe trip. Arrived here from Paris and was blown away by our room 604 with enormous terrace overlooking the cathedral.

Staff excellent,breakfast very good with espresso machine and fesh squeezed orange juice.

The location couldn't be better and was very impressed with the whole experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gadabout2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking some minutes of your time and write a comment about your experience in our hotel.
Barcelona is indeed a wonderful experience and our room 604 is one perfect element to make the magic happen. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast service, as we always try to provided the best to each one of our guests.
If you find yourself planning a next trip to our city, please don’t hesitate in contacting us in advance, and we’ll make sure to have the 604 arranged for you once more.
Best regards,
Hotel Colón, Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Really enjoyed having beers / coffees at the tables outside this hotel which face the cathedral across the square.

Really nice spot to relax in the sun.

It's also about 50 metres down from a great taps spot (Bilbaos)

A note of caution - some bum tried to snatch my phone from the table whilst we were sat. I was too quick (and big) for him.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is situated as comfortably close to absolutely everything as possible in the wonderful city of Barcelona. It is a old and somewhat shabby family hotel, but with a lot of grace and old-world charm. The rooms are comfy, clean and the beds passable, the breakfast a pleasant surprise with all that the heart desires. Even freshly pressed orange juice. The staff is somewhat uptight - I would not say that the wish to please is sitting in the driver's seat - rather - you have to follow the rules of the house. We were reprimanded in a very brusque way when we put our (stockinged) feet up sitting in the sofa of the day room in the reception, and they laughed in our faces when we asked if we could borrow a small chair from the corridor as we had one too little in the room. We were rather taken aback. I think the staff is so used to the guests beeing charmed by the old place and that they are so in-bred that they sorely need a brush-up on how to treat guests. A typical example of hybris, I am sorry to say. But - don't let that stop you from staying there - you'll live well with the drawbacks. Just notice that the hotel does not have wi-fi. They say they do but they don't.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pille2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 516 in Barcelona
1,402 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#55 of 516 in Barcelona
2,109 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#75 of 516 in Barcelona
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#107 of 516 in Barcelona
2,284 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#47 of 516 in Barcelona
1,916 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 516 in Barcelona
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 8,438 - ₹ 22,196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing