We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, great location, service and luxury and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Claris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Claris
Ranked #63 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great location, service and luxury and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends we were so impressed by the hotel for the price we paid it was 5* and was excellent quality and service as well as a great location - can't recommend enough would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kateh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guests,
I want to express my gratittude for your kind words since it's important for us to know your feedback and we celebrate that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much and best regards,
Jose Luis Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    464
    192
    60
    43
See reviews for
299
853
67
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pleroma
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Don't book with this hotel: the people here are not trying hard at all it seems, just turning up, doing the minimum, and taking your money. The hotel is down at heel: it could do with a make over as paint was chipped and water stains from broken plumbing on the bathroom ceiling. The pool was nice to swim in but the equipment was worn out. We asked the hotel to book us a table at a specific restaurant but they seemingly lied to us saying that the restaurant we chose was full, recommending instead a place that they obviously had a deal with: (we'll send these tired and confused suckers your way for $$$$). Overall it wasn't really bad. It just wasn't worth the large sums of money they expect travellers to hand over.

The lack of WiFi could be seriously irritating if you are needing to do work online, make searches or make reservations. There ARE some free-to-use internet-connected computers available in the lobby but this sort of arrangement belongs to the 1990s. For the money they're charging free high speed WiFi should be available.

Verdict: Rip Off.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pleroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments that are very important for us to receive all of them.
On the other hand, let me inform you that we are just finalizing several modernization projects and new design in the whole hotel and we can assure you that if next time you come to visit us you will find a new Claris.
On the other hand I would like to inform you that the Claris, hotel which I am proud to lead, is an establishment that enjoys international prestige and receives congratulations from hundreds of satisfied customers from our service.
Since it is really important for us to get the feedback from our guests, I would like to thank you for your comments, eventhough, such it is in your case, this feedback may not be as positive as would hope for.
Sincerely yours,
José Luis Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
407 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

A bargain in Barcelona [for this quality of a hotel]. Everything from the water features to the rooftop pool and La Terreza. Highly recommend for short stay in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Don't go for the executive room. While there is a living area and quasi separate sleeping area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Distinguished client,
I want to thank you very much for your positive message that encourages us to keep working hard to make our guest stays the most enjoyable.
Do not hesitate to contact me next time you will come to Barcelona and I'll be delighted to welcome you personnally.
Sincerely,
Jose Luis Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Claris on a business trip to Barcelona and I found it a very charming place: the staff were friendly and professional, and the 2 main things I liked were the completely unexpected Egyptian Museum on the mezzanine floor - you feel as though you´ve had time for a little culture even if you´re on a busy schedule and have no time for sightseeing - and the rooftop pool, with its great rooftop views of this beautiful city!! The one thing that is a slight, and pardonable fault, are the standard room sizes - slightly pokey, but cosy rather than cramped. I´d certainly come back however and spend more time here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuisnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest,
It is fantastic to know that your love for the Egyptian culture has captived you as it did with us.
One of the DerbyHotels priority is to provide the needs of leisure, comfortability and culture of all of our clients.
I want to thank you for your feedback and we will continue working to mantein our exclusive facilities such are, the terrace and museum in order to satisfy guests like you.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel very soon.
Best regards,
Jose Luis Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

There's no way you could improve on the location of the Claris - it's within walking distance of just about anything you could want or need in Barcelona. And, if it's more than a walk away, you just hop on the nearby Metro.

Everything the Claris has to offer was top rate - the room, the front desk, the rooftop bar, and especially the breakfast, which was included. I've stayed in a number of European hotels, and none of them have come close to the Claris. If there's anything I would change it would be the overwhelming sweet vanilla scent they use in the lobby - it hits you in the nose as soon as you walk in and by the time you get to the elevator you're tasting it - yuck! A little of that goes a long way.

We arrived at 9:00 am and were told that checkin is at 3:00 p.m., but they managed to get us into a room by 11:00 a.m. - very much appreciated. I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and though we were facing the intersection, it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j2garcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlfernandez, Director General at Hotel Claris, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comments.
My best regards,
Jose Luis Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#57 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Casa Fuster Hotel
Casa Fuster Hotel
#75 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#11 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claris? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claris

Property: Hotel Claris
Address: Pau Claris, 150, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,280 - ₹ 36,869
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Claris 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in the centre of Barcelona is ideal for a few days of relaxation or work. Boasting comfort and high-quality service, the hotel enjoys the best location for discovering Barcelona and taking advantage of all the tourist and leisure activities the city has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Derby Hotels, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Claris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claris Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing