We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A fantastic friendly place to stay in Barcelona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa Gran B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Casa Gran B&B
Ranked #21 of 324 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A fantastic friendly place to stay in Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

It really is hard to remember all the wonderful things I want to say about La Casa Gran. Montse, the hostess is totally charming. She went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable - recommending places to eat and routes to take, calling taxis for us and generally being our Barcelona guide. The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Montse clearly has a unique sense of style. Breakfasts were quite basic - coffee/tea, fruit, croissants, and toast. The dining area (and contents of the fridge) were available all day which meant we could fix ourselves a sandwich if we were peckish later in the day. All in all a really great experience - especially for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaniwiVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
97
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We found the B&B to be a perfect location to explore the city before our cruise. Having a private bathroom was very nice, good water pressure, and the bed was comfortable. Yes, you are on a busy road (but living in a major US city, we didn't find it distracting.) Montse was a great host! She pointed us to an awesome tapas restaurant and was very helpful with directions. The three dogs are always happy to see you walk in. Breakfast was very nice. Overall it was a very happy visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We had a wonderful time in Barcelona. Montse's home is wonderful, breakfast was delicious, the puppies were sweet and the room was spacious and beautiful! Montse made us feel so welcome and gave us tips on how to see the best parts of Barcelona in our short trip! We would definetly recommend her bed and breakfast and encourage you to stay as long as you can!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Spent four nights at La Casa Gran in mid-May and loved the charm and laid back pace of both the city and the B&B. Montse and her clan of dogs were a real treat to interact with. The host gave us valuable information of near-by spots to shop, eat, drink or just people watch. When we couldn't find a post office on our last day she took our postcards, promised she would send them the next day and refused payment for the international stamps! The location is busy with bus and hop-on-hop-off stops seconds away. There is little need to travel more than a few blocks to find exactly what you are looking for. We loved our stay here and would return in a heart-beat!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shenry86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Casa Gran for four days in May 2012 and we had a fantastic time! Montse was a wonderful host and made us feel so welcome and just like we were at home. The house itself is beautiful and very spacious, with very high ceilings and intriguing contemporary art. The location is perfect – right in the center of everything and easy to get to all tourist attractions either by foot or a simple bus or metro ride away. The breakfast was plentiful, very fresh and delicious – fruit, croissants, yoghurt, many other things, and very good quality coffee, too! Montse even drew us a detailed map of all of her favorite restaurants in the area; we went to many of them and they were all excellent! We look forward to returning to Barcelona again, and if we do, will stay at La Casa Gran without a doubt. (We especially loved Montse's dogs, too, who are very sweet!)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Ca La Maria
Ca La Maria
#12 of 324 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Eixample
Umma Barcelona Bed & Breakfast Boutique
Eixample
BarcelonaBB
BarcelonaBB
#2 of 324 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The Conica Deluxe Bed and Breakfast
Eixample
Violeta Boutique
Violeta Boutique
#6 of 324 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#3 of 324 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Gran B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Gran B&B

Property: La Casa Gran B&B
Address: 439, Diagonal Avenue Principal 1a, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 324 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,028 - ₹ 12,783
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Gran B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Gran is a traditional bed&breakfast in a monumental building called Cases Almirall from 1928, in the heart of l'Eixample district. We are located between two main streets of the city, Diagonal and Muntaner. It is a lively area with lots of restaurants, new bars and traditional bodegas and "vermuterias". Our place is walking distance to the main tourist attractions, you can reach Passeig de Gracia or Las Ramblas walking through l'Eixample streets. You can also get to Gothic quarter, Raval and Gracia district. We want to offer local products and experiences for you to enjoy the city. Your stay includes Catalan breakfast, free WIFI, water, fruits, tea and coffee facilities all day. We have a large common area where you can sit and relax during the day. We share our home with our guests, so we are here to help if needed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Casa Gran B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing