We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Choice in Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #80 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice in Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

It seems everyone is in agreement with the location... perfect, especially for someone who has no sense of direction: just find the Cathedral and you're there (the Cathedral is amazing). The Aerobus from the airport was a snap, and it dropped us off at Plaza Catalunya, only a short walk from the hotel. Tough to beat the narrow streets and alleys of the Gothic Quarter. Hotel staff were charming and helpful. We stayed in a room with a balcony that faced the Cathedral...a little bit of magic. I'll definitely stay here again if I find myself in Barcelona.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catana_Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear guest,

We agree 100% with you about our location. Our guests find it really easy to adventure out and discover our city, and to find their way back, all they need to remember is to ask for the Old Cathedral, a must-see landmark in Barcelona.

The top room with the terrace facing the Cathedral gives our guests the chance to sit back and relax, maybe sipping some cava, while enjoying a wonderful view.

We'll be very happy to welcome you back next time you are in town. Please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance so we can arrange that especial room for you once again.

Our best regards
Hotel Colón, Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    706
    162
    55
    29
See reviews for
415
784
145
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, URUGUAY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Hotel Colon in Barcelona is right in front of the Cathedral in the Gothic neighborhood, it is a perfect location if visiting the city. A 5 to 10 minutes walk to Plaza Catalunya where you can take the Aerobus (6 euros, about 25 minutes, leaves every 5 to 10 minutes) to/from the airport. The hotel is friendly and well kept, everything in the room worked fine and the size was quite good for european standards. Just one suggestion: bring an electric extension cord as there was only one electric plug near the TV a couple of meters far from the desk. Excellent price quality choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dublinuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend staying at this Hotel. We had a fantastic break which was topped off by this great hotel. The location was fantastic, the staff very helpful & friendly. Our room was lovely and spacious, ok we didn't have a great view but who spends there break in the room with a fantastic place like Barcelona to explore. The restaurant meal we had was great, food was delicious and well presented with attentive staff. Breakfast was buffet style and covered every taste. I would recommend this hotel to any visitor.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tgreen137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed at Hotel Colon for four nights, visiting friends in Barcelona and found the hotel accommodating, friendly, filled by international co-travellers and a competent staff. Being a lady travelling by myself I felt quite safe. Of course the location is excellent, but also the room, the public spaces, the breakfast area, the bar were cosy and elegant. Breakfast was copious and could be taken until eleven! Staff were friendly and competent - very nice reception staff!- and hygienic standards absolute top. The room was quiet (at the back of the hotel) and nicely decorated. I would definitely choose this hotel again on my next trip and certainly reccommend it to friends!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muizie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

we wanted a good 4 star hotel in a good location in barcelona to celebrate the new year and that is exactly what we found at this hotel.The reception staff were excellent at all times.Other staff were good as well.The public areas are 4 star as are the restaurant and bar.There is also a nice area outside to sit and enjoy a drink or a meal.We booked direct with the hotel and if you book in advance you receive a discount which made it cheaper than all the other hotel sales sites.We booked a standard room overlooking the cathedral and requested a room on the upper floors with unobstructed views of the cathedral and our room was on the 3rd floor with a standing balcony and fantastic view.The room was again 4 star with 5 star view.The hotel is in a great location surrounded by bars,shops,restaurants etc and 5 mins walk to las ramblas.I found nothing to critiscise and this hotel was exactly what we were looking for and if i returned to barcelona i would return without considering other hotels.

Room Tip: you need to be on the 3rd floor or above to get unobstructed views of the cathedral lower floors and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank veraglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,609 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#65 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#47 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,309 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Property: Colon Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,682 - ₹ 20,705
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing