We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Luxury hotel, excellent location, Breakfast was not included and too expensive (not worth the value)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmenoufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,739)
There are newer reviews for El Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 925 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Historic old building and very attentive staff. Have no regrets about selecting this hotel. I would have given it 5 stars except that WiFi is expensive and I made the mistake of ordering 2 cups of expresso, a pot of coffee and a small basket of pastries from room service for a mere 60 euros.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PstarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed two nits, we got a nice Barcelona city street view, room is okay, small though. With this price, I think they should offer a better services. Wifi didn't work well in the room. We always have to come to the lobby for wifi services.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Loved El Palace Hotel. It is a beautiful, old, historic hotel in a central location in Barcelona. It was formerly a Four Seasons property and retains a strong sense of old world elegance. It is in easy walking distance to all the fascinations of Los Rambles and many wonderful nearby restaurants. The hotel is elegant and beautifully decorated with wonderful antiques. The rooms are impeccable, comfortable, clean and quiet, ours with an interesting city view. The beds are wonderful, the bathrooms modern and comfortable and we appreciated the orchids in the bathroom! The staff are welcoming, helpful and professional. We loved Barcelona and highly recommend El Palace Hotel. It provides an elegant perch from which to explore wonderful Barcelona.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cyd k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed at El Palace in Barcelona in June 2011. Overall, the hotel was beautiful in a very opulent, old-world way. We got upgraded to a junior suite, as it was the off season for the hotel, and were really pleased with the comfort of the bed and the spacious bathroom (there were actually two full rooms, one with the shower/bath and the other with the toilet). Their shower amenities were the best I've seen with L'Occitane's Citrus Verbana collection (which I loved so much, I bought full bottles when I got home). Service was attentive and very pleasant, we were always greeted with a smile whenever we entered a common room. We never ate at the hotel so I have no comment there although the Caelis restaurant is supposed to be lovely.

Two things I would note as negatives are as follows:
1) The hotel really is geared towards older travelers and does not have the fun atmosphere of a place like the W hotel on La Barceloneta. While I thought my stay was lovely, I will likely stay elsewhere on my next trip as I prefer a younger and livelier crowd. I would not hesitate to stay here again if I were vacationing with, say, my parents.

2) There are computers available in one of the common rooms but we had internet and sign-in issues two of the three times we attempted to use them. Both times the staff was attentive and worked to eventually solve the problem but it was certainly an annoyance. An upgrade to the computers (which were very old) would really help as everyone now needs internet connection, even while vacationing.

Just to reiterate, this was a lovely, elegant hotel with a lot of old world glamour and great service, but if you are a young couple looking for a fun place, this may not be the right fit for you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
266 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#1 of 513 in Barcelona
1,335 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,117 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#112 of 513 in Barcelona
6,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: ₹ 19,164 - ₹ 45,234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ostrovok, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing