We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colon Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$ 397
US$ 322
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ayre Hotel Rosellon(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$ 307
US$ 276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 246
US$ 220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$ 219
US$ 172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 196
US$ 150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$ 277
US$ 235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barcelo Raval(Barcelona)
US$ 346
US$ 245
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Andante(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$ 253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,137)
Filter reviews
2,137 results
Traveller rating
1,081
785
176
63
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,081
785
176
63
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral viewbarcelona cathedralgothic quarterrooftop spacathedral bellsgreat locationsmall balconiespicasso museumbarri goticla ramblasuperior roomtop floorhop on hop off buswonderful hotelwalked everywherehotel restaurantcomfortable hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,282 - 1,287 of 2,137 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Hotel Colon in Barcelona is right in front of the Cathedral in the Gothic neighborhood, it is a perfect location if visiting the city. A 5 to 10 minutes walk to Plaza Catalunya where you can take the Aerobus (6 euros, about 25 minutes, leaves every 5 to 10 minutes) to/from the airport. The hotel is friendly and well kept, everything in the room worked fine and the size was quite good for european standards. Just one suggestion: bring an electric extension cord as there was only one electric plug near the TV a couple of meters far from the desk. Excellent price quality choice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dublinuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend staying at this Hotel. We had a fantastic break which was topped off by this great hotel. The location was fantastic, the staff very helpful & friendly. Our room was lovely and spacious, ok we didn't have a great view but who spends there break in the room with a fantastic place like Barcelona to explore. The restaurant meal we had was great, food was delicious and well presented with attentive staff. Breakfast was buffet style and covered every taste. I would recommend this hotel to any visitor.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tgreen137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed at Hotel Colon for four nights, visiting friends in Barcelona and found the hotel accommodating, friendly, filled by international co-travellers and a competent staff. Being a lady travelling by myself I felt quite safe. Of course the location is excellent, but also the room, the public spaces, the breakfast area, the bar were cosy and elegant. Breakfast was copious and could be taken until eleven! Staff were friendly and competent - very nice reception staff!- and hygienic standards absolute top. The room was quiet (at the back of the hotel) and nicely decorated. I would definitely choose this hotel again on my next trip and certainly reccommend it to friends!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muizie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

we wanted a good 4 star hotel in a good location in barcelona to celebrate the new year and that is exactly what we found at this hotel.The reception staff were excellent at all times.Other staff were good as well.The public areas are 4 star as are the restaurant and bar.There is also a nice area outside to sit and enjoy a drink or a meal.We booked direct with the hotel and if you book in advance you receive a discount which made it cheaper than all the other hotel sales sites.We booked a standard room overlooking the cathedral and requested a room on the upper floors with unobstructed views of the cathedral and our room was on the 3rd floor with a standing balcony and fantastic view.The room was again 4 star with 5 star view.The hotel is in a great location surrounded by bars,shops,restaurants etc and 5 mins walk to las ramblas.I found nothing to critiscise and this hotel was exactly what we were looking for and if i returned to barcelona i would return without considering other hotels.

Room Tip: you need to be on the 3rd floor or above to get unobstructed views of the cathedral lower floors and you will be looking at trees
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank veraglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here for 8 days last summer, and enjoyed it a lot! The best location ever - in front of the Cathedral, steps away from the Gothic District, and minutes away from the La Rambla. It's a very touristic area but not too noisy.

Ask for the Cathedral view rooms, they will give you a great, beautiful view and a bigger room. The hotel restaurant has seatings inside or outside, so you can enjoy the view and do some people watching :) There are also lots of restaurants around the hotel, all pretty touristic though.

The rooms are not too small, ok size. They are huuuge comparing to Parisian hotels. The furniture is pretty old, and the walls can be dirty in some places, but the hotel still very charming :)

The service was always very good, everyone was extremely helpful, trying to help to get around the city. Generally, people in Barcelona are very friendly and helpful around the city. Many times they'd take extra time to explain me how to get to a certain location or recommend you a good spot. And if you ask for a good restaurant or a lounge is, oh boy! They'll invite you to the restaurants with them, and you'll have the best time ever! :)))

But back to the Colon hotel. The breakfast offers pretty standard options but a LOT of them :) No need to diet when you're in Barcelona :)))

In summer time you can walk down the La Rambla towards the Colon monuments, and get to the bay area. If you take left and walk a little bit, you'll get to the city beach - Barceloneta beaches (or you can take train - yellow line L4 to Barceloneta. Taxi from the hotel to the beach will be about 7 euro). They are very crowded usually, if you keep walking to the left side, you'll get to the better beaches - Icaria and Mar Bella (nudist beach).

It's about the same 5-7 minutes walk from the Colon hotel to the La Rambla (one way) or Placa de Catalunya. Both are very touristic areas, very interesting, with lots of little stores, bars, restaurants, BUT be aware of the street thieves!

The main shopping area is Passeig de Gracia is about 15 minutes walking distance from the Colon hotel. On this street you can see two of the most beautiful Gaudi's creations - La Pedrera and Casa Batlló. To get to the Sagrada Familia you should take a bus. And there is a bus stop of the Hop On/Hop Off tour just next to the Colon Hotel. I would highly recommend ti take the tours, it's very helpful and informative.

There is also a bank with ATM, a pharmacy, and a parking next to the hotel door.

In conclusion, the Colon hotel is one of the best options to stay while you're in Barcelona, I'm going back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LazNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear guest,

Please receive our heartfelt thank for such a kind comment. An especial thank you for taking the time to write very helpful tips that only someone who has fully experienced Barcelona can give! We are sure people will find it very useful.

We are truly lucky to have the Mediterranean weather smiling at us all year long, which makes out city a year-round favorite destination. In addition to all the details of your review, we'd like to add that from our top room you can enjoy the spectacular view of the Old Cathedral while sipping some cava out on the terrace. And if you are in the mood for some exotic culinary experience, just take a 5 minute stroll down to La Rambla where you'll find La Boqueria Market.

We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your 8 days with us, and since we know Barcelona is full of exciting things to do and see, we can´t wait to welcome you back. Please don't hesitate in contacting us in advance so we can make sure to honor any especial request.

Warm regards from de Mediterranean,
Hotel Colón, Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews